Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Decent location but room was very small and loud, bed was hard and uncomfortable and the restaurant attached to the hotel was terrible with their staff being very rude
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near city center and train station

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Perfect location for seeing Inverness or transition to Highlands travel. Well maintained period hotel. Room heater was poor but front desk delivered excellent portable unit within five minutes of request. Adjacent bar and restaurant are top notch - used by local non-hotel guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Very helpful staff and next door to the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central scotland

City centre

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Convenience comfort good food cleanliness wonderful staff
Cons: Decor perhaps but not too much
Location: Central everything on doorstep
Excellent staff who went that extra mile, and beyond for our comfort. Cannot speak highly enough about them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gorebridge, Scotland

What a bargain! Great value at a great price.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Next door to the train station, central for all shops, bars, restaurants.
Cons: Needs a little TLC here and there, some of the staff could maybe smile a little more.
Location: Next door to the train station, central for all shops, bars, restaurants.
Spent two nights at the Royal Highland after travelling up from Edinburgh by train. The hotel is situated next door to the train station and ideally situated for shops, bars and restaurants if you need them. Due to the off-season timing of the trip we enjoyed a great B&B room rate and were given other vouchers for a free dinner, drinks reductions and a free high tea as well. The room was a little small and the bed a bit on the hard side for us, but clean and warm and the buffet breakfast was adequate. The staff were mainly foreign workers, but we had no complaints re the service. I stupidly managed to leave my house/car keys in the bedside drawer when we checked out, I called the hotel from the train heading south and the keys were delivered to my door the very next day! If you fancy a couple of nights in Inverness, don't hesitate to book at the Royal Highland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, charming and quite affordable!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Great location, very central, short stroll to shops, sights and groceries. The rooms are very spacious and the whole place exudes a charming scotch feeling. Very affordable compared to other hotels in Inverness and indeed elsewhere. Would absolutely recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Super location

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Every thing about our stay was great especially the central location as my wife cannot walk far it was ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Best budget hotel! 5 star coz it's well worth cost

Posted Jan 5, 2016
For the price i paid it was more than worth the money !!! Only fault is the lack of parking ! They only have 6 hotel spaces !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The overall experience was ok. The only thing that went wrong was that at the reception, the staff gave us a single room intead of a double room. However, even though we came back asking to change the room , they gave us a room with a bigger bed but not a double one, on the bed there was just one pillow and in the bathroom just one towel. So the room was set up just for one person and not for two. Anyway..our stay was just for one night and we decided to cope with those little mistakes without asking for another room change. Despite this, in general the staying was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by edith from johnstone

weekend break

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
we both enjoyed our stay the room was comfortable and clean although in need of a freshen up paint wise.it was central for everything we wanted to do and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning in the Wallace Suite we also enjoyed a delicious steak meal deal on Sunday at ash the hotel resturant which was excellent