Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, close to the railway station and tow

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very enjoyable, close to all amenities. Managed nice walks by the river.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great location and breakfast, poor WI-Fi

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location and good breakfast
Cons: Should urgently fix the Wi-Fi connection
Location: The hotel is near train and bust stations, near the old city, with plenty of walkable sights nearby and plenty of restaurants.
The hotel is located near the train and bus stations, which is very convenient for arrival/departure, I was worried that it will be noisy, but in fact the room I was given was relatively quite. The breakfast was very good with variety of foods to choose from. The location of the hotel is superb, in the city center, walkable distance from all the sights, from the river Ness, and about 15 min from the Caledonian canal. The only thing that I found unacceptable is the very slow Wi-Fi. Upon my arrival I was told at the reception that the internet is slow, but that they are working on it. Well, during the three days that I stayed it only got worse. Since I'm a tourist and I depend on internet connection both to for booking my my future travels and to contact home, this malfunction caused a real inconvenience to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

excellent location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: the location was excellent, next door to the train station within easy reach of all the attractions
Cons: showers in the hotel were great one morning poor the next, could be improved
very pleasant stay, was in Inverness for a family wedding and location of the hotel was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Dog friendly and location
Cons: Staff friendliness at breakfast
Location: Great for touring the area
A good dog friendly hotel in the centre of Inverness very near to the rail station and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Convenient, central hotel next to the station

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: All the free offers, comfortable bed, friendly staff.
Cons: The shower stall was a bit small and had a rain shower head - awkward for hair washing. Also needed a shelf to put stuff.
Location: Central, close to railway and bus stations as well as a large shopping mall. No time to explore further.
Stayed for two nights. We were given vouchers for afternoon tea, two course dinner for two, a free bottle of wine, money off our drinks, and on the second night 20% off our restaurant bill! Breakfast starts at 7 am, but as we had an early train to catch we were served a continental breakfast at 6.30 am. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel public areas areas still have an old world grandeur. Overall a very pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great highland hospitality

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Great location in the center of town
Super impressive lobby & welcoming staff. Right from the time you walk in the door you are made to feel welcome. The hotel is quite old but the facilities are more modern than you'd expect. Breakfast was lovely, even got to try some haggis. Overall very happy with the whole deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excelent value right next to Inverness Station.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Everything but especially the fantastic buffet breakfast and the generous vouchers..
Cons: Nothing
Location: Handy to shops, next door to station, short walk to River Ness.
The best hotel we stayed in. Excellent in every respect for the price. Obliging staff. Generous vouchers. Perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Inverness

Posted Jan 7, 2017
We enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is most convenient if you take the train - it's right by the train station. We drove, and there was limited parking, but the staff helped us find a spot. Breakfast was great, room was comfortable. Recommend if visiting Inverness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good location and value

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Great location, within easy walking distance to all attractions and busy places in Inverness. Extremely limited parking (only 9 spaces for the hotel) however a big private parking that is 5 minutes walk from hotel. Lobby looks nice. We were given one of the just two ground floor rooms (130). The room was right next to a Private - Staff area so from 7am it all went very noisy with staff shouting and the big heavy door banging constantly, waking us up. The corridor outside of the room smelt really bad, making it clear that the hotel needs some refreshing. The room was spacious and clean. Massive super king size bed, simply great. Nice stock of complimentary water bottles, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits. Very generous. Bathroom was of very good standards, only remark a spider that kept me company as I was shaving. Staff was friendly. Would love to visit again provided I was not given a ground floor room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

terrible stay - do not stay here

Posted Dec 8, 2016
This hotel was terrible. It was bad right from the beginning for us. The hotel advertises that it has free parking but there were about 8 spots for 84 rooms. Then when we checked into our room it wasn't very clean. The toilet obviously hadn't been cleaned since the last guests. We went down to the restaurant for dinner and the food was very bad (both of our meals!). We were hopeful that the buffet breakfast would be good but surprise - it wasn't! The breakfast was chaos. The coffee lineup was huge so we didn't bother. I tried some hash browns but they weren't even fully Cooked! We ended up having to go somewhere else for breakfast. Overall this was a bad stay and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone although there was a large amount of 60+ who seemed to be enjoying themselves.