Ratings based on 1,424 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Weekend couple retreat to relax and golf. Quiet place, good food and beautiful environment. Golf was great esp. the South course with all the Boulders.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Family Thanksgiving

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Horrible staff, dirty pool bathrooms with tile falling off the walls, overpriced mediocre food...we even got to enjoy our last evening there with the guitar player/singer and her friends that came to the hotel to watch her hanging out and talking about their personal lives in front of our children-unprofessional in every way. But the best part was paying $60 per head for dinner to have the plates dropped off by a different waiter each time with no service at all-it was like you were in a cafeteria. Never again. The golf grill was the only good place to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Unfortunately, we were VERY disappointed.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The property was very pretty.
Cons: The rooms need serious updating. At the $500 a night price point, the room was comparable to a $100 to $150 a night hotel.
Location: It was somewhat remote. Better for retired travelers.
We were shocked that the room was so dated at this 5 star price point. There were no technological upgrades in the room, except for a usb outlet that replaced a standard outlet. The resort is geared heavily to retired people, so if you are traveling with children, stay at one of the JW Marriott or Four Seasons hotels. The day we arrived, we wanted to upgrade to a villa, which was $300 more per night, but on Expedia it was only $417 per night for the Villa (Normally $799) and our room was $175 per night. We paid $479 plus resort fees etc which was over $500 total. So short of canceling our trip and rebooking, we decided to cancel our room after one night and go to the JW Marriott at Desert Ridge. I was really upset that we were paying $500 for a room worth no more than $175 per night. We had our two sons with us. We walked down to the spa in the morning to get coffee (about 0.7 miles) only to find out the boys were not allowed in the spa or workout room and that there was coffee, but no other pastry options. The JW has a Starbucks in the lobby. The employees told us that unfortunately the resort is not kid friendly and we decided then to leave. The front desk person allowed us to cancel and understood our scenario, but I can tell that the hotel better do something quick if they can't fill up at $175 a night. I think we should have been told that the resort caters to older clientele. Management needs to price their rooms accordingly and not punish consumers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Overall wonderful experience.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The staff was outstanding from the moment we arrived. A true luxury resort experience. The only thing that could have been better would be more sound insulation between the rooms. We are early risers and our neighbors were night owls. Not a great combination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quiet, upscale, remote resort venue

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Staff and service Serenity Comfy Bed Good shower
Cons: AC in rooms Resort Fee is an anachronism these days.
This is an older property but it has had modernization updates (TV's, wifi etc). While it is clearly older compared to more recently built venue's this is not a concern and the place had Arizonan Character! Bed & room comfy! The staff are excellent and attentive and strive to serve! The restaurants serve nicely prepared higher quality food at typical 4* and up hotel restaurant prices. The Gym is well equipped and maintained with free group workouts/yoga. If you like golf and pay the (doubtless high) tee/club fees the place is awesome. If you like anything other than golf there is less to do here - sit by the pool, eat, workout in the gym, run around the upscale homes. If golf not your thing count on leaving the resort and driving some distance as the place is remote. Other than the noise from occasional party/events, the place is fairly serene. The loud screeching of tires of electric buggies the staff drive around in (and will drive you around in) was a mystery. Could not figure out why this was necessary or occurred so often. The only downside of our trip was the lackluster performance of in room AC. In fairness it was working and it was just pretty darn hot out and it was doing the best it could. But it was too noisy to leave on at night and too ineffective generally. The daily resort fee of $30 per room for Wi-Fi, gym use and transport by buggy from place to sprawling place seemed to me to be a bit of a gouge. These days Wi-Fi and Gym should be free in any hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Our stay was amazing the resort is beautiful. Staff are extremely helpful and prompt. Would definitely come back again and refer this resort to frkends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

4 day weekend

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I really like this hotel a lot and have stayed here a few times. However the room we were in casita 350 smelled musty and needed some repairs. Also the 2 pool attendants at the main pool provided terrible service this last trip. I never give bad reviews but felt like it was necessary this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Nice to be away of city , you feel salient

Posted Oct 3, 2017
I stay 6 nights vary quit , but it need some facilities like small kitchen and barbecue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful location!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Short, would have like to have more time to explore the surroundings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Disappointing...

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: nothing anymore - I used to love it
In the past 18 months we stayed at the boulders 3 times. After this last stay, we will never be back. There was a group of us and we were hoping to make a tradition. Firstly, the staff was not as friendly as in recent trips. In addition, the room was not clean. The rug in the bathroom was fillthy, room dusty and there was a sewer smell in our room and throughout the resort. I did report the sewer smell and was told it was a "known" problem. Some of our group stayed in a villa. During their stay the plastic fell out of the skylight from the ceiling. The individual was cut. I think the main problem I had with the resort was the cavalier attitude they took when this was reported. It is expensive to stay at this resort. There is a level of expectation as to how one should be treated and the accomodations to be available. I would not recommend.