Ratings based on 1,229 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surprise AZ

Great staycation resort.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool service around the pool for Sunday visitors would be nice.
Location: Short ride into Cave Creek for shopping and dining.
The wife and I go to this fabulous resort at least twice a year. The New Years Eve function is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beauty!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
This is my 6th return to this hotel. Lovely staff and surroundings! I hope to bring my parents soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Older property a good distance away from Phoenix

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Was clean
Location: Property is in Carefree, out from Phoenix and Scottsdale, although not terribly far. There are some restaurants and bars nearby in Carefree.
Property is older but clean and for the most part has been kept up. Experienced complications with lock on my door. The engineer did change of the battery and clean out the slot but I continued to have some problems with it. Fitness room is actually across the street from the property. Of the 3 treadmills (they did have other equipment as well) one wouldn't turn on, another was unsteady and yet another you could only go on for 13 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Charles, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your feedback along and we will work to resolve the issues you experienced as soon as possible. Thank you for choosing the Carefree Resort and have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Love the hotel and I hope the new owner doesn't change it too much
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Come visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surprise AZ

It was true! Palm Springs of AZ.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Lariat both breakfast and lunch delicious. Pool great. Monday night of the fireworks people congregated in the pool area until 1:00 am noisy! Told the front desk they should of had a BBQ for. the 4Th! They had all the equipment to do SO. The gym was across the street somewhere?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Sis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We do have a fitness center across the street from the main lobby area in front of the tennis courts. Feel free to ask any of our agents where, and we'd be happy to have someone walk you over your next visit. Have a great day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Dated and overpriced hotel. Beds are very hard. Needs to renovated for the price they charge per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I'm sorry you were not completely content with your stay. Your notes have been passed on to the appropriate management. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday get away

Posted May 26, 2017
Everyone was very attentive, the staff was amazing and I will definitely be back. Food was excellent as well!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I'm glad you got to eat at the restaurant. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for the wonderful pictures!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Restful and Energizing

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: On our drive there we had lunch at Bryan's Black Mountain Barbecue on Cave Creek Road which is less than 2 miles from hotel. Food was fantastic.
My husband and I were there for a conference, over just one night. The setting is lovely, both inside and out. It's an older property but I so appreciate while keeping it current, they have kept it charming. We had just a standard king standard room but it was very large with a lovely patio. As we sat there we were struck by the silence and beauty of the outdoors. We enjoyed watching a wedding reception celebrate in the Opera House. And although it was a stones throw from our room, the festivities did not interfere with our enjoyment. The bathroom was big enough, although nothing special - it was clean. We highly recommend this resort. Seems like a real value for the money. I read the Spa menu - they offered about everything one could want. However, I did not have a chance to see the Spa. It is one of those places where you feel comfortable and welcome. The food was good as well as the service. We were thrilled to be served breakfast and lunch on the patio overlooking the lovely pool. And they satisfied all our needs for the conference.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and I loved reading about your experience at our resort. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I had a lot of billing problems. They charged my credit card for over $600 of charges I didn't make.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant , Hotel Management
Hello, I would like to help you resolve your issue. Please give me a call at the resort and I'd be happy to assist you. Thank you for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unauthorized charges put on our credit card

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing!!!
Cons: Stop stealing .... unauthorized charges are fraud!
Unauthorized credit card charges to our credit card. Took three calls to get an answer, no one from Carefree Resort would call back. Then I was told t was up to me to call the bank and get the funds back .... WHAT??? These people are thieves!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I'm glad we were able to help you resolve your issue. Thank you for your review.