Ratings based on 1,279 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Resort Hotel in Carefree

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The hotel is quite old, but going through a renovation. Work is still being done in several areas. The room was newly renovated and quite nice. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Shuttle service to near by restaurants and shopping was great. If looking for less expensive room close to Carefree and Cave Creek, this is worth considering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Maureen Holden, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you for taking time to rate your recent visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed the new rooms. Your feedback is appreciated and we will be sure to pass along your kind words about our staff. Everyone here is very exciting about the renovations and we hope that you will join us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria. AZ

Under renovation

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Check in was a mess! Staff not trained and computers not working I’m hoping it was just because of the renovation I lhave loved staying there in the past. The bell boys were awesome and the shuttle into town was perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We did have a couple of issues with our operating system last weekend, and apologize for the inconvenience it caused. We got everything back up and running as quick as possible, and tried to not let it disrupt our guest's experience as much as possible. I again apologize for the inconvenience it did cause. Please come back and see us again when our renovation is complete in February! Thank you again for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Totally sucked

Posted Oct 30, 2017
A real mess. Renovating hotel..Front desk staff rude and uninformed..Charged us for room when we went through expedia..Whirlpool was filthy, Lamp lights burnt out in the room.. Staff for shuttle was great.. otherwise this place was bad..Just sold 2 months ago and. NO one knew what the heck was going on ! Bought 2 coffees and cost me 6 dollars. To expensive ! Terrible experience. Beware! Stay away !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that your stay was not to your standards. We discuss as much of the construction schedule as we know with our front desk team, but the schedule is always changing. We do have a schedule posted online, as well as up at the front desk. I apologize about the issues you had during your stay, and hope you will come and visit us in February once our renovation is complete. Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissatisfied

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Hotel was under construction. I thought what I payed for my room was a little high for that reason. Then the staff refused my late checkout. Was underwhelmed and don't think I'll return. The room itself was nice though, although we could have been given a better view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. Late check-outs are given upon availability, so we must have been over our limit when you called. We are renovating all of our rooms, as well as some public spaces, and some of our exterior spaces. Come see us again when we are completed at the end of February.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and convenient

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Very convenient to stores and attractions. Was very quiet. Room was big and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback, and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We encourage you to come see us again in the future. Thank you for choosing the Carefree Resort!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Weekend Staycation

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Unfortunately for us, this was the wrong place to stay. Room next door had kids up at 6:30 AM on Saturday and sounded like they were in the same room, there is no insulation to reduce the sound from the hallway and you could hear all the doors slam all the way down the hall. Parents were rude and apparently didn't know how to discipline their children, running and screaming up and down the hall. To add to this disruption, construction equipment started at 7AM digging holes and renovating. Guess we were not sleeping in. We left by 8:30. Extremely disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jim, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. We are currently doing construction on some of our guest rooms and public spaces. While our goal is to minimally disrupt the guest experience, I am sorry to hear that it was disruptive to yours. Most of the property will be finished by February of 2018, and we encourage you to come back to see the finished product. Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Carefree Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
the front dest was very rude! When we asked for extra towels they gave us an attitude. We asked for extra pillows and they had a hard time with that too! The lobby smelled liked feces!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our front desk service. I will make sure to address this issue right away as this should never happen. Again - I apologize about your experience, and will make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The rooms are very spacious with a private balcony. There are plenty of outdoor public spaces to gather with family and friends. We liked the couches, fire pit and picnic tables to play cards and dine together. The pool area is great with lots of chairs and shady areas. The fitness room is perfect for a quick workout. Clean and empty. The restaurant was expensive for dinner so we didn't eat there. There is no coffee bar or cafe so we took a short ride into town and found a great little coffee shop (Carefree Coffee).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to use our pools and fitness center. Come see us again soon.
5 out of 5
by Cindy

Carefree

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed here and at the villas many times, its my favorite place in the world! Depending on what you are looking for, if you want to be in the middle of hustle & Bustle this is not the place for you... It is gorgeous views of Black mtn and Sonoran Desert. Carefree is nestled in an area off the beaten path, in Northern Phx/ Scottsdale there are walking trails, plenty of restaurants, banks, shopping & convenience stores. Very peaceful getaway just 10 minutes from everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Gloria, Hotel Management
Hello Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found the charm we love about our resort. Come see us again soon! Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Suzanne

Old west rocks!

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the western style through and through. The desert is gorgeous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Gloria, Hotel Management
Hello Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of the resort, and hope to see you back here soon! Thank you for choosing the Carefree Resort. Gloria, Front Office Assistant Manager