Ratings based on 1,519 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tempe, AZ

Staycation Destination

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Pros: I really enjoy the retro-mod stylings.
Cons: Ice machines on every floor.
Location: Old town Scottsdale is walking distance from the hotel. Plenty of places to eat, drink, and be merry.
We booked our stay at the Valley Ho for a Valentines' / Anniversary staycation. The staff was very nice. We had dinner in the lounge on the first night. Dinner was delicious and their drinks we satisfactory. The staff kept in contact both days through text message to ensure we had everything we needed. Our valet experience was definitely worth it, as parking is very limited around the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2018 by Brent Graef - Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Deryc, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear you had a great anniversary and look forward to your next stay. We appreciate the feedback about the ice machines and will review that as an enhancement to the property. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from british columbia

Close to shopping and resturants

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: The gym has a lot of equipment. Well kept and clean
Cons: The spray scent in lobby can be overpowering and could cause problems with people who have allergies or asthma
Location: Old town scottsdale
It was good. The workers are all very friendly. Some can't speak English. But their smiles are universal
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2018 by Brent Graef - Director of Operations, Hotel Management
JoJo, Thank you very much for your words of praise and feedback about the property. We will share this with the team and look forward to having you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern end of Phoenix valley

Nice hotel in old town Scottsdale

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Location and quality of furnishings and staff
Location: Very close to all of the pricey art galleries and tourist grabbing souvenir spots and very close to the Old Town Tortilla factory--a first rate restau
This is a nice, remodeled, hotel in Old Town Scottsdale. Like all things in the area it seems to be overpriced. When we were there it coincided with a large wedding party around the pools and it was very noisy. Even though it is a non-smoking place, the occupant of the room next to ours was smoking out on his little patio and the drifting smoke made it difficult to sit smoke free on our patio. Staff was pleasant and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az & New Milford, Ct.

Valentines Day 2018

Posted Feb 17, 2018
A great get-away for a show at the Grimmage and dinner in OldTowne. Leave your car at the Hotel and walk to any of dozens of great restaurants. Or, Enjoy the trolley to take you into Towne. Let Uber do the heavy lifting into Phoenix, or the Casinos, or the venues at ASU.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Brent Graef - Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you Todd! We could not agree more and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, MN

Nice hotel. Very conveniently located.

Posted Feb 17, 2018
We had a very good experience with Hotel Valley Ho. The only thing I can complain about are the beds and bedding. We had 2 double beds in our room. Queen beds would have been better. Bedding and pillows were so-so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Brent Graef - Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Hello Jane, We are happy to hear you had a good experience but apologize about the bedding concerns. Please feel free to contact me direct on your next visit and I would be more than happy to make sure we get you in an accommodation better suited for your bedding needs. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Hip hotel nicely updated with a retro vibe. Walkable location close to downtown Scottsdale and bars and restaurants. Amenities are decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Lue, Hotel Management
Doug, Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Valley Ho! Also thank you for the great feedback. We are in great location. We look forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Overall great , good bar and pool. Nice staff. Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Luella, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Glad to see that overall you had a great experience. We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Hotel Valley Ho.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great experience!

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Water temp in hot tub. Shower water pressure
Location: Arcadia Farms Cafe is 2 blocks away and offers the best mushroom, leak and carmelized onion tart ever made.
Loved the cleanliness, staff friendliness, and unit design. Saturday brunch was AMAZING! The gym equipment was new and accommodating, Couple of items they need to work on: shower water pressure, hot tub temperature was not hot enough and $18 resort parking was a bummer. Great place though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted that you had a great experience while with us. We will be sharing your comments with the appropriate departments so we can improve our services to our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Fun Retro Hotel with Today’s comforts

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Retro design, room size, patio, good beds
Cons: Pillows were to bulky. Offfer option of softer malleable pillows and the firm ones they already offer.
Location: I like to eat at Cafe Forte and Monarch Cafe as well as Malee’s. Shopping is a 15 min walk OR tram rid away. Same for movies.
I love the Hotel Valley Ho. It has such a cool retro design and the history to match. The rooms are large and comfortable and just so cute. Each room I have stayed in has a patio that can be private with a curtain or it can be open to the nice outdoor area. I have stayed here several times and it is always fun. The bar is great too and Zu Zu’s is a fun place to eat. My one complaint was that this time Zu Zu’s was sold out to a group. Since I stayed for my anniversary, I would have liked to know this in advance. However, there are plenty of other fine restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Christy, Hotel Management
Nancy, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our central location while you were with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to write about where you felt the experience could be improved and we will be discussing your feedback with our team. Thank you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to the chance to provide you with more wonderful experiences and memories in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, oregon

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Excellent hotel. Staff was amazing. Esau check in. Super cute room. Location near tons of shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Christy, Hotel Management
Kelly, thank you for sharing. We hope to welcome you back again soon!