Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun Hotel, great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This was for a girls trip and we really enjoyed the hotel. Our stay was in October so I know some of the pool things change up this time of year but there was a DJ on Saturday which was a lot of fun. We showed up late so finding a seat in the sun was difficult but had a great time. Our room was clean and modern, wish that there was a little better lighting in the bathroom for makeup etc. We had spa treatments which were nice but slightly overpriced. Be sure to pack your own sunscreen, it was $20 in the gift shop! Breakfast was fun on the patio with mimosa's but we explored the area for our other meals. Great stay overall and would recommend for a fun weekend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
I'm glad you had a good experience staying at the hotel; that is what we strive for! Thank you for pointing out any areas that you think could be improved, we will share this feedback with our team. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from goodyear az

Had a good time

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Had a good time , rooms were clean and big , nice patio area , good tv Chanel’s , pool area always fun and nice ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome room for price

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Size style.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location to old town-- golf carts to travel. Wonderful
Large room. Good bed pillows. Nice barhroom decor great and very clean. Staff helpful also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel, vibe is not as fun as advertised

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Clean enough, good location
The hotel was fine - rooms were relatively clean (minus a few ants in our bathroom) and it was in a good location - but it was not as fun as other reviews stated. Went with 6 girls and we were expecting a fun pool party and a bustling hotel filled with folks looking for a fun time in Scottsdale. On our first night we received a noise complaint for talking too loud in our room and were told there was a 1 warning policy, next time we were kicked out of the hotel. We booked a cabana for the "pool party" on Saturday and ended up cancelling it. The pool is really sleepy, the cabanas were cheap little pads, definitely not worth the $$. The bar in the lobby closes at midnight. Maybe since we went later in the season (Oct) the place wasn't very fun? The amenities were fine, just not the party hotel we were expecting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our central location in Scottsdale. We do appreciate you taking the time to write about where you felt the experience could be improved and we will be discussing your feedback with our team. Thank you taking the time to share your experiences and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel close to DT

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Friendly staff, clean/nice rooms, great pool & bar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vibe

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Everything. My room even had a patio with a lounge chair for two and view of a courtyard with a fountain.
Location: If you are on a business - schedule your meeting for later in the morning and sneak in an early morning hike at Camelback Mountain.
I love the ambiance of this hotel. From the lobby to the outdoor restaurant seating to the rooms - it is all perfect! And there is always a staff person available to assist with whatever you need. I look forward to my stay every time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you had such a great visit. It is great to hear that our dedication to service really shined through and helped ensure that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

Groovy 1960's Vibe

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Love this hotel and have shared it all over social media. Great location in old town Scottsdale and it is designed in a fun, yet classy, 60's/70's decor and vibe. The staff was top-notch and truly interested in me as a person. The rooms are fun, yet fabulous, with great amenities. I wsh I could've spent more than one day there. Next time! The only suggestion I have is to have a better and larger food selection at the bar. Doesn't have to be overly creative, just more options. Such a great stay!! High recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you dig our mid-century vibe. Thank you for the review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice but over-rated

Posted Oct 2, 2017
I booked a suite and a double room in the tower. Called a month in advance to request possible adjoining rooms or to have them close together on same floor and was told by hotel to call back closer to checkin date. Two days before arrival i called the hotel and made the same request. Hotel says they will make note of request and try to accommodate. Upon checkin we were not given adjoining rooms but two rooms on different floors. On the second day i noticed the adjoining room to my suite became vacant. There was no followup from hotel staff or any effort to accommodate. I spent almost $3000 on hotel rooms and i just feel like the hotel did care at all. Very dissapointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Dear Mandy, I want to first say thank you for sharing your less than acceptable experience, and apologize for what was obviously a disappointment to you. The service inadequacies you mentioned are not the norm for us here at Hotel Valley Ho. We would like to research this further so we can improve our services to our guests. If you would, please reach out to us directly so we can get more details on this incident. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Very retro, at night it really lights up and with the great Phoenix weather makes for a beautiful stay at night. Love it! Would certainly stay here again!dffff Very retro, at night it really lights up and with the great Phoenix weather makes for a beautiful stay at night. Love it! Would certainly stay here again!dffff Very retro, at night it really lights up and with the great Phoenix weather makes for a beautiful stay at night. Love it! Would certainly stay here again!dffff Very retro, at night it really lights up and with the great Phoenix weather makes for a beautiful stay at night. Love it! Would certainly stay here again!dffff Very retro, at night it really lights up and with the great Phoenix weather makes for a beautiful stay at night. Love it! Would certainly stay here again!dffff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our patio seating we have. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Az.

Cool Retro Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Everything was really cool, felt like we stepped back to the 50's and 60's, which we loved. Most of the staff was really nice. Only problem I had was that they brag about the fact that there is "no resort fee". Problem is that they don't tell you that they charge you $18 to park your car, valet or self. When comparing prices and the others have resort fees but free parking, it's just wrong to say you don't have a resort fee then charge for parking when there is nowhere else to park in the area. Otherwise, great hotel with a really cool atmosphere. Should play oldies by the pool too, not just inside the hotel bar and restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Hotel Valley Ho. With rising business costs and increasing demands on our downtown location, it was necessary for us to adjust our parking fees. Limited self-parking is available complimentary on the streets next to the hotel. Unlike many area hotels, Hotel Valley Ho does not have a resort fee and we are pleased to offer complimentary amenities to our overnight guests including basic internet, lobby newspapers, and access to the fitness center and spa lounges. Additionally, I want to thank you for the feedback regarding the pool music. I have forwarded your comments on to the appropriate departments so it can be reviewed. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it.