Ratings based on 2,674 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Awesome pool and birds

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Pool, birds, tidy grounds, nice staff
Cons: bed were too soft
Location: Desert Botanical Garden
Great hotel. nice staff, well priced including breakfast. The pool was awesome and there is an aviary with parakeets in the garden. Just charming!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

I've stayed here several times

Posted Nov 1, 2017
It's always consistent in its service . I've stayed here several times over a number of years.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Scottsdale visit

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable and the staff was very nice.
Cons: Bathroom space where toilet & tub are - way to cramped for any person(s) of size, and I do not mean overweight.
Location: I passed by the hotel twice because it was tucked away with only a small sign that was visiable.
Although the hotel staff was excellent, and the room was nice & clean as well as the bed being comfortable, there was something that brought my score down . . . the bathroom where the shower is was very cramped where the toilet was literally a legs width (not length) away from the tub, and the door had to be closed if you wanted to sit on the toilet - very tight area. The sink areas had plenty of room and that was where the mini-fridge was located. Would I stay there again, probably not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Enjoyed. Clean ,refurbinished recently. Staff friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Oasis

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, lawn and courtyard, birds, authentic retro style
Cons: The breakfast was blah.
Location: Location is great...handy to airport. old town Scottsdale, restaurants and museum.
A comfortable oasis in Phoenix.....a well kept retro style hotel...nice pool, lovely lawn and courtyard and the birds are fantastic. It is handy to everything. The renovations in progress will make this place perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Hotel is dated and not well maintained

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Room was dated, with crumbs of food left around the sink area. Wifi did not work. Contacted the front desk, but issue was not resolved. Overall was disappointed in the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Front end staff
Good location, clean room. Great front end staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Pleasantly Surprising Little Gem

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Secure, quiet, small, and moderately priced with easy access to major roads in Tempe, Scottsdale area of greater Phoenix metroplex.
Cons: Bathroom fixtures could/should be renovated, although current state was sufficient for our needs.
Location: Old Scottsdale downtown is just north on Scottsdale Road; Red Mountain Highway & ASU Tempe Campus are quick 3-4 miles S. Can't speak to other venues.
Not knowing the area or other closer hotels, I found this small, somewhat secluded hotel was a surprisingly nice stay. Run by a family, it was secure and quiet, with comfortable rooms. Bathroom fixtures are dated, although some rooms are being renovated. Pool area is small but inviting, and continental breakfast bar in restaurant (the only meal served there) is simple but satisfying. Employees gave friendly and speedy service to address concerns (initially had a non-working TV remote that was swapped out) and kept the room clean. A/C worked great. Also, we enjoyed quick access to ASU campus 4 miles down Scottsdale Road/Rural. Very tempted to return here for quiet, restful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa , Ontario, Canada

We Keep Coming Back For A Reason

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The courtyard design. The proximity to the airport. The quiet.
Cons: It's good to see that the hotel rooms are undergoing renovation. It's time for some "gussying up".
Location: Have some delicious craft beer and watch sports in the cozy Papago bar or visit the large brew pub on the other side of the Papago Mall.
As frequent visitors to the Southwest, we always make it a point to end our trip at the Papago Inn. The Inn is designed around an interior courtyard complete with pool and a cage full of chirping budgies, which creates a cozy and charming atmosphere. The rooms are spacious. And it's a pleasure to visit the Inn's sports bar for craft beer and appetizers in the evening. We also enjoy being able to eat our breakfast outside in the courtyard. And the Inn's waffle maker turns out perfect waffles every time! The Inn's location makes it easy to get to the airport. And the room rates are easy on the wallet. We look forward to staying at the Papago again in the near future. It's a gem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit outdated

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Was not what I expected from the other reviews. Place was outdated.