Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Quick 4 day weekend get away.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The way it was. And the way it can be again. I hope this review helps.
Cons: Stop the horrible disrespectful remodel and get an expert on board to save the hotels soul.
We are returning customers to the Royal Palms. Fell in love with the place about 5 years ago. It was then an awesome Small Luxury Hotel property. Very special old estate. About a year ago, it was acquired by Hyatt. They seem to have undertaken a plan to denude the property of any semblance of its former glory and render it a plain jane Hyatt hotel. Very sad. Lovely peaceful walls painted a too bright white. Subtle lighting replaced with way too bright LED bulbs that are not dimmable. It feels as though the whole character of this amazing property is being systematically stripped away. I have written separately to the manager and hope that they stop this downhill slide and get a historically sensitive designer in to help them freshen up the property the right way. Or it will be a three star place before they know it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prescott Valley, AZ

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed a tour explaining the history of the property. The rooms were quiet, spacious and the bed offered a wonderful nights sleep. No lumpy mattress or hard pillows. The poolside cafe as well as restaurant had delicious food. The staff was accomdating to all our needs. Even though you were in Phoenix it felt like a secluded get away. We will be repeat visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livingston, NJ

Beautiful backdrop of Sonoran hills

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The Royal Palms resort was lovely and very close to both Scottsdale attractions and Phoenix. The staff was very attentive. The hotel hallways seemed just renovated too. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Did a Staycation here for my fiancée birthday and we had an excellent experience. Despite some renovations going on at the hotel, our room was freshly updated and comfortable. The staff was great and dinner at T. Cooks was incredible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expecting More

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Royal Palms was a huge disappointment. Not sure it was the timing or what. Our room was in the very back by staff parking, thus hard to find. Got back after dark and there was no lighting to see where to go. Room was okay, a little tired, lamp was broken in the closet, moths were in the bathroom and TV cable was done. Staff was nice but lacked professionalism. At times we felt that we were in the way. It is off season and they seemed very preoccupied in getting things ready for next season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona, AZ

An oasis in the city.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Nine acres of gardens, fountains and places to relax. It's historic and comfortable. Loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Arizona

Relaxing & Memorable Resort & Spa Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and excellent service. Beautiful grounds, pool and spa facilities. Seating areas located throughout the property. Pool facilities.
Cons: Unfortunately the Resort buildings need renovation. It has been 22 years since its last renovation. Building exteriors and grounds need maintenance.
Location: On-site Restaurant and Bar. On-site Spa and fitness facilities. Close to local area restaurants, museums and shops by vehicle. Golfing available.
This Resort & Spa has lots of history (circa 1928). The setting is old Hacienda Style resort with a nice comfortable and intimate feeling. The gardens and water features located around the Resort provide lovely settings for relaxation. The staff and service is excellent. You are made to feel very special by all of the staff. The service by the pool could not be better! The pool and grounds provide a relaxed and intimate atmosphere. T.Cook's Restaurant serves excellent food. The Bar has a lovely cozy atmosphere. The Spa provides excellent services including a steam room! Also, there is an on-site fitness center. The perfect place for a comfortable, relaxing and memorable Staycation! We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Nice room, enjoyable stay

Posted May 18, 2017
Check in made us wait for the room but grounds were beautiful and waiting by the fountain with their newspaper was nice. Room great, big tub and shower, comfy beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mi

Posted May 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The landscape was beautiful and the spa was very nice. I especially enjoyed the eucalyptus steam room.
Location: There is shopping in either direction. I like the Scottsdale Fashion Square.
I enjoyed my stay. The bed was comfortable and the Casita was spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Wonderful hotel. Beautiful grounds. Would definitely stay here again.