Ratings based on 2,081 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Nice staff, but hotel is old and facilities are mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Clean and friendly. Beautiful resort. Be prepared fo drive a ways from tbe airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and your 5 star rating. We hope you have the chance to be with us again in the New Year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pre-Christmas visit

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, beautiful setting
Location: Located in central Scottsdale between Scottsdale Road and Hayden makes for easy travel to Old Town, Kierland Commons and points east.
The Scottsdale Resort was relatively quiet the week prior to Christmas. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The resort is located in a beautiful section of Scottsdale and convenient to activities both north and south. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lynn, It is wonderful to hear that you would stay with us again and we hope you have that opportunity very soon. Thank you as well for the compliments. Our team works hard and we appreciate the recognition.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing!

Posted Dec 20, 2017
little yukky room (#36). narrow stairs to climb. Toilet ran all night, had to call maintenance. Deck was a joke, only about 3' x 5'. Old building. Lumpy floors. pretty disappointing, considering the price. At least the restaraunt was nice, but terribly expensive. I will not be going to this resort again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Deanna, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay and have addressed your issues and will be renovation that area of the resort this coming year. We do hope that you will see in the other reviews, that the issues you experienced are the exception rather than the rule at our resort and that you will give us another opportunity to service you better when your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Never again!

Posted Dec 19, 2017
The day before we arrived I received a call from an employee yelling at me because I had been told I could have my wedding there. She told me “maybe you can find a corner somewhere.” The screwed up the reservations, billing, check in, almost ruined our wedding...they offered me a cup of coffee and a muffin as an apology. Such a disappointment. I’ve never been so angry in my life. I will never recommend this place. FYI, Sydney and valet were amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Suzanne, As we stated in your previous review of the resort. Here at the Scottsdale Resort we are very proud to have been home to several hundred beautifully planned weddings over the years. Feel free to peruse our social media for their glowing comments. These brides worked with our professional catering managers to ensure all of their needs were met. Perhaps you phoned the McCormick Resort when you believed you were offered a free wedding venue – but you certainly did not call The Scottsdale Resort. You were indeed offered a meeting to work directly with our team to plan your event and you elected not to do so. To prevent any further embarrassment in our lobby on a very busy Saturday afternoon, the staff was nice enough to remove very heavy furniture from our Garden Court area to facilitate your wedding plan. You were asked to be done by noon time as we had over 1000 attendees arriving for a law school graduation event. While we did our best to accommodate your request we do hope you understand our situation. Ken McKenzie General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Should never have made the reservations!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
After calling a couple of 5 star hotels, the McCormick said they would gladly allow me to have a small wedding ceremony anywhere on the property so long as I was a guest. I booked 3 King rooms for ourselves and our friends and family. A few days before we were due to arrive, they called and offered me a discounted upgrade. I had thought that I had already booked King beds but they said the rooms all had 2 Queens. I went ahead and upgraded all the rooms for a total of 7 nights. I asked while we were on the the phone if I could rent a couple chairs so our elderly aunt wouldn’t have to stand for 20 minutes during the cemetery. They transferred me to another department and I left a message. The day before our reservation, I was called by a manager who started yelling at me saying that I couldn’t have my wedding there, that there wouldn’t even be enough parking. She said that if we wanted to get married that we’d have to pay at least $700. She finally said, “maybe you can find a corner somewhere.” She finally said that we could use the garden off the lobby but that her staff can’t waste there time helping us and we had to be out by 1200. When we arrived, the valet and Sydney at the front desk were awesome. 30 minutes before the wedding, the front desk sent my fiancé away saying that we couldn’t have the ceremony. After I yelled at the manager for the unbelievably, unprofessional service, they offered me a cup of coffee and a muffin. We did eventually have the ceremony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Suzanne, We apologize for any confusion during your stay. Here at the Scottsdale Resort we are very proud to have been home to several hundred beautifully planned weddings over the years. Feel free to peruse our social media for their glowing comments. These brides worked with our professional catering managers to ensure all of their needs were met. Perhaps you phoned the McCormick Resort when you believed you were offered a free wedding venue – but you certainly did not call The Scottsdale Resort. You were indeed offered a meeting to work directly with our team to plan your event and you elected not to do so. To prevent any further embarrassment in our lobby on a very busy Saturday afternoon, the staff was nice enough to remove very heavy furniture from our Garden Court area to facilitate your wedding plan. You were asked to be done by noon time as we had over 1000 attendees arriving for a law school graduation event. While we did our best to accommodate your request we do hope you understand our situation. Ken McKenzie General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Grest place..we will be back...

Posted Dec 13, 2017
From Toronto and it was our first time to Phenoix...we will be back soon ... Weather was great ..love the pool.. Every day was 90 ° during the day. And at night 75 to 80°. The food is amazing and everone that worked there was happy to be there..very polite. Can't wait to come back and only 20 mins from the airport. Really no need for a rental car. Miss it all ready. Darcy and Danielle from Canada
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Darcy and Danielle, Thank you for the compliments. We look forward to having you stay with us again. The sunshine and warm weather will be waiting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Clean, great location. Great price. Good food. Great staff. Will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Warren, Thank you for the compliments. We look forward to having your return as our guest. Have a very Happy Holiday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Great hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2017
We loved our stay at Scottsdale Resort in December . Experience was wonderful with friendly staff, nice and quiet hotel , good service and overall very friendly people with a great atmosphere ! Hotel condition was clean and decorated nicely for the Christmas holiday . Room size is very spacious and comfortable . The resort is also conveniently located close to a Starbucks and other stores . Our room overlooked the beautiful golf course . Room rates are very reasonable . I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at our resort and hope that you will be able to return again soon. Thank you for the recommendation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful experience!

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Loved this resort! Wonderful site, courteous staff, great food - would go back in a heartbeat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We hope you are able to return as our guest again soon. Thanks you for the compliments. The entire Scottsdale Resort team wishes you a very happy holiday season.