Ratings based on 905 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Just ok...

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Just ok. Room was very small but clean. TV is old and some channels have a picture but just static for sound. Bathroom was clean. Shampoo provided was terrible, no lather and was barely enough. Bring your own. I happened to be assigned room 306, which was a bad location. The University of Scranton athletic field was directly across and the bright lights shined into my room constantly. There was an event one night which they blasted music over the PA system. And the train line runs right outside that window as well. Bed was comfortable the room itself had plenty of easily accessible outlets, including bedside charging ports for your devices. Overall it was ok for a short stay. Just make sure you get a room on the other side of the building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Pet friendly, guest unfriendly

Posted Sep 14, 2017
I stayed at the Radisson after visiting my daughter at University of Scranton. Starting at about 11:30 pm a dog started barking in the room next to me. I called the front desk and was told that many guest had called to complain. They said it would be handled. The dog barked constantly until I fell asleep around 1:00 am. The next morning when I checked out I told the person who check me out and she said, "sorry, but we are a pet friendly hotel." I will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Katie , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the experience you had with the nearby dog. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This was our 2nd time here. We will keep coming back. It is very beautiful and the staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location and historical structure
Good location and attractive building architecture. Good for train fans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent Architecture

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This restored belle epoch train station is a must-see. The faience murals, marble were especially pleasing. My 5th floor room's awkward largeness for the standard furniture made it less pleasing than the lobby but with such a lobby I am willing to forgive a lot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel in historic Scranton.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Hotel was beautiful and centrally located. Kim in housekeeping was very accommodating and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Historic railway station hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: See the above
Cons: Staff members, though professional in their work, could be a little more welcoming
Location: Only stayed overnight but the town centre has interesting squares, monuments and old buildings.
At first glance the hotel seemed outdated but in fact it is a wonderfully-preserved monument to the past railroad era, full of gems like the vault door, Tiffany ceiling, wall tiles etc, which one very friendly staff member brought to our attention. Very conveniently located, quiet but one step away from the town centre. Very reasonable parking rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just felt dirty

Posted Aug 23, 2017
First off, the hotel staff was nice and friendly. Upon getting off the elevator the smell of mildew was overwhelming. Just didn't smell fresh and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Katie , Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surprise

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After our reservation could not be found at another hotel (35 miles away) we were able to book the last room here. It was a nice surprise. The hotel is fabulous. We had a good dinner the night we arrived and a nice breakfast in the morning. Despite the fact that the hotel was full due to the jazz festival our stay overall was quite nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel- staff was not overly friendly but not terrible.