Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

We were pleasantly surprised by the room.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfortable and quiet room.
Cons: It needs updating throughout the hallways and the checking area is completely underwhelming
Location: Really not a whole lot to do. We were there personal matter. It was convenient for what we needed. There were some good restaurants close by.
Nice room, beautiful entrance. The check and area needs to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic train station turned into a hot

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staying in what was formerly a train station & it was close to the National Pk
Cons: The hotel parking lot could be better.
Location: Steam Town USA & the Trolley Museum were close by, great place for railroad buffs.
I enjoyed the old world charm of this historic building, it was good to see this old train station repurposed as a hotel without destroying the character of the building. The restaurant on the main floor was fun, reasonably priced,the food & service was good. We visited Steam Town National Pk site with another couple and staying at this historic hotel was like a continuation of our visit to Steam Town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bethlehem,pa

Nice hotel with good service,close to everything

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Friendly staff and very convenient to have two places to eat at,all in all it was one of the nicest places I've stay at with a modern to old feeling, comfortable beds too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great Historic Building

Posted Dec 9, 2016
This is a beautiful historic building with clear investments being made in upgradimg rooms. Nice improvement over my last visit a year earlier. They also have upgraded their menu with some great new options. Decided to eat in several nights in their Trax bar. Overall, geat stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Restored, Repurposed & Wonderful!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Its dazzling style is nonpareil. The service was friendly and efficient. Eating and drinking on premises was a treat.
Cons: The bar could build on its signature cocktails, perhaps going for more railroad themed drinks.
Location: The hotel was not just a place to spend the night and get on with it, it was a destination in itself -- "one-stop shopping" at it best.
It was a joy just to stroll through the hotel, the main floor and all the upper overlooks. The architecture of this once-upon-time train station is stunning, with marvelous Art Nouveau details. Our room was modern and elegant, spacious and comfortable, with excellent use of the theme of railroading in the decor. We had a fun time having a before dinner drink at the bar -- a blast from a bygone era. Our dinner in the elegantly appointed white tablecloth dining room was delicious and the cooking and its presentation creative. I wish we could have had more time and used the Lackawanna as a base for exploring Scranton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Convenient, Historic, Comfortable Bed

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The bed. The historic value/decor (the atrium is so ornate!). The special touches in the room.
Cons: The rooms are modern and updated, but the exterior room doors seem off.
Location: Steamtown Historic Site/Trolley Museum, Scranton Cultural Center, lots of laid-back corner bars.
I took a spontaneous trip to Scranton to see a band the night before Thanksgiving. I was happy to have found a good deal w/ such short notice. I wanted somewhere downtown so that we could walk to our destination. We weren't in the room very much - just to shower and get ready for the show, to sleep, and then to get ready the next morning. The room - a king with sofa - was modern, clean, bright & way bigger than we had anticipated. And it made us want to stay longer! Nice views of two angles. The bathroom had enough space & was equipped with nice toiletries, even extras that you don't normally see: shower cap, pack w/ nail file and cotton ball, loofah,etc. I used to work in Scranton, so I had been to the hotel before, to eat or hang out, so I was familiar with Carmen's and Traxx -- we didn't visit either during this trip, but these venues add to the convenience of this hotel. The bed. The bed was SO comfortable. We slept until the last moment we could before check-out... plus we had a Thanksgiving dinner to get to back in Lancaster. I wanted to add why I gave the staff just a 3: -- service was just "eh" -- it could have been because it was the day before a holiday, but the woman who checked us in seemed preoccupied, rushed, and not as jovial as other front desk staffs' demeanor during check in. I only gave the condition a 4 because it looks like the doors to the rooms could be upgraded. Overall, our stay was pleasant and cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Memories of a time forgotten

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: the architecture
Cons: the room appointments
Location: central Scranton, near pubs and restaurants.
Radisson Lackawanna is situated in a beautiful 1908 train station, a national historic landmark appointed with rare Italian marble wall, a Tiffany vaulted glass ceiling, and art deco tiles depicting scenes along the railway line. The atrium is worth the stay, and the restaurant in the lobby is quite good as well--so if you don't stay here, go eat here (the waitress had an extensive knowledge of the hotel's history and was terrific). The room I stayed in was a bit dark and cramped, but it was fine for one night. Bedding was comfortable. Shower though lacked a shelf for toiletries. The hotel staff were pleasant, but they neglected to schedule my wake up call and getting through to the front desk in the first place was a bit of a travail. It is located nicely in downtown Scranton, easy to get to off the highway, and the pub across the street has a range of taps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute plan for overnight stay exceeded expec

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Driving through Scranton area, I decided to stay overnight. Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel offered an inviting rate and I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel so historically interesting, located within walking distance of shopping and restaurants and beautiful. Thank you to staff in Trax Pub for being so welcoming and friendly, and to waiter in restaurant that pointed out historical points there and in hotel lobby. Clean, modern room and excellent front desk staff made this overnight stay feel more like a mini stay-cation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in Scranton

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly
Cons: It needs major brightening up. It is a beautiful building that deserves to shine.
Location: Convenient to major roads and central to downtown Scranton.
Overall the hotel has an old and dated feel to it. Our room looked to have been upgraded, but still has a very noisy heating / AC unit that made sleeping difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location full of history!!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The preservation of this railroad station! Would highly recommend!
Cons: N/A Nothing to not like... Great Experience!! Come see for yourself!
Location: See Steamtown Railroad Museum