Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Tuba

Fantastic stay with lovely breakfast

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location and beautiful place. Great hospitality by owners Ralf and Stephan with staff. Breakfast was fantastic! Very good value for money. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by Nora from Hawaii

A wonderful experience in Cape Town

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Ralf was extremely helpful in making arrangements for our various trips to the wine country, to the cape and to Robben Island. The breakfast selections were amazing and included fruit, omelets, meats, cheeses, yogurt and more. Inexpensive clothes cleaning is available and all of the staff is friendly and effecient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Superb guesthouse with excellent hosts!

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Sea Point is in a bus route by the Atlantic coast. There is a open top bus tour close by that goes to many tourist attractions. Beautiful promenade.
African Home guesthouse is a superb place. Our room was lovely, with rustic decor and a brilliant shower room. Breakfast was great with all sorts of fruit, juices, breads and savouries. Cooked breakfast was offered too if you wanted it. Breakfast was taken outside on the terrace- weather permitting, which was fabulous when we were there. The pool and pool area was stunning, though we didn't really get the opportunity to use it. Ralf and Stefan were very welcoming and booked trips for us and gave us suggestions of places to visit and eat. The area is safe to walk around in at night and there are plenty of restaurants close by. The staff were very attentive and we could have drinks by the pool at night when we returned from our meal. I would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse to anyone travelling to Cape Town. The hosts and staff could not have been more helpful. Sea Point is a great location too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylish B & B in a good location

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to restaurants and bars.
Lovely B & B in a good location, a couple of blocks from the sea and within walking distance (approx 45 min stroll) of V & A waterfront. Great hosts, well appointed room, albeit quite small, with a comfortable bed and quality linen. Excellent outside space, beautiful pool and courtyard.
5 out of 5
by Justin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole UK

Good peaceful location

Posted Oct 19, 2015
As soon as I arrived I felt very welcome. Located just off the main drag but close to all your needs.The staff were amazing and nothing was a problem. Rooms were perfect with everything you could need and extremely clean. Breakfast was delicious and set me up for the day. I would certainly stay at African home again 10/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

First class accommodation and hospitality

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Tastefully decorated and contemporary style accommodation with balcony and alfresco breakfast served with a smile.
Cons: Nothing. 10/10!
Location: Within walking distance and close to a variety of restaurants in Sea Point and bus stop for Hop on, Hop off bus.
Our hosts, Ralph & Stephan, looked after our every need and nothing was too much trouble. We were given helpful advice regarding sightseeing and even booking for Robben Island was taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great breakfast

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Coming from Chicago, visited Cape Town for a conference. Instead of staying downtown, I rented a car and stayed at this B&B. Great location, $4 cab ride to the convention center, close to all CT beaches and trendy restaurants. Every morning, owners made me an amazing breakfast including perfect sunny side up eggs with European style coffee and then helped me organize all activities for the day.
5 out of 5
by Laurie from Vancouver BC

An oasis

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
After a 28 day camping tour through Southern Africa, my friend and I were treated like royalty at African Home! From the welcoming smiles and spotless room to the attention to every tiny detail (delicious coffee/breakfast, turndown service, arranging tours/meals) Ralf and Stephan are the epitome of fine hosts!! The location is perfect. A quiet street only 2 safe blocks away from lots of cafés and 4 blocks from the ocean. Don't hesitate to stay here, African Home will not disappoint you :-)
5 out of 5
by HiltonLeonie from Johannesburg

Fabulous find

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
Great breakfast, Great beds, Great Owners and staff! Had a wonderful stay