Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Very Nice

Posted Aug 25, 2017
We stayed for two nights and were very happy. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, the hotel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Bhl Team, Hotel Management
Dear Chrisitiana, Glad to know you had a comfortable stay with us. Blackheath Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

This is the one..... Don't look anywhere else.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Everything... especially the staff.
Cons: Nothing...Please keep it the same for next year...
Location: Location, is excellent if you can walk... If not hire a taxi they are cheap enough.
We loved this Hotel. The staff were incredible they couldn't do enough for us they really looked after us and made our stay a great one. The Hotel itself is not big but the rooms are a good size. It's very quaint with lots of little spots to hide and find solace if you wanted too which we loved. Most hotels are big, sterile, blank canvases but this was somehow soft, gentle, cosy, and had a homely feel to it. The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals that we had were very good and wholesome. The rooms were kept well, warm and clean, bed and bathroom were great. Location, 3 -minute walk from local shops, 7- minutes’ walk from sea front and Park and 25 minute walk “along the sea front” to the Victoria and Alfred waterfront “tourist centre” which has everything that you want. Added extra, Sunbirds in the garden all day....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Dear David and Shirley, Thank you for your beautiful review. We would love to welcome you back for a breakfast and dinner. BHL Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Excellent hotel with exceptional staff.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Our stay at Blackheath Lodge was fantastic, we chose to stay there after travelling from their sister hotel in Hermanus and we were equally impressed with both. The welcome you receive from the staff is brilliant and they help you with knowledgeable itinerary suggestions and getting to know Cape Town. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Our room had everything we needed and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was also a great start to the day. I just wish we could have stayed longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Hi Ben, Glad you got to experience both One Marine Drive and Blackheath Lodge. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China/Canada

Best lodge style place stayed

Posted Jul 9, 2017
I don't usually write reviews unless it's a terrible place that should be known to the future customers. But I must write a review for a complete different reason: Being a frequent world traveler and stayed in many five star and smart places, Blackheath Lodge impressed me with best services and comfortable living which my family enjoyed immensely. We will definitely recommend to our friends or stay there again if we come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing; very attentive and helpful. Gave us great recommendations for trips around Cape Town.
We had a great time at the Blackheath Lodge and did not want to leave!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Blackheath team, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back come#home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old Victorian house in great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Wonderful staff, lovely, comfy room. Brilliant location. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Short and Sweet :) So glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Lurendharen

Great Stay

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay. Staff were very attentive and ready to help. Needs were met immediately. Breakfast was excellent. Room we had was enormous and cleaned daily. Excellent place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for your review - we appreciate all the feedback. We would love to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Beautiful hotel, everything you need

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff were great, even changed out the flag in front for who was staying there from which country. We were greeted with free wine and had every amenity we needed (hairdryers in room, free breakfast, wifi worked great, etc). Rooftop room with outdoor patio and waking up to a view of the ocean every morning was icing on the cake, did I mention there was cake every day too? Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed the afternoon treats!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Best stay ever anywhere, in all my travels.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, the room, the breakfast, the bedding, the paintings and other art was breathtaking. The care to detail was unparalleled. I loved everything
Cons: I can't think of a single thing.
Location: The location is central to many activities, You can walk to the beach, cycle and get to many places easily. There are many restuarants nearby.
The welcome as you enter, makes you feel at home immediately. Every single member of the staff is a wonderful asset to the business. Within hours of our arrival, I booked another stay for the following month. The food at breakfast was fresh, delicious and varied. Nothing was too much effort for the staff. They went out of their way to make it one's best stay ever, anywhere, and they succeeded. I have lived in four countries, and travelled many more, and I did not want to leave. I felt safe, iit was quiet, and I wanted to make it my home. Every possible need was anticipated and taken care of. My husband, who usually hikes and surfs, did not want to leave our room. He was so relaxed and content. We are already planning next year's stay and want to spend our 20th wedding anniversary there in 2019.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Charle & Karin, Hotel Management
Yolande, we love welcoming special guests like you. Come home#2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about this place is great! The service, food, location, cleanliness, price are truly top notch, and you will not regret staying here.