Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely Guest House

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Comfort, Friendly Staff, Breakfast.
Location: Excellent location, easy walking distance to promenade, restaurants, bars and supermarkets. Hop on hop off bus stop very close. Very cheap to Uber too
I recently stayed at Villa Costa Rose for one night with my partner. Neil was warm and welcoming when we arrived and kindly offered us a room upgrade which was appreciated after our long flight. Room was very comfortable and clean, with a complimentary bottle of wine. Breakfast was delicious. The outdoor and pool area was a very relaxing place to enjoy our coffee. The staff had excellent knowledge of the area & were very helpful answering all our questions. You would not be disappointed staying here and I would love to stay again one day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, lovely B&B

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Villa Costa Rose very much. The location was perfect: close to the water and we took lots of walks along the waterfront. There were some of the best restaurants in Cape Town within walking distance, perfect for the foodies that we are. Breakfast here was very satisfying with a selection of cheese, cured meats, fresh fruit, (loved the huge strawberries,) cereals, yogurt, bacon & sausage and pancakes/eggs made to order. The room was lovely and very clean. We slept really well in the cozy bed. The free wifi was fast. Out back there was a pool, shaded lounging area and a few tables and chairs. It was wonderful to be able to eat our breakfast outdoors in the fresh air and morning sunshine. There was also plenty of seating inside. Our hosts were enthusiastic and helpful. Upon arrival we were given a map and lots of information on the neighborhood. They were available to help us with our questions. Overall a very positive experience. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.
5 out of 5
by Cilna from Johannesburg

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
What a lovely stay, with fantastic hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good choice!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Location, more than adequate room size and plenty of outside covered seating.
Cons: For those who wish to catch up with world news it would assist if the TV had an international news channel
Stayed 4 nights (27th to 30th December) B&B well located (in quiet one-way street) for V&A centre, easy reach of CT centre and within walking distance of several eateries. Clean, tidy, air-conditioned room with fridge, TV (but with limited channels) and own small balcony. Good choice of breakfast which can be served inside or on the patio. free Wi-Fi. Helpful owners, Rob and Neil, who will assist with restaurant recommendations and for those unfamiliar with CT, places to visit. Excellent value. Only downside was an occasional 'yappy dog' next door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place, friendly and very accommodating staff. Bed was very comfortable and the courtyard was cute. Bathroom could be a bit bigger, but was clean and sufficient. Loved the hotel and room decorations including genuine, modern artwork. Walking distance to some restaurants/bars and the boardwalk. Good location via cab to beaches and waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newton Abbot, UK

One of the best

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Located in Seapoint. Convenient for waterfront, numerous shops, cafes and restaurants
A superb quality B & B Excellent rooms. Comfortable bed, quality linen, spotlessly clean. Brilliant hosts, Rob and Neil accommodated our needs very sympathetically. Breakfast was a feast of top quality food prepared and presented faultlessly. We would recommend this establishment with no hesitation. Absolutely fabulous.
5 out of 5
by Kayla from New York

Great stay at Villa Costa Rose

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
It was great! The hosts were courteous and helpful with tips of what to do, room was clean and nice, breakfast was delicious! Will recommend to friends!
5 out of 5
by Leslie M. from Nashua, NH

Beautiful Oasis in Cape Town!

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
Neil and Rob are terrific hosts, and they have created a wonderful, comfortable home away from home for visitors to South Africa. Great restaurants right around the corner and just a couple blocks to the ocean. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by Football dad from Netherlands

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
Our room left a lot to be desired. Our bed was 190 cm as was the duvet. My feet hung over the edge as I am 193cm. In this day and age such short beds! The latch on the bathroom door was broken so the door kept swinging open. Great when you sit on the WC. The window could not be locked, so I could not leave my camera behind when we went out to dinner. Heating / airco did not work. Toilet seat was loose. The floor is painted concrete (needs a new coat of paint). This makes the B&B very noisy when some guests come in late at night. Two not so clean looking mats complete the furnishing. Owner says thats the concrete floors are for hypoallergenic reasons. In 35 years of travel I have never come across this. I believe its just to cut costs. Just clean properly! Fridge was noisy which disturbed our sleep and there was some sticky goo (!) in the freezer. It was also leaking. The receptionist was friendly and helpful as were the staff. The breakfast was good and the dining is nicely furnished. Some might not like it as it is predominantly dark purple.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Rob, Hotel Management
We value all guest comments and always aim to improve our guest experiences. The room in question was the Budget Queen room and as stated in the listing, it is the smallest room with a Queen Size bed where the size of the bed is exactly noted. We have King Size rooms and Twin Rooms available too but some guests prefer to cut costs. Since July, we have re-tiled and refurbished all our guest rooms and a new air-con system is installed. All bathroom doors now have door closers. The dining area has been accented in lighter purples this year as part of annual refurbishment and most guests love the colour scheme, thankfully most people enjoy purple & dislike beige.
5 out of 5
by JG from Canada

Good guesthouse

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
Very friendly hosts!