Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Cape Town City Break

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Our stay was vey enjoyable. The location was excellent, with pleasing views of the boulevard and sea from the lovely Bar terrace. Our room was a little tired with very bland décor, but there is an upgrade programme which is currently addressing this observation. We would happily return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Florida

Excellent staff - able, knowledgeable, caring.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The staff is most helpful and enthusiastic. They take time with each guest to ensure that your needs are met promptly and completely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Beautiful hotel on waterfront with great breakfast and service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated, definitely not worth 4-star rating

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is way past it's expiry date. Very dated in appearance and as we checked in a number of guests were complaining about broken windows or windows not closing. Carpets are old, décor is old. That said it is a clean hotel, but not worth the 4-star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location - close to everything

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: I loved that I could get up in the morning and go for a long walk in either direction with wonderful views. It's a homely hotel.
Cons: I would have loved to have an IRON in my room - after travel, clothes tend to be wrinkled. The bathroom could have done with a fan.
Location: The hotel is approx. 30 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront (a lovely walk). It is 7 minutes in a shuttle. I also walked to Camps Bay which took 1hr.
I really enjoyed my experience in Winchester Mansions - it's definitely the right side of town. The location was great, it's a lovely hotel to stay in. There were 2 options for breakfast sittings, either overlooking the beautiful waterfront or sitting in the lovely courtyard. The food was lovely, service generally was good. Harvey's was great for a drink in the evening. The pool was a bit cold but very refreshing. Lennox the shuttle bus driver was very informative and so nice to all the guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to stay, eat elsewhere

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and very close to everything. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was completely average and we popped into Harvey's to have a quick meal after a competition and were very restricted by the menu and average wine list so we left and popped up to a gorgeous bistro on the Sea Point main street which beautiful. So all in all I would stay there again but definitely not eat there.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Nice place let down by the breakfast.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place. However , the breakfast buffet was not the best and I would not eat there again in a hurry.
5 out of 5
by Charlene

Spectacular Stay

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Winchester for our honeymoon and it was amazing! First, we were upgraded to a balcony suite which overlooked the ocean. The room was very spacious, and clean. The staff was extremely friendly as well. There was a variety of breakfast items to select in the morning, and sitting in the courtyard to enjoy was spectacular. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here, and will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by alan

Tabl Mountain frames this little gem of a hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were excellent, Christmas lunch was very enjoyable with a great live jazz band. Shuttle service very convenient to get down to the V&A.