Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford Surrey

Very Nice Hotel and Spa

Posted Apr 11, 2018
Super stay.Excellent Spa with superb facilities.The staff were extremely curtious and helpful. My wife and I wish it was closer as we would love to visit more regularly
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Chara Forrest, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay, it is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable visit. If you do not mind me asking and you have a spare 5 minutes, I would be extremely grateful if you could post a review on Trip Advisor of your experience as feedback such as yours is extremely important to other clients making a decision to visit Seaham Hall. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Chara Forrest Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from teesside

Staff very good. Room 2 needs upgraded as old fash

Posted Dec 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Ebookers made mistake of falsely advertising garden terrace suite with personnel hot tub. We were extremely disappointed to find only one room has the hot tub, and is clearly highlighted on seaham hall website, but misleading on ebookers web site. I would of paid extra to get the garden terrace suite with hot tub if available, but it was already accomodated. As a result ebookers spolit my wife's 30th birthday. Seaham hall staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Peaceful relaxing weekend

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Spa facilities were top class, We loved being able to spend the day over in the spa & enjoy our meals without having to get changed into day clothing.
Cons: nothing
Location: Even though it was November we enjoyed a brisk walk each morning along the coastline & shopping in the local outlet
I took my daughter for a long weekend to celebrate her birthday, the room was lovely with access to allow us to have our coffee in the garden even in November, We dined at both the Ozone & Byrons Restaurant & the food was excellent. We made great use of the facilities available in the spa & enjoyed 3 hours each of wonderful massage & facials. Beds & bedding were personal to our needs & extremely comfortable. We shall definitely return
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Chara Forrest, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay and it is fantastic to read that you have had an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more R&R soon! Kind Regards, Chara Forrest Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pricey and didn't live up to its billing!

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
A hotel that has real potential to wow but, sadly, its rooms are a little dated and the furnishings somewhat tired. Very pricey, so was expecting something extraordinary and truly sumptuous but the hotel didn't really live up to this. The restaurant and public rooms appear more recently decorated but some of the bedrooms, I think, need a proper makeover and the public carpet in the purpose-built bedroom annexe desperately needed changing. The restaurants were very pleasant (both in the main house and in the spa) and the food good quality, albeit quite traditional, heavy choices (in the main hotel) with an uninspiring vegetarian option. Spa treatments were pleasant but unexceptional and staff very kind and helpful. There aren't many choices of places to stay in the nearby area with other hotels principally part of large hotel chains. So, this hotel does offer something different but could be so much better with a bit of investment.
4 out of 5
by Bruce

Superb Reception

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
A great welcome with our luggage carried from car to room. Then problems. Took some considerable time to work out how the light switches work: the writing is worn and difficult to read in the gloom. On ordering 'Lamb' from the menu I was surprised to receive only three slivers, each the precise dimensions of my little figure. I needed to pay a further £4 for some unremarkable boiled potatoes rather than go into town for more food. The ambience in the dining room left something to be desired, with the young head(?) waiter making his disdain for his staff all too obvious. The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable - a pity,then, that a delivery van arrived just below our window a little before 7.00 a.m. For our second and third evenings we ate in the Ozone restaurant, where the staff were much more positive and attentive, constantly on the move. Sadly for our final breakfast my cafetiere was served with the plunger already depressed. A second request produced an identical result, the helpful waiter not having a sufficiently adequate understanding of our language. The final blow came when, for the first ever time in my experience, supplies of marmalade had run out!
5 out of 5
by Stephen

5 Stars

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful experience amazing hotel and staff 5 star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
we will stay at this hotel now, every time we visit family in Sunderland. Lovely experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Wear

Customer care first class

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: everything
Cons: N/A
Hotel staff where very attentive and myself and wife couldn't have asked for a better service or experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Spa paradise by the sea.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: local staff who took pride in their work.
Cons: very little, even the weather was perfect!
Location: Beamish Museum is a must, definitely allow the best part of a day for this. We went to Lindisfarne and also the North East Coast.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful and well cared for. We were greeted by staff who were extremely friendly and helpful and take pride in their hotel. This became evident that all the staff we met had the same attitude. There is even a "secret tunnel" to the spa which is a delight. We were delighted with the food and service and any breakfast combinations were not too much trouble to create. Overall this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Another perfect stay at Seaham Hall

Posted Jun 2, 2017
As the last time we went we got upgraded to the lovely Executive Suite (21) we feared a "regular" Garden Suite wouldn't be as good but it was just as beautiful but in a different way. The lovely patio was a great place to have room service breakfast outside and to have a drink in our robes in early evening. Staff were, as always, great. Some of the other customers in the spa were a bit odd/gross (odd-one guy took a shower radio into the steam room, spoiling the atmosphere somewhat. Gross-eating an orange in the sauna and leaving the peel in there) but the hotel cannot really be blamed for their guests!