Ratings based on 1,629 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Construction zone.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
There was plenty of banging of hammers, sawing of saws and yelling to go around. I don't know how much they charge per night when there's no construction, but I sure hope we received a discounted rate for our stay. We have a 22 month old who likes to nap during the day, but with hammering and sawing above and below our room it made it difficult to relax. The 3rd day we were there we went out for an early lunch and expecting to have our room cleaned up, not the case. We went out later in the day and called the front desk to ask for housekeeping. The attendant responded, without concern, I think the housekeepers are leaving soon, but we'll see what we can do. We returned with our room still a mess, with towels and sheets thrown onto the couch, as to say, "here you go you can make the beds yourself." Oh, Hell No! Let me remind you that we have a almost 2 year old, we accumulate trash quickly, so that was piled up, we had gone to the beach the day before, so there was sand that was not vacuumed, and they expected us to make our own beds? We are on vacation, I understand making our beds at home, sure, but when we are paying a premium to stay a pretty nice hotel I have expectations also. Also, I have no idea why they charge for parking. We are so far from any tourist attraction that you end up paying for parking again when you have to drive to your destination. And they make it sound like the complimentary breakfast and "evening reception" off set that price of parking. Huh?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roseville,ca

Nice hotel & uncomfortable beds

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We stayed two nights there ,our room was clean, but air conditioner was not working properly,it was 109 f outside ,inside was hot too. Bathroom door doesn't have lock.Beds were uncomfortable too . Breakfast was great and delicious. Also it's close to restaurants and shopping plaza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, Ca

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The room was large enough.
Cons: I wished the renovation was finished.
Location: The beach wasn"t too far and the scenery from my room was great.
They were renovating the place but inspite of that the stay was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Very nice suite, very clean and close to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel rooms. We had a suite which was very spacious and nice. Very comfortable. Hotel staff was excellent and helpful. There is a beach very close by. We saw whales from the shore and it's a popular one for sandollars and beach glass. Enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Hotel renovations currently underway, but it did not affect our stay. Managers reception and breakfast were still provided in a great way. Room was clean and quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel; lovely staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel was having building work during our visit and although it made the entrance rather unsightly,it had little impact. You know what you are getting with Embassy Suites and it was full of families who, like us, were taking advantage of the two room apartment style accommodation. I was very pleased with the staff who addressed the couple of issues (that the rooms not really ready for five of us, having only two towels and my son being ill during the night due to something he ate (out of the hotel) ) very quickly and efficiently and without any fuss. The location is uninspiring, but that is what one expects: it is very conveniently located for Monterey provided one has a car
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Embassy Suites Monterey - Unexpected Disappointmen

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: while I will miss the koi ponds, I found the color palette pleasing.
Cons: Upfront acknowledgements of shortcomings due to the renovation.
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium is fabulous. Lunch at InterContinental Hotel!
We've stayed in this hotel chain since our now teen daughter was a baby, and have come to expect a standard that was not met on this occasion. We enjoyed the breakfasts which make traveling easier on a family, but otherwise will look at other establishments in the future. In fairness, Embassy Suites Monterey is under major renovation and this may speak to some of the disappointments. We are accustomed to the suite set-up with a separate room for dining and sitting area. The two full size bed room had a lamp, but not even a armchair to accompany it. Just the beds and a desk, accommodations of a Best Western. Further we were placed behind the service elevator and suffered the attendant mechanical and personnel noise. Gone was the tub and only a shower occupied the small bathroom. Workout room had only a single treadmill, stationary bike and stack of free weights. Deficiency not attributable to renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Construction, Dirty Rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance
Location: Embassy Suites in Seaside is close to the beach and a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
I often stay at Embassy Suites in Seaside because the hotel is family friendly and close to Monterey Bay Aquarium. This last stay was sadly very disappointing. Right now, they are remodeling the entire ground floor so there is noise, dust, and long waits for the elevator. Additionally, the rooms are not clean and we did not get hot water. My guess is that due to the high cost of the remodel, they reduced staff and maintenance. I will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Under Construction

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: View from our room was nice
Cons: The breakfast and the condition of the hotel
Upon arrival we found the whole bottom floor was under construction. There was not mention of this when we made the reservation of on their website. In addition there was a car show in the area and parking was hard to find. The breakfast was disappointing. The scramble eggs were cold, and the bacon was baked and greasy. Our past visits to other Embassy Suites had spoiled us. If you are planning a stay soon, please make sure the construction is done. The price was too high to stay in a construction zone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, but under renovation.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel has a great location and the free breakfast is amazing. But the current renovation in the lobby is a bit of a nuisance.