Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable

Posted Aug 25, 2017
As the title of this review states, the Gilbert Inn was a reasonable place to stay — nothing special. A bit rundown, comfortable room, good but nothing-special breakfast, tacky neighborhood, excellent beach access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Sumi , Hotel Management
We plan to upgrade the property as well as the breakfast. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not a Bed and Breakfast

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The gardens, location if you want to be close to the tourist stuff but if you are looking a quaint and quiet place to stay this is not it.
Cons: Breakfast needs major improvement. Room too small.
Location: If you want to go tourist spots and poor restaurants this is the location.
The room was very small and disappointing for the price. The breakfast was terrible, had better breakfast and the Super 8 hotel. This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and were looking forward to that experience. Great location if you want easy access to the stores and the beach. We were overall disappointed with this hotel and will think twice about booking a hotel like this again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Gilbert Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Sorry that you wasn't satisfied with our rooms and services. Wanted to inform you that we have recently acquired the property and in the process of upgrading it including breakfast. May be your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but not a "real" B&B

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice, well preserved historic home, but it is not a "real" B&B, hosted by the owners, and the self-service breakfast felt impersonal, like your typical hotel's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Sumi , Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are working to upgrade our breakfast choices. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Beautifully maintained historic building one block from the beach. Our room was nice but not much elbow room for a couple. Request a deluxe room if you want more space and some kind of sitting area. Expected a home cooked breakfast instead of packaged cereal, oatmeal cereal and bread. There was some fresh fruit and eggs. Building and grounds were impeccably clean.
4 out of 5
by donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice change from the large hotels and condos that dominate the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Respite at the beacg

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: I loved the coziness and friendliness as well as the lovely decor fitting the history of the building.
Location: The beach is a short block away. Restaurants and fun activities are close to include an arcade and carousel.
The Inn is delightfully decorated to fit the 111 year old building. The room I stayed in, Garret, had a view of the beach and was very comfortable. The beach was a short block away, and restaurants and fun activities were just two to three blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Key

Posted May 11, 2017 on Orbitz
The only thing that went wrong was my key to get back in after dark did not work, so I could not go back outside after one of the guest let me back into the hotel. Other then that, the place was amazing, very clean and excellent customer service, the showers where hot and stayed that way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Cozy and peaceful. Right next to beach.

Posted May 6, 2017
Loved loved loved! First time staying at bed & breakfast and it exceeded all expectations. Staff is super friendly and room is cozy and peaceful. Loved that we could literally walk out front door to the beach. Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motel Breakfast

Posted May 3, 2017
We are used to a home cooked style sit down with other guests breakfast. We got a motel style breakfast. Not all foods ready at start time. As we sat eating, more foods came out. Too full to even try fruit brought out 30 minutes late.