Ratings based on 862 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Service is Underwhelming & Smell is Overwhelming

Posted Sep 19, 2017
This hotel room was unclean when we arrived. We were checked in on time and the room was still not ready. When we reviewed the room, the toilet bowl had not been scrubbed in what seemed like months. The sheets had hair and crumbs all over and on the pillows. There were what appeared to be urine stains on the carpet and furniture, and the entire room smelled awful. The carpet had not been vacuumed and the bathroom floors were spotted in yellow coloring. When we informed the staff at the check in counter, he said "It's a pet room. There aren't that many available." We were very upset that the norm is to not service pet rooms, as well as the other non-pet-friendly rooms. We certainly live with our pet, and have high expectations for pet friendly hotels. We feared having our stay there because when we asked if they treated their rooms for fleas and ticks they said " Ugh... I don't know." We asked them to have a manager look at the room and they said they would do this only to not inform us when the room was ready again. In about an hour and a half from being checked in we called Expedia to discuss our options and they encouraged us to check out while they rerouted us elsewhere. When we checked out of the Holiday Inn after having Expedia book us elsewhere, the guy at the counter decided to unload his frustration about how understaffed they were and that the hotel would be remodeled in a month with hopes of "better expectations." We did get a refund. Thank you Expedia!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect your room to be ready

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Had lots of seating in the lobby which was needed since you couldn't get a room.
Cons: When you have prepaid reservations, you should be prepared for people to show up and want their room.
Made a prepaid, refundable, non cancellable reservation 2 months in advance of visit. Check in time was 3:00. We arrived at 4:45 and was told our room wasn't ready and that we should go have dinner and they would call when it was ready. At 6:45 we called the hotel, they let it ring about 10 times and then picked it up and hung up on us. Went back to the hotel, now there is an entire lobby full of people whose rooms are also not ready. A Holiday Inn platinum member mentioned she had been waiting over 4 hours for her room. Desk clerk said our room was still not ready, had no idea when or IF it would be ready and shrugged his shoulders. Really? luckily we had booked through Expedia who was fabulous in finding another hotel for us, and got our money back. However, if they had no intention of giving us a room, they should have said so up front. After 8 hours of driving with road closures, road construction and detours, all we really wanted was to get some rest. Will make sure every one I know hears about our treatment. Normally Holiday Inn is a really good choice, but this facility takes the prize for the worst experience I've ever had, which is saying something since I traveled 40 weeks a year for 20 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
When we came to check in, there was nobody at the fron dest for about 25 mins. Besides that the staff is friendly. It was a slow weekend for them so they weren't that busy. Also the breakfast was not good in my opinion. And the room had a very strong stink of some sort that I couldn't distinguish. Other than that we had a great stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seaside, Wa

Housekeeping Stinks

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Our room was not ready when we got there.We stayed there for three days and did not get any clean towels or any room service at all. We had to take towels from the cart and ask for coffee. The staff at the front desk, which was one person, was overwhelmed and had no help although they were very pleasant there was still only one person at the front desk. They really need to up their staff! The bathroom needs a good scrubbing, there was mildew on the shower curtain. While I was taking my shower the water totally stopped for like 1 minute.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane Valley, WA

Discussing Filthy Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing, will never again stay in a Holiday Inn Express.
Cons: Fire the owners, housekeeping and front desk staff. Hire people who care and want to run a hotel the right way. Gordon Ramsey - Hotel Hell.
Location: There was a lot to do in Seaside. Everything from the beach to shopping. Just stay somewhere else.
The room was filthy, old dried urine all over the base of the toilet, bathtub had a discussing brown ring around it, the wall above the shower was covered in mold. The room carpet was so nasty that we would not allow our grandkids to sit and play on it. When we checked in, late afternoon, the room was not ready citing lack of towels and housekeeping staff. When we finally got to check in, a room for 4, it only had two towels, two wash cloths and no hand towels. Day two, we asked the front desk clerk to ensure our room was cleaned explaining all that we found and to please ensure we had sufficient towels. We returned to the room at about 6:00 PM and the room was not made up, not cleaned and NO towels. We had to use pillow cases off the spare pillows to dry the grandkids after their shower. (The tub was too nasty to allow them to take baths like they wanted to.) The toilet seat was so cheap that if you moved while sitting, the seat would twist and you would nearly fall off. Inadequate parking. The room was so nasty that we did not dare eat the continental breakfast out of fear getting sick. Excuse given, insufficient number of housekeepers; then only rent out the rooms you can adequately supply and clean! There is a concept for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
We had a nice stay and the hotel seems new. Breakfast is very good, but it was difficult to find a vacant table due to the large number of guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Checked in at 5:00 PM but room still not ready until 5:20! No shower towel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, OR

Needs some help

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Welcomed to our room with trash in the hallway and bleach stains by the door. Inside we found filthy carpet and mirrors, dirty lamp shades and horribly squeaky beds. Our remote control had duct tape holding the batteries in. Location was great and breakfast was perfect for the kids. We will be staying somewhere else next time that has better upkeep and cleaning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Showed up 1 hour early to find out Expedia gave us the wrong room, after that got fixed we came back at check in time. Very slow check in, 30 minute wait in line, only to find out the room wasn't ready. 3 hours after check in our room finally became available, was told we would receive a call when it was done, no call was ever made to tell us. Seems like a lack of management in this hotel. It is close to all the shops and food, otherwise not a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The bath drain was clogged and the bathroom wallpaper was peeling. Otherwise, it was okay.