Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Close to shopping and restaurants

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Stayed there for 15 days while I was working in the area. Super spacious room and very clean. The hotel is being renovated but still very comfy. Would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The management was rude and dishonest.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I rented a room with two beds for 5 days they never sent house cleaning and the manager tried to charge for checking out. Very dishonest and filthy hotel and will not return and I do not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We are disappointed to read your review. Customer service is very important to us, and we are sorry to hear that you did not experience first class customer service during your stay. Our room service team does a great job making sure rooms are prepared well daily, so it is strange that this had happened. Please know that we will be looking into this to ensure this does not happen again. We hope this won't dissuade you from staying with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really suitable for children

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Charged my card even though I wanted to pay cash. There was a lot of mess around the maintenance they were doing. Neighbors were loud. Room didn't seem extremely clean. No fitted sheets. Got really sick while staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
It is most unfortunate that your stay with us was marred by illness. It is a shame that you were also disturbed by noisy neighbors; we expect our guests to have consideration for one another in terms of the noise that they make, but, unfortunately, as you discovered, this does not always happen, and we are very sorry for the discomfort that this caused you. We hope that it will not deter you from staying with us again; we certainly hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seaside, CA

Measure twice and place once

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and they did allow dogs ($30/night).
Cons: Fix outlets and shower pressure
Location: The location is conveniently located off the highway in seaside and I felt safe in the neighborhood. We had no issues.
The hotel is in the process of remodeling. The furniture is in good shape but didn't fit in our room. The table and chairs blocked the path from the bed to the bathroom so I had to climb over the bed. Only one outlet worked on one wall so they had extension cords plugged into extension cords. Maybe our room was still in the process of being remodeled. The water pressure was very low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We are very much looking forward to our renovations being complete, please rest assured that the issues that you have outlined will be resolved upon completion, and we are very excited to have a great new product for our guests. We hope that you'll come back to sample our fully refurbished rooms when they're finished, we are sure that you will be impressed! Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, Ca

Don't wast your money!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We arrived at 5 pm and our room wasn't ready. The desk clerk was rude and the first room we got assigned was unbelievable!! There was an old tv in the closet, dirty walls, no AC (only a rotating fan). We then got assigned a new room which was only slightly better. The pool was disgusting! We paid $174 to stay there and I honestly wouldn't stay there for $40! Also the shower handle was falling off and the outlets were missing covers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Customer service is very important to us, and we are disappointed that you did not receive the first class customer service that we try to offer to all of our guests. Please know that our pool is cleaned regularly and we are sorry that this was not evident during your stay. We appreciate your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

It was a NIGHTMARE! Do NOT stay here!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Close to shopping and restaurants, affordable at $61 per night (with Expedia discount) "FREE" parking (if you get back early enough to snag a spot) otherwise be ready to park at a some random Filipino market and walk back in the middle of the night. 24 hour check in, be sure to call to wake the attendant up because he's asleep in the back. I was greeted by a big man in his PJ's with drool on his face. Cons: No HOT water in the shower (this should be a basic nesessity) bed sheets had cigarette burns, AC unit blew out dusty smell, toilet water BROWN, even after multiple flushing, awoken at 7 am by other teneants screaming and fighting violently (police had to be called) Warning: When I asked if I could cancel my second night reservation (after a traumatic morning for my kids (3 and 1) I was denied, even after all of my above concerns were expressed, they couldn't even offer me a different room. It's ok, I just wanted out of that place asap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are most disappointed to read your review of your stay at our property. Your experience does not at all reflect the type of stay that we wish to provide for our guests, and we apologize sincerely. We are investigating all of the issues that you have outlined, and you can be sure that we will be taking all action necessary to ensure that no guest has such a poor experience in the future. Thank you for your feedback; we sincerely appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa ca

Only place available on the holiday weekend

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: It was available and took dogs
Cons: Needs to be upgraded and cleaned better
Location: Close to beach and Monterey
One of the rooms was very dirty and in poor condition. We ended up crowding into the other room and using the dirty room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for spending the time required to leave your review. We are very disappointed to hear that one of your rooms was not spotlessly clean, and we wish that you had made us aware of this during your stay. We would have been happy to offer you an alternate. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you visit this area, we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by Bernie or Tre

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Motel needs a new vacuum cleaner. Looks like they are try to upgrade the property. Need to upgrade the cleaning staff. Cleanliness just ok. Would be better if they take the cleanliness to the next level.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very dirty smelly place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was clean, close, and convenient. It was a little over priced, but did the job. Thank you.