Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley, B.C. Canada

Nice place close to shopping.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed at this property. Close to a shopping mall and lots of food eateries. We were attending a tournament in the vicinity. Because we knew there would be no dishes we brought along a kettle, tea bags, instant coffee, coffee mugs and creamers. This facility is set up for long term stays but works very well for overnight visits. The breakfast is just take away energy bars but we take along our own little packets of porridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok hotel for the money

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: people were nice
Cons: lots to room. phone was disconnected. front door stuck. shower leaked. no dishes in kitchen. no room service because I stayed only 6 straight days???
Location: location was close to where I needed to be
room needed to be fixed. told staff about it and response was ok. no room service. no dishes for the kitchen wife was a little weak. breakfast was weak but coffee was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are happy to read your remarks about the staff. However, we are very sorry that we did not better explain the housekeeping policy and kitchen supplies. To ensure your experience is not repeated, going forward we will train the staff to ensure they hit on all the key points of our services. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Safe Travels,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Just a few cheap snacks for breakfast while supposed to have continental breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, ID

Discusting room & unbelievably poor management

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaning frequency, cleaning standards, staff training, and better management standards.
Location: In the heart of the Bellevue area, which presents several shopping and entertainment options.
I have traveled many times, and I have had my share of disappointing hotels, but this one topped it. I cannot express in words alone how bad this hotel is. I should expect a full refund for the condition of the room when I arrived. The check-in staff was good enough, but follow-up after check-in was nearly impossible. Simply requesting a receipt for my business expenses during check-out was met by a manager looking me straight in the eye and saying "alright then" and walking away! I had to wait another 20min for the front desk gal to tell me I couldn't get a receipt because I booked on Expedia. Look at the attached pictures and make the decision for yourself. Do you really want to travel here on business or with your family? Do you really want to risk your health and your sanity dealing with an indifferent staff and an unacceptable room? I sure know I won't be here ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. The cleanliness of your room you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I want you to know that we are working with our housekeeping team daily to improve in this area. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will help us with providing future guests with a great experience. We hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane

Very poorly run hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
My room looked like it was under construction. The stove was missing and wires were hanging out of the junction box. It had a very strong pet odor. There was not a bar of soap or garbage can in the room. The mattress was old and the sheets did not fit. Finally, the shower curtain was too short for the tub, so water kept getting on the floor. This was a budget hotel, but the staff was unfriendly and did not care at all about the poor room condition. The breakfast was a basket of costco breakfast bars and coffee, which of coarse was empty by 8:15 when I checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear your room was not in proper working order and that you did not receive the customer service you deserved. This situation will be addressed with our staff to make sure rooms are in the correct order and that the proper communication with guests is being maintained. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smelled so bad we left

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The room smelled so bad that we left and went to another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described regarding the smell of the room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not going back....

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Bedding wasn't even made in the first room offered and the second room was missing lot of kitchen items....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Never again.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The room was in disrepair and the bathroom was filthy with long black hair everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The situation you described regarding the condition of your room upon check in was truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will help us with providing future guests with a great experience. We hope you will give us a chance to make a better impression the next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bedroom TV ?

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
we love it but no TV in the bedroom I have never seen that befor but all and nice rooms :)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Overall 1.5 rating maybe 2.....

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Paid $306 for 3 nights which wasn't bad, during my stay I tried getting someone to contact me for a late check out extension 3 seperate occassions and no one ever called me back nor was anyone ever available to speak with at front desk that could help with my request. Wifi service needs some upgrading, the kitchen is a perk, comes in handy if needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Safe Travels, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize that we did not contact you during your stay. We are upgrading the wifi very soon. I hope you can give us another try in the future.