Ratings based on 1,830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent if you want to stay near the university.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Nice hotel and hospitality, but some staff need better training. The room was excellent, spacious and with a desk and 2 reading chairs. Missing was a light in the closet. Also, there was no shower cap in the bathroom, which was very inconvenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Outstanding hotel and staff, terrific stay. Will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Designhotel im Studentenviertel

Posted May 26, 2016
Hotelumgebung heruntergekommen Downtown nur mit Bus erreichbar Hotel selber gut, sehr nettes Café im Eingangsbereich mit sehr gutem Café Latte Hatten leider nur ein Zimmer im 7. OG mit Blick Richtung Parkplatz
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Run down hotel pretending to be historic

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: They let me check in a few hours early.
Cons: Many, many things. Simple things such as a coffee maker and hair dyer. More polite and helpful desk staff.
Location: Near Washington University, so lots of food and shopping around. Quiet neighborhood.
I was very disappointed with this hotel. I expected better service and more amenities for the price I paid. There was no hair dryer in the room and when I went to the front desk to ask for one, they waited 45 minutes before calling me and telling me they were all out. What?! How do you not have enough hair-dryers? Additionally, no coffee maker in the room. Don't even know where I could have gotten hot water for my tea. The closet in the room was bigger than the bathroom. To close the door in the bathroom, you practically had to stand in the tub. Luckily, I am a small person but I don't see how a normal size person could comfortably use that room. There was also no fan or anything in there. The heat in the room never really kicked on, we were cold most of the time. I never took off my sweatshirt. I get that it's an old hotel, but there are small things they could do that would make a big difference without altering what they are going for. Having the bathroom door swing outward or having an accordion door would make a big difference. If you don't want to put in a fan, put in a small air filter or dehumidifier or at least put air fresheners in there. We also were not given a 'Privacy' sign and when I asked for one at the desk, they said they would bring one up but never did. When we checked out, the guy at the desk didn't even ask how our stay was. I got the vibe from him that he didn't think we belonged there. I highly recommend NOT staying here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this Hotel

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Quaint, cute, close to UW
Cons: maintenance
Location: easily accessible to the UW campus lots of great places to see
I love this place, it's beautiful but this time I found things lacking. There was a vacuum cleaner left in the hallway for two days. I wanted to go down the stairs, I guess they were the backstairs, maybe the door should have been locked? What a mess. I couldn't get past the second floor. Our room was great, staff wonderful but housekeeping left a lot to be desired. safety issues too with vacuuming the lobby in the AM during checkout time and having cords out randomly on the floor. Don't get me wrong, I love the quaintness of this place but the housekeeping ( besides the room being nice and clean) has deteriorated over the past few years.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in the University District

Posted May 10, 2016
It was a nice hotel. The heater was shut off due to the summer conditions. It was need one evening when the outside temperature dropped.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey

リラックスの出来るホテル

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: バスルーム
Cons: 特に無し
Location: ダウンタウンタウンまで車で10分程。
ダウンタウンから車で10分程の位置にあり、観光、ビジネスの方におすすめです。館内も静かで、室内は清潔。特にバスルームの清掃がしっかりされており、気持ち良く浴槽に浸かる事が出来ゆっくりとくつろげるホテルでした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Spacious

Posted May 7, 2016
My wife, 20-something daughter and I stayed at the Deca for a 4-day visit to Seattle. It was less expensive than comparable downtown hotels, the savings way more than offsetting the $10 or $12 Uber fare to downtown. Besides, we wanted to see more Seattle neighbourhoods than just downtown, so planned our days to start or end nearer the hotel. Neighbourhoods of interest (besides the University District) included Freemont and Ballard. Both the lobby area and the room were very spacious, wifi worked well, beds and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but fine and clean. No dresser in our room for unpacking. Huge TV. The hotel itself is a little older but well maintained with important things updated (like the bathroom fixtures). Overall, not super luxurious, but very comfortable for the price. The cafe in the hotel seems popular, but for a full breakfast nearby, we highly recommend Portage Bay Cafe, a short walk away.
5 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visiting University of Washington

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: The location is very good.
Location: Very close to UW and the university main drag. Quite decent for the price.
Nothing exceptional, but the location is excellent, only a few blocks from UW campus. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. The view from the 7th floor was partially blocked by the UW tower but you don't go there for the view anyway. The coffee shop attached is fine too. Overall nothing bad about it. A simple solid reliable hotel in a good location with some funky decor (and free parking in a very busy area which helps too.) I did not try the restaurant on level B so I can't comment on that.