Ratings based on 1,371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Excellent character hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the staff that were very accommodating and helpful
Booked on line thru Expedia. 1st night had a room which was advertised as queen bed. Very small room and bed. I asked the next morning if possible to upgrade. Front desk staff was awesome in fulfilling request at reasonable upgrade rate. We found everyone front front destroy to bellmen to be extremely helpful, polite and generally interested in helping make our stay enjoyable. Although this hotel isn't new the character and ambiance was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
great location, close to everything. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Historical Hotel in a Great Seattle Location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful, historic hotel, with great architecture and a friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: You can and we did walk to Pike Street Market with its many opportuntiies.
The hotel is beautiful and historic. The staff was friendly and engaging, the services were excellent. The ability to walk to downtown Seattle is a plus. Our Serrento Suite was well appointed and lovely. No wonder scenes from "Sleepless in Seattle" were filmed here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Just stayed one night. The place is beautiful. Our room was very nice. The only issue was the bath tub plumbing was a little rickety. We had trouble pulling the knob to turn on the water, and were afraid to pull too hard because the fixture was loose. However, a maintenance person showed up quickly and showed us we just needed to pull harder. The staff was fantastic, providing excellent suggestions when we asked for dinner ideas. Everyone was very friendly and polite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful hotel. Very good location.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Ambiance.
Cons: Easier access to ice and make sure the drains in the bathtub work properly.
Location: Very cute pizza shop and Top Pot donuts nearby. Kinda far walk to downtown but I walked and it was doable.
My only complaint was that my bathtub drain did not work properly. I was only in the hotel for 2 days so did not complain. In all, I love the hotel. It was beautiful with a fantastic staff who were very helpful. My bed and room were very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MI

Nice hotel with a vintage, historical feel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Room was well cleaned and kept up. The whole hotel felt like walking into another era. Very beautiful decor and an overall very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Townsend, WA

A real gem

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: We cannot rave more highly about its staff!
We were having a procedure done at Swedish Hospital and looked for a hotel close by. What we found was one of the best gems of a hotel we've stayed in anywhere. The hotel is a beautiful combination of renovated modern amenities, while maintaining the feel of its vintage style. The staff was outstanding, the rooms fully equipped and comfortable. From the big things like the quality of the mattress, down to the small details like the french press with freshly ground coffee and real cream, everything you could want in a first class hotel. We loved it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Older hotel. Small rooms. One small elevator. Toilet kept running. Not too sure if I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lots of character. good capital hill location.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Character and location.
Cons: Hotel is a bit frayed around the edges.
Location: Lots of creative and funky restaurants in the capital hill area.
We did lots of walking and cycling around Seattle. The location was central to downtown, the waterfront and capital hill. Concierge and staff were friendly but not particularly knowledgeable about restaurants and other "unique " points of interest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Wonderful hotel, awful contract driver!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The staff was kind and thoughtful, the hotel was conveniently located and very, very clean. Loved it!
Cons: They should change transportation services.
Location: Starbuck's Reserve Roastery, Columbia Center, Waterfront, Seattle Trolley (Emerald City Trolley)
This is such a lovely, well-located hotel, within walking distance of the waterfront and all downtown venues. We loved it. The staff was outstanding and very attentive. Being an old, well-built hotel, with thick walls, we were not disturbed by other guests/noise. The only problem resulted from our initial search for a Seattle hotel with a free airport shuttle, since we did not want to rent a car. This hotel came up on our search, but, when I called to schedule the ride, I found that they no longer had a shuttle, but contracted with a local transport service. The desk clerk said that guests could ride with this service for $45. I said, does that cover both ways? She said yes, & transferred me to the concierge. The concierge said this service could fulfill our request, and that we would just have to call from the baggage area of the airport, where they would drive up to meet us upon arrival. He gave the name and # of the driver. I called the # given to me and the person (Alex) was very rude, demanding 'Who is this, what do you want'. When I told him, we got cut off (or he hung up?). Another person called (different #) and said he was the driver. Long story, short, we rode with the partner of the person we were supposed to ride with, and he complained about the US & sang the praises of Russia all the way to the hotel, then tried to charge $65 one way. The hotel was great and took care of the problem, but they should cancel their contract with Alex!