Ratings based on 1,375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Nice hotel with much character.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Charm, music offered in the lobby, Desk and valet staff
Cons: Heating/cooling units in room
Location: Hotel is located off Madison in Downtown Seattle. Within a few mile radius, you have access to see theaters, music, dining and Pike Place Market.
Stayed 9/24/16 for our anniversary. While this was a charming hotel (built around 1909), I felt it could have been better for the price ($292/night, plus $39 for parking). Had 2 heating/AC units in room, which did not work. Desk staff was very accommodating and sent up a space heater. Unfortunately, the unit kept clicking on and off the whole stay. Valet was helpful and had an easy-going personality. Stopped by at the Dunbar Room for dessert and beverage at 10:45p. There was one bartender/staff and 2 other patrons besides ourselves. Staff took quite a long time to take our order and seemed like he had other things on his mind. We felt as though we were somewhat of an inconvenience to him. Overall, it was nice to experience the character of this older hotel, but after staying at many others in the area, I would definitely seek other hotels for my next stay in Seattle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Hotel close to amenities

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Comfort and cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast included in stay
Location: Lots to do, space needle, pikes market, water front, harbour cruises, lots of restaurants, wings over Washington was great
Was walkable to most attractions, enjoyed the hotel was very comfortable, wish the dinner menu was a bit more selection. Would be nice if they had some specials on when the blue Jays come to town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Excellent character hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the staff that were very accommodating and helpful
Booked on line thru Expedia. 1st night had a room which was advertised as queen bed. Very small room and bed. I asked the next morning if possible to upgrade. Front desk staff was awesome in fulfilling request at reasonable upgrade rate. We found everyone front front destroy to bellmen to be extremely helpful, polite and generally interested in helping make our stay enjoyable. Although this hotel isn't new the character and ambiance was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
great location, close to everything. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Historical Hotel in a Great Seattle Location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful, historic hotel, with great architecture and a friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: You can and we did walk to Pike Street Market with its many opportuntiies.
The hotel is beautiful and historic. The staff was friendly and engaging, the services were excellent. The ability to walk to downtown Seattle is a plus. Our Serrento Suite was well appointed and lovely. No wonder scenes from "Sleepless in Seattle" were filmed here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Just stayed one night. The place is beautiful. Our room was very nice. The only issue was the bath tub plumbing was a little rickety. We had trouble pulling the knob to turn on the water, and were afraid to pull too hard because the fixture was loose. However, a maintenance person showed up quickly and showed us we just needed to pull harder. The staff was fantastic, providing excellent suggestions when we asked for dinner ideas. Everyone was very friendly and polite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful hotel. Very good location.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Ambiance.
Cons: Easier access to ice and make sure the drains in the bathtub work properly.
Location: Very cute pizza shop and Top Pot donuts nearby. Kinda far walk to downtown but I walked and it was doable.
My only complaint was that my bathtub drain did not work properly. I was only in the hotel for 2 days so did not complain. In all, I love the hotel. It was beautiful with a fantastic staff who were very helpful. My bed and room were very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MI

Nice hotel with a vintage, historical feel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Room was well cleaned and kept up. The whole hotel felt like walking into another era. Very beautiful decor and an overall very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Townsend, WA

A real gem

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: We cannot rave more highly about its staff!
We were having a procedure done at Swedish Hospital and looked for a hotel close by. What we found was one of the best gems of a hotel we've stayed in anywhere. The hotel is a beautiful combination of renovated modern amenities, while maintaining the feel of its vintage style. The staff was outstanding, the rooms fully equipped and comfortable. From the big things like the quality of the mattress, down to the small details like the french press with freshly ground coffee and real cream, everything you could want in a first class hotel. We loved it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Older hotel. Small rooms. One small elevator. Toilet kept running. Not too sure if I would recommend this hotel.