Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I was unaware it was shared bathrooms and showers. The bed was clean and comfortable and breakfast in the morning was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

European/Hostel Style Hotel Close to U of W

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: - Proximity to University and Transit - Inexpensive - Clean
Cons: - No Parking - Clean but dated interior
Checkin is performed by the cashier at the attached convenience store, and keys are traditional physical keys (no key cards here). The hotel itself has a locked front door, so you will be given two keys: One to the building and one to your room. The hotel is more similar to a typical hostel than a hotel. The rooms are clean, and include a sink but there are men's & women's shared bathrooms per floor. Breakfast is provided on the 4th floor, we were visiting on a weekend, but it was a lot more busy at 0800 on a Saturday than I would have expected. No parking is included, and there isn't really a convenient place to park nearby. Street parking is 2-4 hrs max during the day (depending on the street). Parking garages are limited to 10 hrs. Free overnight street parking (6PM to 8AM) is available directly in front of the hotel. This means you will need to move your vehicle at least two times a day, I moved into a garage at 8AM, then street parking 8-10 hrs later (4-6PM) paying for the last few minutes. Parking cost isn't a huge factor, unlike other cities, but the inconvenience of no commercial garages offering 24 hr parking means you need to work car movement into your daily schedule, if you don't plan on driving everywhere. Overall the hotel is a great value, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, if you can live with some of its "unique" qualities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

This was something diffeerent

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was helpful.
Cons: Offer to check the room prior to assigning one to see that everything works. Show guests where the lectrical outlets are for charging electronics.
Location: Location was fine. Easy access to buses and some interesting eateries.
I should have guessed this was going to be a place with the barest of amenities when I stepped into the mini-mart to check in . The pleasant gentleman at the counter gave me the keys to my "room" that was small ans cell-like. It had a bed, a chair, a sink and a lamp that did not work. But, I was too tired to ask for a replacement. The room was noisy and stuffy. Still, if you are traveling and don't care much about spending time in a room, and prefer to be outdoors and sightseeing, this place may be suitable. There is no elevator, so you carry you luggage up to the stairs to the floor where the room is located. I ended up here because most places in Seattle were booked due to the season. Still, if I had to do it over, I'd postpone my trip to a later date. I like to nap, enjoy the quiet and catch a second wind when I travel. Because of the size of the cell, I mean room, and the exterior noise, napping was out of the question. I did, however, enjoy the free breakfast on the fourth floor. But, watch your head because the community room is an attic and the slant of the roof offers some interesting turns. I must add that the College Inn looks like they cater to the foreign traveler and that might be because of its proximity to the UW campus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tri-Cities, WA

European style Inn in the heart of seattle

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Old, historic building. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfy beds. More like a B&B with bathrooms down the hall and no tv in the room. Be prepared for street parking and some stairs. For a working stay in the city it was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abi Saab

Clean your restroom, get good mattress

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I don't mind sharing restrooms as a last option hotel, but restrooms were not clean and I avoided using them. Also, the mattress was so old and completely uncomfortable. Hotel smelled old in an unpleasant way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Old with lots of character, but not maintained

Posted Jul 12, 2016
This is an old building. Right when you walk in, you'll notice that "old house smell" that you may have encountered at your great grandmother's house. If you can get over that though, this place really has a wonderful charm to it. The drawback is: it's not really well maintained. The staff members were friendly and helpful enough, but they don't have the appropriate facilities to store your bags if you arrive before check-in. I guess I should have called before assuming that. We hid them in the back of their storefront check-in desk with no guarantees that they wouldn't be stolen. The first thing I noticed in my room was a large black stain (ink from a pen?) on the white bed comforter, in plain view. There were some small bugs in the bathroom because the window was left open. The lock on my room's door appeared to be broken and it wouldn't close fully. It was a simple fix (replacing a screw in the striker plate) but was not addressed during my stay after notifying the staff. The bathrooms are communal and shared by the entire floor, but were actually kept clean during my stay. Nothing says "College" like showering next to a complete stranger. None of these factors really bothered me, but if they do, you may want to look elsewhere. All in all, this place is a cheap solution for staying near downtown. The rooms really could have a rustic charm if only the place were maintained a little better. I loved my stay but can't recommend without warning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel/Pension

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: I got a good nights sleep.
Cons: Bathrooms in the room.
Location: The location is convenient for the University of Washington.
If all you need is a bed, that's what you will be getting. The room and bed were clean but everything was "tired." The bathroom and shower were down the hall. It was quiet and provided a bed to sleep in but nothing more.
1 out of 5
by Bin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front room so a little noisy location is giid

Posted May 15, 2016
Avgoid place to stay for the money. Bath area very clean. Room is no frills but comfortable . Front room a little noisy but expected. I enjoyed my stay!