Ratings based on 954 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old time charm takes me back

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: I would recommend walking through Freeway Park since it is a couple blocks away and on the way to the convention center.
This hotel was built in 1931 so it has character like my grandmother's house with creaky floors and narrow doors. I loved it like your favorite bed and breakfast. It was quiet, smelled clean and fresh, had all the WIFI I needed. The staff let me use the phone because I lost mine at the airport. They explained how to get to my meeting by walking a scenic route through Freeway Park.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Older Hotel ,but affordable

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Older Hotel but adequate. Met our needs of affordability and cleanliness. 2 issues one should know before booking. The WiFi is horrible and the Hotel is located on the most steepest hill I have ever seen. Not close to anything, about 12 blocks of very steep incline to reach the waterfront, very difficult and exhausting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No parking, extra cost to park across street.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
No parking, you must park across the street and pay extra. You cannot move your car or you must pay again. Other parking further away. Very steep hills to climb if you walk anywhere. Hotel itself was nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

nice but old

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, helpful. Great location, food was good - pricey and served in a weird way - but good
Cons: It is definitely an old apartment building that was converted into a hotel. Nothing convenient in the parking of a vehicle.
Location: It is in downtown Seattle - great location tons of stuff to do
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Cons: Better description of minimalistic, but charming old hotel.
Terrible experience. No assistance with baggage (and several steps to maneuver), room had poor heating, exposed pipes, a lot of exterior noise, no mini-fridge and a very difficult bathtub to get out of. Front desk was lack luster, even though there were no other guests needing their assistance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location was pretty good.
Cons: See comment about bathroom above.
Location: The bar at the Sorrento Inn one block away is awesome....so is hotel. Madison Ave is a block away and a main thoroughfare and is convenient.
The beds were excellent. The bathroom in need of a makeover. One sloping narrow shelf to put cosmetics, etc. on. Didn't work. Nice little breakfast room and good food. Close to the Sorrento Inn where the bar is fabulous. Parking situation stinks but that's Seattle I guess. Was quiet during the night considering it was right next to Virginia Mason Hospital. Thought there might be a lot of sirens, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Odd but enjoyable

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly and comfortable, with a nice courtyard restaurant. Also, the most comfortable bath towels I've ever used.
Cons: Beds too small. Needs fitness room.
Location: Great location, convenient to both downtown and Capitol Hill - part of the Virginia Mason hospital complex.
To me, the Inn has a European feel to it - it's on the small side, tucked into the block. I had two single beds in my room, which surprised me, although maybe I just missed that feature when I booked it. The restaurant has a charming little courtyard area, and I had a very good dinner there. Not many amenities - no fitness room, for example. And parking is a block away, down a very steep hill, in a garage. I enjoyed staying there - it's very comfortable and down to earth.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australian

Convenient position close to transport

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Large room
Cons: There was a coffee maker in the room but for tea drinkers, this was useless as it produced coffee flavored water. Needs a small kettle, tea bags milk
Location: Very good. The bakery one street away was great
Also it is close to restaurants and other stores. It's near the hospital area which we thought might be a problem with noise from sirens, but we did not experience this. It has been a very swish apartment building in its time, but now is showing its age.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
We almost passed this hotel by because of its rating on Expedia, but we are glad we took the chance. While the hotel does not have all the amenities people have come to expect, this Inn was a charming surprise. The lobby area is lovely, there is a dining room and a quaint outdoor courtyard that was very peaceful and relaxing to have coffee in the morning. It was 90 degrees in Seattle the days we were at the Inn. There is no air conditioning, but the fans supplied by the Inn were enough to make it comfortable to sleep. We would recommend this Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

OK for the price

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Reasonable position near the centre of town.
Cons: Décor - dated! Facilities - a fridge would have helped.
Location: Walkable distance to downtown. Nothing much in the neighbourhood (apart from hospitals.)
The hotel was a bit old and needing tlc. However, it did the job - a one night stay before flying back to the UK.