Ratings based on 915 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ont

Old world character and charm

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Food was very good and beautifully presented. Charming little court yard. The 1920's building could use some paint but the room was clean and spacious. Walking is difficult due to steep hill and there is no A/C. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Able to walk down to PIKES Marketplace but a taxi was required for return due to hills.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good proximity to convention center

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: parking
Stayed at the Inn for a convention. Easy walk to/from the convention center, downtown, eateries, etc... Had trouble with WiFi, but technical support was friendly and fixed the issue. Friendly staff. Parking was difficult to find for nighttime arrival.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Certainly served our needs.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Good location for our next day's activities. It is an older facility, the room was in good condition, no musty smells, as others I have experienced.
Cons: better access to parking.
Location: Close to Westlake Shopping/Transportation Center. Parking is premium.
We arrived late and had to leave very early. The clerk was very kind and helpful. Our room certainly served our needs. The motel is nestled next to the Hospital, and there is some noise, but not enough to keep us returning. The bathroom was a little tight but in good condition. The TV worked which was a nice little diversion for the little time we had to listen. The Hotel was is a prime location for us to return our rental car and then reach our next event.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Loreto

Hotel economico

Posted Aug 14, 2016
E'un hotel economico per i prezzi che girano aSeattle; E' situato in un edificio adiacente l'ospedale cittadino (il Virginia Hospital). Non e' lontano dal centro ma per arrivarvi c'e' da fare una serie di salite molto ripide.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel for two nights prior to cruise!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Room 713, small, old, dirty. Food was good. Parking was terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

The Inn at Virginia Mason. A realistic assessment.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Close to cruise ship docks. Close to the water front eating areas. I different, historic hotel experience.
Cons: The entrance needs better access. Some type of AC needs to be installed in rooms. The front desk staff needs to be fired and replaced with better.
Location: Water front eating places were good.
OK...here's the deal. It's a classic old hotel attached to the Virginia Mason hospital, near the waterfront and cruise ship ports. First impression was not what I expected, but..... on second look and after getting settled, we realized that we might be in for a treat. No.... it's not your ultra modern hotel with all the latest amenities. The elevator is old, and small, like the rooms, but clean and a throwback to the 1930's and 40's. Once we got over the initial shock...we fell in love with the place. It's a piece of living history, comfortable, art deco, stained glass, friendly restaurant staff, easy access to taxi service and close to the cruise ship docks. It was a bit more expensive that we were used to, but compared the surrounding "sky high" priced hotels, it was just fine. The entrance has a lot of stairs and someone in a wheelchair it might be an issue. Over all......we would choose it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Good location older hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016
My wife and I like to stay at non franchise hotels. These usually include older hotels with great character. The Virginia Mason is just that. The staff were all great! The restaurant in the lobby was great too. The views from the roof are amazing. The bed was comfortable and the closet would be big enough for a nursery! The cons: Our view from our window faces patients windows in the hospital next door. The bathroom was showing its age and didn't ventilate very well. We were able to walk to the coast, all downhill. $7 Uber back. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Brief stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Due to a delayed ferry from Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, we only were at the hotel for 6 hours- long enough to show and sleep before leaving at 7 AM the following day. It was a large, clean, and comfortable room. I am unable to add any info about the neighborhood or hotel facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Very good location. Good value for money. Old but clean. Nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price for location. Walkable to pike place.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Beds were clean. Room and hotel and bathrooms are very old and in desperate need of renovations. You can hear everything going on in the hallways. Staff are just ok. Seemed surprised when we asked basic questions.