Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

A beautiful place to call Home while in Sedona

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Amazingly decorated room; everything comfortable and cozy. Private.
Cons: Fresh flowers in dining room
Location: Location is west-side, but close to uptown and has beautiful views outside. Location is away from main streets; feels more like a residence.
A perfect place to stay in Sedona. Home away from home with tasteful art themes and upscale decor. Loved the amenities and breakfast is quite tasty. Nice and private. Highly recommended to friends and family. We would absolutely stay here again and be excited about our return to Sunset Chateau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Magical Wedding Anniversary

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Beautiful views, amazing room and serene grounds. Take the time to enjoy the jacuzzi with fire place and swing away with your love in oversized hammock. Hiking trails start at the Chateau's door step!!!! Simply romantic and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth every penny

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: nearby hiking trails, luxurious accommodations, nearby shopping,
Cons: Expedia needs to be clear as to what is really being billed during the booking process.
Location: Shops, eateries, trails to hike, spas, etc.
Do not bother booking a hotel anywhere else in the area! For the price you pay you receive a room that is more like an luxurious apartment than a hotel room. Our room included a jacuzzi tub, walk in shower, mini fridge, stove top, fireplace, microwave, and more. Not only that you wake up each morning to spectacular views of Sedona because the the hotel is located at an incline, and the location is close to everything...great eateries, shops, etc. The complimentary breakfast is also unmatched...they offer cereal, granola, coffee, juice, and on top of that they offer cooked main entrees that are different each morning...those were TRULY delicious! Not only that, the family who owns the hotel are truly wonderful people who really care about giving their guests great experiences. FYI the booking process was not explained well by Expedia. The billing was confusing on Expedia's part and made it appear that we paid for our stay in full. In fact, Expedia reserved our stay, but only the first night was paid for. The remainder of our stay needed to be paid directly in person at the hotel when we arrived. After the confusion was cleared up we had a fantastic trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Nice place and nice views!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
This is a really nice and private hotel, I loved the way the pool is always open 24 hours a day. Owner is really nice, greeted us during breakfast to make sure we were having a great experience and even walked us over to a trail to walk that morning. We went with our daughter and she loved it but now my wife wants to come back alone for a romantic getaway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
We had an awesome time here. The staff was very accommodating and the room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Stay at Sunset Chateau

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, great views, great rooms, quiet and easy access everywhere
Cons: so many pillows and sheets on bed I felt bad making housekeeping re-do it. I don't know. No complaints
Location: Airport loop trail steps away from hotel. Easy access down to 89a and all restaurants and shops. Major parks minutes away
Really enjoyed my stay at Sunset Chateau. Rooms were big and spacious.Had a great big bed and a murphy bed in the living area. Views from balcony were spectacular. Small local owned spot, I arrived at midnight and they had the envelope for me on the door with room key and info. Breakfast they offered was great and changed daily. Everything you see on their website is EXACTLY what you get. Also location is nice and quiet with easy access to everything. Red Rock State park only 15 minute drive away. Trails even located right across the hotel. Sunset trail takes you right to the airport loop trail and airport vortex. I'd highly recommend this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful environment with breathtaking views

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, very clean, gorgeous surroundings, beautifully decorated rooms!
Very quiet surroundings away from all major traffic areas... We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fountain Hills, AZ

The ultimate getaway destination in Sedona

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Everything...and more...
Cons: One million dollars in every room :)
Location: The location is walking distance from a great trailhead but far enough from the noise and craziness of the Hwy 89A.
I've lived in Arizona for over ten years and couldn't count the number of times I've spent getaway weekends and holidays in Sedona. Needless to say, my wife and I have tried a majority of the top ten rated hotels there but consider only one of them our second home in Sedona....A Sunset Chateau. We just love everything about it...each unique and gorgeous room artfully decorated to perfection, the beautiful and serene public areas, the free breakfast that has never failed to deliver with individually-prepared delicious dishes, and the top-notch customer service that makes you feel like a part of their small family..most of whom we've chatted with at one time or another. Very nice and authentic people. We just got back from spending my 50th birthday there over the weekend and it couldn't have gone any better. Just to add cherry to a perfect sundae, I was given a totally unexpected birthday gift by Sally and Jean-Christophe (son and daughter-in-law of Philippe and Janet) . I won't say what it was but I just want to let them know that my wife and I really appreciate your kindness. Thanks for everything and we look forward to seeing you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accomodations are wonderful

Posted Aug 7, 2016
I wished I could of stayed longer. The views were beautiful and the grounds were quaint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Incredible view!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The room was very nice and comfortable. The view from the patio was incredible. There was a nice breakfast included. Parking lot was just steps from our room. The owners and staff were helpful and nice.