Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bugs and odor

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The room was full of tiny bugs on the table, dressers and in the bed. The bathroom had an odor of urine, because of grout under toilet which wasn't sealed, there were no towels at the hot tub. The staff was very good, but you need to clean the place up, especially for,the prices you charge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Great location, beautiful view, best amenities

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Very clean, modern, and service oriented. Best Heuvos Rancheros we've EVER had too.
Location: great shops within walking distance, not too far from great restaurants. Amazing onsite spa. great service and yoga classes.
Great location and an amazing staff. The amenities were also a great added feature: free valet parking, wine reception, coffee in the AM, free local shuttle, and free yoga classes in the AM, all really made our stay a happy one. We will certainly plan on coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Maybe you have the Huevos Rancheros confused with the Breakfast Burrito? I kid, I kid...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Amazing

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We loved the Amara Resort. Everything was perfect, we got a room upgrade once checking in and had a lovely patio view. The patio was our favorite place to hang out and relax. There were couches, fire pits, great pool and the creek behind the hotel was beautiful as well as the red rock backdrop behind the patio/pool. Highly recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you, Kendal! So glad to hear that your stay was awesome. We hope to welcome you back again the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Very close to shops and restaurants wonderful hotel with a beautiful setting I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
We appreciate the great review, Gloria! Really happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great pet friendly resort option

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Staff, rooms, pet friendly, location
Cons: Spa facilities are basic, and the steam room in the mens side was not working when we were there.
Location: Close to the center of town. Hiking and mountain biking are nearby, but do require you to leave the property and drive a few miles to get to trails.
The location is right in the middle of town, which is handy for being able to walk to things, but can make it a bit of a hassle to get in/out while you are there due to traffic right in front of the entry road on weekends. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, and made our stay really nice. They are a very pet friendly hotel, and as a result you see a lot of people staying there with their dogs. The spa facilities are quite minimal, but the massage therapists we had were quite good. The restaurant is good, although there is only one on the property, so you get tired of the menu if you are staying for several days. That said, there are other good dining options in town, and the shuttle at Amara makes it easy to get around. Overall, this is a very good choice, and offers very good customer service with basic resort amenities in a beautiful creekside location, and at a fair price. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you, Ruben! I'm very sorry about the steam room being down... While sometimes unavoidable, it is always frustrating when a maintenance issue causes an inconvenience to our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Staff was terrific! Location is good for uptown shopping.
Cons: The property was "tired" -- looks like they have been trying to freshen it up but missed some of the details. For example, in our room, some holes in the walls were patched but not painted --was clearly not a "look."
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Bummer! Well, we are always trying to keep our property looking fresh... but it sounds like we are missing the mark in a couple of areas. Thank you for the comments - We will share this will our engineering team to make sure they are on top of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Wine on the house from 5 to 6 pm. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Pool/wifi disappointing.Outdoor restaurant tables for guests ordering food.Guests cannot use to enjoy wine which is on the house when most were unused
Location: Beautiful area. Great for hiking.
Very helpful staff. Nice room (#102) but faced outdoor restaurant so no privacy. Forced to keep curtains closed entire time. Wonder if better rooms assigned to guests booking directlty as opposed to agent/expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Our entire WiFi system is currently being upgraded... I sincerely apologize for any issues you may have had getting online. Just one note on the room - We never assign accommodations based on booking agents. Please feel free to reach out prior to any future visit. I'd love to ensure that your room is just as you'd like it! Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Gorgeous views and contemporary yet cozy feel!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
We love this Resort and everything it entails! Amazing employee Ross that sent us a bottle of wine to our room upon our return! He remembered us and surprised us with such a thoughtful gesture!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great feedback, Krystal! Ross was very happy to see your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Came here for a girls weekend. It was our first time in Sedona and I would not stay anywhere else. Stayed 3 nights.Location was perfect!!! In walking distance to all shops, short driving distance to everything else, and the shuttle service was very convenient if you didn't want to drive your own car. Spa was amazing, staff was AMAZING from the concierge to the valet attendants. Beds were extreme comfortable and rooms were very pretty.The view from the restaurant and the outdoor area is breathtaking. The salt rock restaurant was fantastic some of the best fresh cocktails I ever had, they have mixologists not just bartenders and the food was incredible. We WILL be back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
So happy to hear that your girl's weekend was a success! We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amara Spa & Resort

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, view, nightly wine/hors d'oeurves offering. On-site restaurant was pretty good. Staff was friendly, good service.
Cons: Slow-draining bath tub/shower.
The resort and spa were wonderful. The only problem encountered was that the bathtub/shower would not drain. That was troublesome. It took about 15 minutes to drain. Hard to understand how housekeeping would not have noticed this when cleaning between guest stays. Concierge service was always offered and with one exception, excellent. A dinner reservation and transportation was arranged at the front desk upon arrival, but in the end didn't come through.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, Maria! Very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the shower in your room. Certainly something that should have been caught by our team... We hope to welcome you back again in the future.