Ratings based on 1,900 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Very close to shops and restaurants wonderful hotel with a beautiful setting I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great pet friendly resort option

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Staff, rooms, pet friendly, location
Cons: Spa facilities are basic, and the steam room in the mens side was not working when we were there.
Location: Close to the center of town. Hiking and mountain biking are nearby, but do require you to leave the property and drive a few miles to get to trails.
The location is right in the middle of town, which is handy for being able to walk to things, but can make it a bit of a hassle to get in/out while you are there due to traffic right in front of the entry road on weekends. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, and made our stay really nice. They are a very pet friendly hotel, and as a result you see a lot of people staying there with their dogs. The spa facilities are quite minimal, but the massage therapists we had were quite good. The restaurant is good, although there is only one on the property, so you get tired of the menu if you are staying for several days. That said, there are other good dining options in town, and the shuttle at Amara makes it easy to get around. Overall, this is a very good choice, and offers very good customer service with basic resort amenities in a beautiful creekside location, and at a fair price. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you, Ruben! I'm very sorry about the steam room being down... While sometimes unavoidable, it is always frustrating when a maintenance issue causes an inconvenience to our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Staff was terrific! Location is good for uptown shopping.
Cons: The property was "tired" -- looks like they have been trying to freshen it up but missed some of the details. For example, in our room, some holes in the walls were patched but not painted --was clearly not a "look."
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Bummer! Well, we are always trying to keep our property looking fresh... but it sounds like we are missing the mark in a couple of areas. Thank you for the comments - We will share this will our engineering team to make sure they are on top of it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Wine on the house from 5 to 6 pm. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Pool/wifi disappointing.Outdoor restaurant tables for guests ordering food.Guests cannot use to enjoy wine which is on the house when most were unused
Location: Beautiful area. Great for hiking.
Very helpful staff. Nice room (#102) but faced outdoor restaurant so no privacy. Forced to keep curtains closed entire time. Wonder if better rooms assigned to guests booking directlty as opposed to agent/expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Our entire WiFi system is currently being upgraded... I sincerely apologize for any issues you may have had getting online. Just one note on the room - We never assign accommodations based on booking agents. Please feel free to reach out prior to any future visit. I'd love to ensure that your room is just as you'd like it! Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Gorgeous views and contemporary yet cozy feel!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
We love this Resort and everything it entails! Amazing employee Ross that sent us a bottle of wine to our room upon our return! He remembered us and surprised us with such a thoughtful gesture!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great feedback, Krystal! Ross was very happy to see your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Came here for a girls weekend. It was our first time in Sedona and I would not stay anywhere else. Stayed 3 nights.Location was perfect!!! In walking distance to all shops, short driving distance to everything else, and the shuttle service was very convenient if you didn't want to drive your own car. Spa was amazing, staff was AMAZING from the concierge to the valet attendants. Beds were extreme comfortable and rooms were very pretty.The view from the restaurant and the outdoor area is breathtaking. The salt rock restaurant was fantastic some of the best fresh cocktails I ever had, they have mixologists not just bartenders and the food was incredible. We WILL be back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
So happy to hear that your girl's weekend was a success! We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amara Spa & Resort

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, view, nightly wine/hors d'oeurves offering. On-site restaurant was pretty good. Staff was friendly, good service.
Cons: Slow-draining bath tub/shower.
The resort and spa were wonderful. The only problem encountered was that the bathtub/shower would not drain. That was troublesome. It took about 15 minutes to drain. Hard to understand how housekeeping would not have noticed this when cleaning between guest stays. Concierge service was always offered and with one exception, excellent. A dinner reservation and transportation was arranged at the front desk upon arrival, but in the end didn't come through.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, Maria! Very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the shower in your room. Certainly something that should have been caught by our team... We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The shower wasn't as nice as it could be and the resort fee is 30$ but the property and views are beautiful, great place to stay. Very good hotel staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nod to our service staff, Luke. We appreciate the feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overpriced

Posted Oct 18, 2016
I was very disappointed in this hotel. First of all, this was the only hotel in our 2 week stay in Arizona that did not have complimentary wi fi. You had to be a Kimpton member, or it was an extra charge, on top of a 'resort fee'. On top of that, even though I had booked this room months in advance, they put me in a room next to the elevator, so we got to listen to it go up and down all night. Also the room opened out onto the outdoor part of their restaurant (as several other rooms did) so if you did not keep your shades drawn all the diners could look directly into your room. So much for any views of beautiful Sedona
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some information regarding your stay. I am disappointed that the room location did not meet your expectations. We try our best to accommodate our guests' as best we can... I am very sorry that we were unable to relocate you to a room that better fit your needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This location would be fantastic for a true resort

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Sedona is gorgeous, and has much to offer visitors of every type.
When we first arrived we were treated like royalty, until it was revealed that the room we had reserved to accommodate three adults only had one bed. That's when the blame game started, and the process with your booking system was not only in question, but we were second class citizens for using you to secure our stay at this "Resort" billed venue. I offered to pay more for the proper arrangements. We were offered a room with two beds the second night that never transpired. We tried two days in a row to arrange spa sessions with no success because of their limited staffing. Like wise their yoga classes are unrealistically inaccessible limited to just 8-9 participants during their outside morning hours only gatherings. We had a barking dog contest down the hall from our room until just after 1:00 am the first night. I finally identified the constant cyclical metallic vibrating noise that came from the glass skirting around the entry lighting by the thermostat that was caused by the vibration on that wall by something during the night. The Management sponsored wine hour was so terrible, we thought we might be on some hidden camera comedy show. Instead of their advertised accompaniment of cheeses, they had tuna tartar served on a potato chip. The seating area that was beneath the main water effects was only enough for 9 people, and one of their two fire pits that can seat a maximum of four were of course nonfunctional. This stay will be long remembered for all the wrong reasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad that we have been able to connect by phone and learn more about your experience.