Ratings based on 1,684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
This hotel was awesome. Great location, friendly staff and beautiful views!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Feb 9, 2016
I can't wait to go back there it was a great trip
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Did not live up to expectation

Posted Feb 9, 2016
This was not a 4 star experience by any stretch. The uptown location, red rock views and modern decor should have made for a great one night stay, but we were repeatedly disappointed. We discovered a rip in the decorative pillow on the bed upon settling into the room, which was replaced after a phone call. The internet and cable both went in and out sporadically in our room throughout the evening. No coffeemaker in the room. The shops in Sedona are up a steep hill from the resort and are not really walkable, although a shuttle is provided on request. The worst part was the presence of a brown stain on the sheet of my bed, discovered the next morning when i pulled back the sheets on the other side of the bed. Repulsive. In retrospect, we dont think the sheets or pillowcases had actually been changed from the last occupant. I expressed my concerns at checkout showed a picture of the stain, and they cancelled the $35 resort fee, but said they could not do anything else since i made the reservation on expedia. I would not take a chance on this resort. Room design and friendly staff were positives, but cleanliness and customer service were inadequate, and I felt both cheated and nauseous on departure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Want to tuck away in Sedona?

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The Amara Resort is located down in a valley in Sedona with not many scenic views from most rooms. The dining room and pool area have a lovely view of one of the iconic red rock mountains. The hotel photo on their website seems a bit deceptive to me since the wonderful view couldn't be enjoyed from most rooms. BUT.. the staff were great - always hustling to give help and assistance - and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Free water, coffee, tea and wine were available at certain times of the day giving a nice touch of "extras" to the place. We only had breakfasts there; no lunches or dinners. To be honest we never used the spa so we didn't get the full feel of Amara Resort. During the days we were there, young people in their 20's and 30's seemed to be in the majority. I'm glad we experienced the resort and would recommend it but if I were to return to Sedona, I'd check for another hotel next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Perfect Visit

Posted Feb 8, 2016
After staying for the weekend, we left completely happy and satisfied with our stay. Everyone was very accommodating and the restaurant/room service was delicious. Mini bar items and on demand movie rentals were somewhat pricier than I would've liked to have paid, but weren't surprising for the resort. They also had nice bonuses like a wine and snack hour in the evening and a coffee and tea bar in the morning. The next time we're in the area, we'll be staying at the Amara again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little Gem

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Perfect boutique hotel nestled amongst the red rocks with an easy walk to uptown Sedona. The staff went above beyond to make you feel special. Great food at Salt Rock and hot tub was just riggt after a day's hike. Definitely recommend and will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2016
A nice funky modern comfortable place! Staff were really excellent, helpful and friendly. Location in the heart of things, walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel I'd recommend it

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Great overall experience, food was great, staff was very friendly. Will definitely stay there again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

This Hotel is in a Deep Ravine

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It's in Sedona
Cons: Everything
Location: It sets in a major ravine. If you don't mind hiking up a steep grade (no lights at night) then you will find you are close to the shops + restaurants.
The best thing I can say about this hotel is that it's in Sedona. The staff is friendly and helpful, but the compliments stop there. The rooms are average at best, lacking in the amenities one would expect in a 4 star hotel. The location sucks, as the hotel sets in a deep ravine. For the outrageous $27 daily resort fee (on top of already over-priced room rates) you receive (forced) valet parking, a complimentary cup of coffee in the morning (no breakfast food of any kind) and wi-fi that doesn't work. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Dog friendly resort with modern decor.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
We only stayed one night but it was wonderful. Staff were nice, the hotel was well kept and clean.