Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

It feels like Camping - but better!!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: I loved the land and view from every spot on the property. Adored staying here! Thank you so much!!
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: It is nicely located near shopping and food.
The Red Agave is a GEM of a place. The rooms (I rented a studio room) and chalets are clean and beautiful. Each place has all the comforts of home with a well stocked kitchen. It was fantastic to have the kitchen for cooking, as it saves time and money from going out to eat. The BEST PART is sitting by the fire pit every night and visiting with the other folks staying there. It felt like camping...only MUCH BETTER!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

No real resort!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
1950's vintage motel. Looked fun for large families with children. Did have a swimming pool and fire pit. Camp ground quality. Not resort quality. Great view, but definitely would not stay there again! The management asked us to put our trash in the dumpster on the way out!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best views in the area

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The room was very comfortable, a small efficiency was all we needed.
Cons: They need to inventory the utensil as there wasn’t a complete set.
Location: Tons of hiking and biking trails
Beautiful quiet location, sunrise and sunset couldn't be more beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent older chalets close to trails

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Our room at Red Agave was maybe 50 feet to the mountain bike trail. Since we came to Sedona to mountain bike, this is a huge plus. No loading, driving, parking needed. Just get on your bike and go. The place is very chill and it looks like others were relaxing and having a good time. The only negatives I have are pet related. We had a neighbor with a yippy dog that barked incessantly. And our room still had some dog hair left throughout. My wife swept and got a small pile of hair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westford, MA

Comfortable stay, beautiful scenery

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: It was located close to restaurants and a grocery store, yet right outside were trail heads for hiking.
Cons: The lighting was quite dim, increasing the brightness of the light bulbs would be a real help.
Location: We did a couple of days of hiking right there nearby. We drove 2.25 hrs to the Grand Canyon and hiked down into the canyon one day.
We arrived on a dark cloudy evening. When we awoke we were blown away by the view out of our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Red Rock Beauty

Posted Jan 19, 2017
OK... you can't beat the setting. We loved it. Red Rocks from the hot tub... from our sliding glass door... Daytime... Sunset... All lovely. But we couldn't help but feel like we were under scrutiny somehow. The check in was full of rules. Wash the dishes. Take out the garbage. We lock the pool at 10. They wouldn't let us in a minute before 3 pm, even thought the place was empty and I was eager to get out on my bike. We asked for a lunch recommendation, walked 1.5 miles to get there, and it was "closed until further notice..." Rooms are dated but well maintained. Time for a new mattress. Don't hide the coffee pot in the tv stand. Add a more convenient outlet for it while you're at it. I had to beg to get an 11:30 checkout... even though the place was empty and I wanted to shower after a morning bike. So my advice to the management is to be more accommodating when you are able, and relax a little. I'm 60 years old and I'm not going to trash your room. Promise :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Would definitely come back to Red Agave!

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location! The fact that it's at the start of the trail head surrounded by amazing red rock is a winner.
Cons: Eventually amenities in the rooms would need updating (oven etc) but not really a big deal.
Location: As above you can head off on so many different trails right from your door to hike or mountain bike. Oak Creek is really peaceful and relaxing.
Loved the location, incredible scenery to wake up to and so easy to access the trails. Everyone I spoke to was super helpful and accommodating with anything I asked and went out of their way to drop me off at a breakfast place, book me tours and dinner reservations. Giving out little s'mores packs to have over the communal fire pit was a cute touch and a great way to meet other people staying at Red Agave. The room was really comfortable and cosy and all I needed for 3 nights stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Abby I am so glad you had a fun time on your vacation. Was a pleasure having you here! ~Tracy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great location! Old rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on this property we love! We strive to make the Red Agave Resort a beautiful place to visit. ~Tracy @ Red Agave Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Love the view. The hotel staff are very friendly.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The view is amazing and the room has all amenities.
Location: The resort has trails near it if you want to drive to one. Walking distance to good restaurants. 15min from the town if you want to do tourist stuff.
Love the view from the room. It has many trails near the resort. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodated me and my husband 2 hrs early before check in since we were so exhausted from the trip. Love the amenities. Got a special attachment to Sedona but this resort just added the extra fun to the trip. Walking distance to an awesome Thai restaurant was a great perk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Good Time

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place. Quiet and peaceful. I wouldn't call it a resort, but we did have an enjoyable stay.