Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cons: did not get any maid service
Location: centrally located to everything we wanted to see.
Clean rooms, friendly staff. Close to all attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Pool, Relaxing Stay

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Kids really enjoyed the huge pool. Room was very clean, even though a bit outdated. Breakfast was very limited, but otherwise stay was good. Relaxed by the pool well into the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Days Inn- good for the money and a quick stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Pros: People are friendly and rooms are clean. Beds are comfy and food is good. Good for a quick stay for the night. No major complaints.
Cons: Some water damage on the ceiling; could be looked into. Some of the ceiling plaster was missing as well. Toilet flushed well but ran a little slowly.
Location: An Ihop is across the street and there are small shops in San Marcos. Quiet place with no major issues.
My husband and I went to Seguin to visit family and chose Days Inn for the rates. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay; everyone was very friendly and polite and we had no major complaints. The pool was pleasant and we quite enjoyed ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay & Business we hope to see your soon
2 out of 5
by Patti

FAR from a 3 star

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is FAR from a 3 star. More like a 1- 2 star. Dirty room and lobby. Needs to be updated. Front desk lady was rude
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest , We are sorry for not meeting your expectation. We are 3 star based on satisfaction rating for price you pay. Please contact hotel management for more details as we are unable to pull any of your stay information based on your information in this review. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sorry it was a late check in everything was fast

Posted May 14, 2017
Everything was nice but I was so tired went right to bed and out early the next day
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We hope to see you soon.
3 out of 5
by Timothy D

tdl in Seguin

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
fair hotel for the price. I do not use my room except for sleeping, so it was good for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. we are glad that you likes your stay and wish that if you would let us know more about what would make your satisfaction rating go 5 out 5. Lot of guest don't realize that its not a star/diamond rating for Hotel its about your satisfaction level for amount you paid at that hotel. Thank you
2 out of 5
by kay from austin

rude front desk

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
book the room at cost more with a pool View and got a view facing a concrete wall. call the front desk and told him I paid extra for a pool view and the front desk guy was like it close to the pool that's what a pool view mean and i said no a view mean you should be able to see it. but he was being a jerk so I hung up and called hotel.com and they gave me credit for the hotel's mistake and hotel.com took down there false advertisement pool View. THANK YOU HOTEL. COM
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest , We apologize for your confusion. We have no extra charge for pool facing room. You had ask us to change your room 2 hours after checking in to your room , since all our house keeper had already left for the day we can not have you use 2nd room as 1st room would need housekeeping again. I wish you would have told as as soon as you were checked into room with out using anything in 1st room, we would have been glad to change it. Also we have only limited (2) smoking rooms which faces pool so its not always possible if those rooms are preoccupied. I hope your enjoyed other parts of our service and we hope to see you again. Thanks
3 out of 5
by michael

Average side of the road place.

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is old. Needs renovation. Toilet did not flush right. Had to hold handle down to get it to flush. Bugs in the bathroom. Breakfast was OK. Room was cramped. A table and 2 chairs are squeezed in the room and are so close to the bed they are virtually unusable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We offer variety of different types of room based on your need and cost you want to pay. Our smallest room is about 220 sq ft which is designed for 1 person with 1 queen bed and table and chairs ..most affordable. We also offer 2 queen suite with pull out couch which is 360 sq ft more spacious but more expensive side. We apologize that you ended up choosing room which was more affordable but not right fit to your need. Please give us chance next time when you are in this area and we will be glad to find you room which fits your need at price you can not beat...Thank you.
4 out of 5
by BONNIE

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to rate us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by chantel

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Paid for a king room with sofa bed and was put in wrong room then had $100 hold placed on my card.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry for confusion and inconvenience , I will check into your reservation to see why what it not the same room type as you reserved. $100 Hold is only temporary for incidental charges especially if you paid cash for your room cost. I hope you enjoyed rest of your stay and will see you in future again. Thank you