Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Convenient, a certain charm...but very bad Wi-Fi

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The bathtub! It's a luxury in European hotels these days.
Cons: Really need to do something about the Wi-Fi or else stop promising "free Internet." Seriously.
This hotel is on a pedestrian-only street on the edge of the center of Rouen. There are good restaurants right down the street. The nearest parking was a public garage about five minutes' walk away...a problem if you're carrying too much. It's an older hotel with no elevator/lift. The room was clean and nicely decorated, and had the only bathtub I saw on my two-week trip, which was nice (I'm a bath person rather than a shower person) and soothing. The biggest drawback was the Wi-Fi: I could connect but it was so weak that the Internet connection was either extremely slow or non-existent. In 2016, I think decent Wi-Fi is something we should be able to expect (particularly if a listing actually promises "free Internet"); it matters for things like making your next reservation. I mentioned it to the man who seemed to be the manager/owner, but I'd describe his reaction as politely uninterested. (By the way, I do speak French well, and this conversation was in French, so no one should assume there was a language barrier.) Also, one of the two nights, between street noise that ran well into the night and a construction site very close by that started work bright and early, I didn't get as much sleep as I'd have liked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by vincent, Hotel Management
Bonjour, we thank you for your comment. With just 3 rooms per floor I'm surprised you didn't saw the lift.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from strasbourg

Very friendly and nice woman

Posted Dec 20, 2015
The woman working there is so nice that it made all the difference for me. The hotel was immaculately clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by vincent, Hotel Management
thank you and hope to see you agaiin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to old market area in Rouen.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
We were a 2-minute walk to the old market area (and the site of Joan of Arc's martyrdom), and about 10 minutes to the beautiful cathedral. Good-sized room with great water pressure. Proprietor makes his own calvados!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Needs a lot of cleaning, redecpration and modernising. Seemed to be run by just one person who was good but needed help to address these problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

good location, pretty room

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location
room had double glazing that did not stop the two nights of noise in the street coming from a bar not far down the street. Not the hotels fault, but very annoying. Hotel staff were accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Superb. Staff were excellent and the hotel lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Perfect location in Rouen

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Nicely decorated room, comfortable bed, and great reception!
Location: We walked easily to the Horloge, the Musee des Beaux Arts, to the vieux marche and to lots of nice shops and good restaurants.
Great location, and the staff were knowledgeable and friendly and always helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location, friendly helpful staff

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Reception wasn't staffed when I arrived but a simple effective alternative had been put in place. Friendly staff. Nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from NZ

Great location in Rouen

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location, quietness and unpretentious.
Location: Five minute from old market, 15 from the cathedral. Restaurants galore and wonderful old half timbered houses everywhere.
Well located, 15min walk from Gare Rive Droit. We were given early access to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel very close to the central square restaurants

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The owner and location.
Cons: Remodeling if the economy improves.
Location: Easy, picturesque walk thru the half-timber architecture shopping district to the cathedral. Only 2 minutes walk to the central square.
Hotel Dandy is close to most of the best restaurants and bars, and the area with the most historic architecture. The owner is especially friendly and spent time chatting with us. The price was fantastic as well. The interior is a bit dated but the rooms are nice and bathroom was large and updated. Overall the location and friendliness of the owner made this experience very good.