Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for 1-2 Days

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Clean and a nic breakfast buffet
Location: RTher long walk to city center
Hotel was comfortable and clean, just off the beaten track but still with reasonable distance from downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location and ease of access
Great situation, parking under hotel 0.50c per hour, safe and secure. Easy to walk into the old town. Our room was at the back of hotel overlooking gardens, very quiet and peaceful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Trip to Rouen

Posted Sep 7, 2016
When we finally arrived at the hotel due to the Sat Nav sending us somewhere else, all we wanted to do was finally check in... well thats what we thought would be easy because I had already pre-booked and paid for it. The receptionist greeted us and when I handed over our booking form, she then informed us after taping several times and tutting at the screen that I had cancelled my booking!! why would I cancel my booking I said if I had already paid for it?? but she was adamant that it had been cancelled on the same day I booked - the strange thing though she said was that they did have the payment.. it took nearly half an hour to eventually check in, to which at one point I thought she was going to make me pay again. I was not very happy with the way expedia had booked us but then the hotel staff told me that it was in fact expedia who had cancelled our booking. Lucky for me though and my family they did have a room available because it was actually late when we eventually managed to get to our room and all we wanted to do by now was check in. I didn't even manage to experience the facilities of the hotel and it was this reason I had booked this particular hotel. It spoilt the start of the holiday
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Conveniently located hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The convenient location and the room cleanliness.
Cons: I refer to our experience at the hotel.
Location: It is a short walk to the wonderful old town of Rouen with its medieval buildings, spectacular cathedral, many restaurants, old churches and museums.
My wife, 6 year old child and I arrived late afternoon in August 2016 to stay 2 nights.The hotel lobby appeared deserted so we decided to go and find somewhere to park the car and come back. Luckily there was a secure car park below the hotel which charges a reasonable 60 cents per hour. We returned to the hotel reception and after a short wait, an elaborately tattoo'd receptionist attended to us. She spoke good English and we were efficiently dispatched to room 616. In the room, the only toiletry's were a bar of soap, there was no room safe, the air conditioning didn't work and for those who might have wanted one (we didn't), there was no mini bar or fridge. Remember this is rated as a 4 star hotel. After a very hot night, we complained about the faulty air conditioning and were told it would be fixed straight away. It wasn't and neither were we offered an alternative room. Fortunately for us, the weather turned much cooler and we were able to sleep the following night more comfortably with the window wide open. Having previously stayed at the Mecure in Chartres, also rated as 4 star which was excellent, we were very disappointed as this felt very much like a budget hotel.
5 out of 5
by Brendan from Dublin

Mercure - Rouen

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located at other end of town from restaurants, however, the town is small so it was not a long walk to the Jean d'Arc Square where there are many good restaurants. We arrived on a Sunday which is always quiet in France, Monday was a public holiday and museums close on Tuesdays so we got zero culture. Not the fault of Mercure. The reception desk staff were most helpful; the breakfast was excellent; the rooms could do with some brightening up - the designer was a little less than jolly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average for a 4 star hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
The service was exellent and the staff was friendly. The room was acceptable. The bedsheets were not changed as they should have been. The private parking was expensive and extremely tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Located close to centre of Rouen

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: The food and location.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: It is a 10 minute walk to the Cathedral and town centre. We were lucky when we went as there were a number of live musicians on the streets.
Have stayed here a few times before. The service and staff are excellent as always and the food is wonderful. All you need in the room and a very comfortable bed. Overall a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good one night stay.

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was fine for our one night stay. Lovely massive bed!! Room was a little dated although we had a fab view overlooking a water fountain. Staff all pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good for the price

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: rooms were a little old fashioned and tired
This hotel is in a really good location, near to the centre and the Cathedral. It's by no means plush, but for one night, it's absolutely fine - staff were very friendly and helpful, shower was great and everything worked fine. We didn't have breakfast there as thought it probably wouldn't live up the 18 euros they were charging!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Studio City, CA

It is nice but I had a hard time getting there.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Clean and bright
Nice and simple. Just stayed there overnight. Close by to Notre Dame Cathedral and view of Joan of Arc