Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Justin

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
All very nice and friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottinghamshire

Used after shopping trip

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Nice enough hotel, room fine but had a dirty carpet. Corridors smelt badly of smoke.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but terrible beds/mattresses!

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it is a good hotel. I stay there often for work and it is definitely the best option in Selby in my opinion. The staff are usually very friendly bar one person who works at the pub sometimes. The pub makes good food most the time (every now and then a meal is made badly but more often than not it is very good). My two major gripes: 1.: I have stayed in many of the rooms at the hotel and the beds are consistently the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on (and my work takes me to many hotels!). I often wake up with back aches in the middle of the night as a result and have back aches during the day at work, which I don't get from home or other hotels. There are little plastic cogs all over the mattress which dig into your back and often they just seem to have springs which stick into your back as well. I often have to try lie at weird angles or over another pillow to try make it better. They really need to buy new normal mattresses. 2: Some of the rooms have spider webs in the corners or on the ceilings which are clearly visible with the lights on (not so visible with daylight). I am amazed that the cleaners don't see and remove these. Some rooms don't have the webs but one had really big ones which was pretty scary. If they could sort those two issues out any other issues are minor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodation okay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Problems with taking payment in the dining area which caused delays whilst trying to book in, as queue to pay for meals etc Needed to use a phone, but no pay phone available or phone in the room. Couldn't access a signal on mobile in the hotel or car park, had to leave hotel and walk until signal could be obtained Internet signal is available but weak, not reliable Rooms okay, expensive for location and facilities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Really need to work on the cleanliness! Appliances that had not been electrical tested for 3 years were still in the room. Very dated feel to the overall stay. Breakfast very poor.
4 out of 5
by Lorna

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wishing well

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff helpful and pleasent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Reception staff friendly on arrival room very clean bed very comfortable stayed 1 night. Full English was good too would recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value for Money

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Clearly a budget hotel but great value for money. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice restaurant with kids soft play area and outdoor playground. Room was very big, ideal for family with 2 kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for Selby

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is fairly modern and clean but basic. The lighting in the room was dark and there was no chair to sit and work at the desk. But for Selby it's a good hotel and I would stay there again if I am in the area. The restaurant was very nice. It's a pity there is no gym but there was a paid gym close by. It is slightly outside the centre of Selby town.