Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, England

Excellent B&B

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Hosts, breakfasts and location for the lake.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stayed for three nights and travelled up both sides of the lake. Lots to see expecially the wetland boardwalk.
A great B&B with friendly hosts and excellent breakfasts. Hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and have some great tips for things to do and see. Accommodation is excellent with a large room with en-suite and a large community room with TV/DVD. Worth every penny we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by LaurelandRob, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, Mark. We are glad that you enjoyed the area with Evergreen Gate as your home base. Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge ON

Best stay in Selkirk

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Personal attention to detail and kind advice from the owners
Cons: Nothing the owners have any control over.
Location: If you have an interest in history this is the place to stay. Rob gives tours of the Selkirk area and is an expert in local history.
Laurel and Rob made our 4 day stay a memorable and interesting time. The breakfasts were worth the price of the stay and the Asian Room was clean and comfortable. At the end of our vacation we had an appreciation of the history of the Red River and Selkirk as well as some new friends. Why stay anywhere else if you are going to Selkirk/St. Andrews? Thank you Laurel and Rob.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by LaurelandRob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, David. So glad that you share our interest in local history. May we add that Rob gives historic tours of the area by pre-arrangement....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux City, IA

Very comfortable, clean and close to Winnipeg

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: I loved all of the personal touches that the hosts provided.
Location: We easily traveled into Winnipeg and hope to return to explore the many areas that our hosts told us about.
Rob and Laurel were wonderful hosts and provided us with a very pleasing experience. They made us feel so welcome and comfortable. In addition to the great food, they shared information with us about the area that made our trip memorable. I would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by LaurelandRob, Hotel Management
So glad that you enjoyed your stay here, Karen. Thank you for mentioning that we are indeed close to Winnipeg !
5 out of 5
by steve from Eagan MN

Top-notch B & B

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely home, grounds, and location. Selkirk and surrounding area has much to see, and is only 20 minutes from Winnipeg. Hosts Rob and Laurel are great, providing lots of info, and delicious breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sk

Nice and close to other relatives.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: A home away from home
It was peaceful and inviting. Just as if you were at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by LaurelandRob, Hotel Management
We are happy that you felt at home here, Tilly. It was a pleasure to host you at Evergreen Gate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Selkirk,Manitoba Canada

Great location

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed the room,the hospitality and the great breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
This is a well furbished and meticulously decorated house with a beautiful surrounding garden, as well as the front gate facing a river bank. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed two nicely prepared breakfasts. We travelled a lot and mostly stayed in hotel/motels. In our experience, the comfortably and cleanness of this place would match to a 5- star hotel. The owners (a nice couple) made us feel like at home with complete privacy. They also provided us with specific and useful sightseeing tips of nearby sceneries and interests that others could hardly do if not living locally. We would certainly recommend this place to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Calgary, AB, Canada

A Friendly Welcoming Place to Stay Along the River

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The host and Hostess, the setting and the beautifully set breakfast table
Cons: Bed size (double)
Location: Beautiful setting along the river. With large well treed and flowered lot
We are not normally bed and breakfast people so this was a different experience for us. We were welcomed as if we were friends and made to feel totally at home. A large family home that has been turned into a bed and breakfast. The room was clean and we had our own bath room. A nice sitting room right off our room was lovely in the morning and evening to read in. Unfortunately when we were there the weather didn't cooperate so we could have breakfast in their sun porch, but the dining area was lovely. The table was set beautifully (entirely different for each morning) it was just like out of a magazine! Both breakfasts they served were very special too and beautifully served. ( I should have asked for the recipes!) the home was surrounded by a beautiful garden with flowers and cozy places to sit and read etc. our only complaint was that it would have been nice to have a queen size bed but it is OK to be cozy for a couple of nights!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by LaurelandRob, Hotel Management
With enough notice, we have two queen-sized beds - why not come back some time? Thank you for your kind remarks re: the breakfast table - we do try to create an attractive setting as well as memorable breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence

Relxed

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels
Had a most relaxing time. The morning feasts accompanied by stimulating conversations with Rob enhanced our stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Evergreen Gate B&B excellent

Posted Sep 19, 2010 on Hotels
An excellent choice for a B&B near Manitoba. Scenic location right on the Red River in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are very friendly and informative about the area. Breakfasts were superb in presentation with delicious food. Guest rooms are private and quiet with a guest common room with a small kitchenette separate from the main home's living space. We would definitely recommend this place for a relaxing retreat in the Winnipeg area. A+