Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Was a great a place to stay bed was very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Good value for your money

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is well located near the finger lakes and the shopping outlets. Our room was clean and included a delicious breakfast.
Cons: Our room smelled a little musty ( it was very humid) and the bed was worn in the middle.
We have stayed at this hotel many times before. It is a well kept hotel located near the finger lakes and the shopping outlets. The hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tub. Our room included an a la carte breakfast that was simply delicious. The staff is efficient, polite and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Gina Phamisith , Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving your review with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We're glad to know our location was convenient for you and you enjoyed breakfast in our Heritage Cafe. However, I am sorry the condition of your room was not up to your expectations. I have forwarded your comments along to our Executive Housekeeper to ensure all of our cleanliness standards are met throughout the training of all of our housekeeping staff here. We hope you can come back and give us another visit! Sincerely, Gina Phamisith Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DMV area

Far Out of town, and as expensive as in town hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Disappointed, no breakfast 😐 For the price and distance from town, I was expecting at least breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Gina Phamisith , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize your stay was not up to satisfaction for you while you were here. I am sorry you weren't able to enjoy a delicious meal in our Heritage Cafe. We hope next time while you're here you'll be able to. Sincerely, Gina Phamisith Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

9/16/17 stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: more staff; this was Hobart and William Smith College's homecoming and parent's weekend.
a clean but dated facility. the vending machine on second floor was inoperable. air conditioning was noisy. staff was great and pleasant to deal with. dining room was vastly understaffed. On 9/16; There was a party of 6, a party of 4 and three parties of 2 with only one person to seat and take orders and serve. we gave up on breakfast dining there after waiting 20 minutes. NOT THE SERVERS FAULT. Given the facilities it was expensive paid more here than a luxury B+B.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Gina Phamisith , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We would like to let your know your comments will not be ignored and will forward to the correct department to ensure these issues will be addressed for future stay for our guest. We value you and your loyalty to us and want to make sure any future stays you have with us will be better than the last. We hope you can come back and give us another visit soon to show you what true hospitality here at the Holiday Inn is. Sincerely, Gina Phamisith Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Room change

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Unfortunately our first night was in a room under the transformers of the hotel, so we requested a room change the next night. There were no rooms available at that time, but would be when we got back that night. So we packed everything and brought it with us that day. We were about an hour away from the hotel when we got the shocking news of a death in the family. Since we had all our belongings, we called to cancel the rest of our stay and left from there. I'm sure it would've been a great weekend under other circumstances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, NY

Would I recommend to a friend? Depends...

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: comfortable beds. relatively close to NYS Thruway. Some Fast Food nearby.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: In Finger Lakes area, but not close enough to be convenient for wineries or lake access.
Staff was no more thrilled to see us come or go than we were to stay there. The two of us were there for an overnight so I cant attest to conditions of the pool, tennis court or restaurant though all looked adequate. Big pluses: the beds were really comfortable with pillow top mattresses; and the room we were in was very quiet. Big minuses: Check out clerk was lame . . . no "how was your stay" no "thank you for staying with us ((and for dropping $150 on an 8-hour overnight in the middle of nowheresville)). I just got: "Oh it's prepaid." Me: "Are we all set?" She: "Yeah." Other minuses: Upstairs vending machine out of order. Weird odors throughout halls almost like a combo ramen noodles and beef stew. Disgusting. Huge smear on television screen that looked like housekeeping wiped it with a wet towel. Otherwise the room was clean enough. Finally, where ever they get their K-cups for the Keurig from is ripping them off . . . they make really really weak coffee. Bottom line: Not bad. Not good. Overnight? Fine. Staying in the Finger Lakes on holiday? I think you might want to go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from depew

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Stayed one nite/hotel was clean/beds very comfortable/will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Gina Phamisith , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We hope you plan a visit to come back to see us! Sincerely, Gina Phamisith Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by Md

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was good except internet which was kind of slow and disruptive
4 out of 5
by hugh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was very upset to pay and reserve a 2 bed and very

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Horrible I called the head office and they said the manager would contact me and she did not