Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paulo from San Jose, California

Good hotel in a residential neighborhood.

Posted May 27, 2014
Location: 10 minute walk to Subway station. Location is advisable only if you have some reason to stay in the area.
We stayed there because the hotel is close to my Mother in law for visiting. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Good breakfast and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013
3 out of 5
by mandy from UK

Ok hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Was clean and tidy but dated and too far out of Seoul. Taxi driver from station couldnt find it. Quite a walk to the subway. No free Internet . Air conditioning didn't work and no apologies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Phoenix, Arizona

All the comforts of home

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Location, cost, cleanliness, computer in room
Cons: No breakfast included, no wifi
Location: A small walk to the subway but a nice local neighborhood
The only addition I would suggest is to include a continental breakfast. Luckily there was a small market around the corner and a fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Holiday Inn Seongbuk-gu

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: Location to the University (KU)
Cons: Had to pay for Wi-fi
Very nice hotel, staff very helpful. Restaurant prices expensive, but the food is excellent. One of the only draw backs was a $10,000 won/ day charge for wi-fi, where most hotels its free of charge, especially to Priority Club members. Overall, I would stay here again. Location is about a 20 min walk to the #6 subway line, or a 10 minute walk to the #2 line (but its mostly uphill).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Overall satisfied

Posted Jul 2, 2011
Most convenient feature is the airport shuttle picks up and drops off right in front of the hotel. Fresh bread and pastries sold daily at the lobby is a good, inexpensive breakfast to take to your room with the complimentary tea. Pass on the pricey breakfast buffet unless you just want to try it for the expereince. There are complimetary bottled water (2) provided in the room refrigerator replenished every day. If you need more bottled water or other snacks there is a market next door. There is a personal computer in the room with free internet access so you can keep up with your email and facebook. :-) There are daily free shuttles to/from the hotel and popular shopping and tourist locations I was impressed with the public transportation. Buses stop a few meters from the hotel lobby. Altho you might need help from someone who speaks English and familiar with the signs and bus routes. (I was with my daughter who studied In Seoul for a year.) The closest subway stop is about a 15-20 min walk or a short bus ride. Transfers are free if you use a bus pass that you can reload anytime. Very efficient and convenient! Staff was helpful and courteous. And they loan you umbrellas when going out in the rain! Will definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Perth Western Australia

We will be back

Posted May 24, 2011
Our stay in Seoul was extremely comfortable in the Holiday Inn. The Staff were helpful and friendly and we had all our home comforts in the rooms (including a king size bed). The distance from Down Town was not really an issue as the Hotel ran a shuttle bus at 9am and 11am in the mornings which dropped us into the centre of town near the markets. The shuttle also dropped you back to the Hotel in the evening if you required it. There was not a lot to do in the surrounding area but the transport was convenient with buses and the train service. Taxi's were also easy to locate at a reasonable cost.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good hotel, bad location

Posted Mar 5, 2011
The hotel itself is fine; clean, well maintained, not the most luxurious but overall pretty good. The problem is the location. There is nothing in the area that a visitor from a foreign country would need (e.g. currency exchange). The nearest subway station wasn't all that close either, about one mile of walk. I had hoped to use the subway often during my stay, but my group and I ended up taking taxi everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gresham, OR

Wonderful, friendly staff

Posted Aug 5, 2010
Hotel was beautiful, recently remodeled, clean, with all the necessary amenities and the most gracious, helpful staff I've ever met. We were greeted warmly every time we came and went, and were recognized as individuals rather than just anonymous guests. Outstanding workout facilities as well. Would absolutely recommend to others and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Great value, but off the beaten track

Posted Jul 14, 2010
The hotel staff was wonderful. The hotel is a bit out of the way from downtown Seoul but easily accessible by metro (about 15 min walk). Many taxi drivers do not know where it is and the first one that took me there kind of ripped me off. The doorman shooed hiim away and the manager, hearing from the doorman (I did not even tell him) upgraded me to a suite. The hotel has complimentary wifi access and reasonably priced room service. The hotel arranged a DMZ tour and also has a shuttle to take you to the subway station. The airport bus picks up and drops off from the front of the hotel and a one-way ticket was about $15. Overall, I had a wonderful stay and highly recommend it for those seeking value and don't mind a 30 min commute (including walking time) from Downtown Seoul.