Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seoul

Good hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Hotel was very good for the price, and location was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

will stay again

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location and price and staff
Cons: Bed is very hard
Location: lots of food and attractions. not a lot of clubs
Hotel is a little hidden, but still in good a location. For the money I will stay again. Beds are very hard is the only complaint. Staff is very friendly. Towels are small. Again...for the price, its great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Khalid from New Zealand

Practical

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel of average standard but everyone doing their best. Close to Metro station and main railway station.
3 out of 5
by Hazy from Kuala Lumpur

Hotel New World in Seoul

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The reception folks were really kind. It is near the subway.
Cons: Put shower curtains in the bathroom. Put more hooks and hangers on the wall. Have bigger towels.
Location: Hotel is within walking distance from the subway which leads to Seoul Station. In Seoul Station, there are shopping malls and the supermarket
Taxi drivers didnt know where the hotel is even though we showed them the Hotel name & address in Korean words. We were prepared after reading some of the reviews of the hotel so we brought our own towels (because the towels they gave us are the size of hand towels), and hangers (because there is no wardrobe to hang our clothes). The first rooms we were given were small - no place to put our suitcases. Later in the week, we were given bigger rooms. Bathroom has no shower curtains so after a shower, the whole floor was wet. The reception folks were really kind. They helped us mail our postcards, print our boarding passes for our flights, booked a taxi big enough to put our luggage and 4 persons to go to airport. Overall, Seoul is beautiful and clean. Everyone is polite and courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sco from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, close to the subway stations.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Staff is very friendly (can speak english, japanese, chinese), rooms are cleaned daily, A/C work fine.
Location: A station away from Seoul Station, walking distance to the US embassy, shops, restaurants, women university.
I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (end of may 2014) and everything was fine. The location is excellent since you are pretty much close to restaurant, subway stations and walking distance from universities. I will recommend to anyone on a budget. They give you free bottles of water and tea, at least my room came with a computer (internet) and free wifi which is helpfull since i brought my iphone with me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Mike from Seoul

New World Hotel stay

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: convenient
Cons: Bed was a little firm for my taste
Location: small shops and restaurants conveniently located.
last minute deal. Convenient to restaurants and several small shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from South Korea

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The large queen-size bed and the big TV are nice.
Cons: Some rooms have baths and some have showers. Baths in all of the bathrooms would be nice.
Location: The location...is a little sketchy. It is surrounded by rent-by-the-hour love motels and is kind of hidden in a back alley. Close to the subway.
I had just returned from a long overseas trip and it was nice to have the facilities here to myself for a little while.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but with some shortcomings

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed
The only good thing about the hotel was its convenient location. The subway entrance was just 3 minutes walk away from the entrance of the hotel, a the slightly shorter route was through a small dark road which didn't feel safe at night. The subway station was on line 4 which goes directly to Seoul Station, Myeongdong and Dongdaemun. There were also direct buses to Yongsan I'Park Mall and Gangnam area which helped save a lot of traveling time from changing trains. There was free wifi which stopped working on our last 2 nights there. We had to resort to tapping on the neighboring room's wifi. The free computer was entirely in Korean and the internet on it was not working. Free drinks in the refrigerator but few and of the same variety every day. Sufficient power points around the room but we kept getting electrical shocks while trying to charge our iPhones. Water in the shower takes very long to become hot. Towels were too small. Bed was extremely hard, can't sleep well every night. Overall, it's decent enough for the price we're paying. But I definitely wouldn't choose to stay there again as I know I can get something similar for around the same price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump....

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Alley
Hotel charged me 25,000 won for 45 min early check-in. Had two rooms so that's almost $50 for being there 45 mins early and there was no one in either room and they were already cleaned. Both rooms smelled like cigarette smoke. Beds were extremely hard and couldn't get a good nights sleep. Air conditioning didn't work well so room was extremely hot all night. I have stayed on motels for cheaper that were a lot better then this hotel. Find somewhere else to stay this place is a dump looks nothing like the pictures.
1 out of 5
by Rod from Camp Casey

SMH

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The rooms can use alot of upgrading
Location: Only bars, and some food places. Everything is very expensive
First the hotel was extremely hard to find, secondly when I checked into my rooms, they were both on the first floor below ground and the views were facing a brick wall. The major problem was I reserved two double room, that means a room with two beds, but instead I got a room that was larger in size according to the hotel staff but I couldn't see it. I then had to pay $47 extra to move one room to a double room so now the group I was in was not split up. The beds were extremely hard, I like a firm mattress but I could bounce a quarter off this thing 6 feet in the air. My stay was so bad I checked out a day early basically losing $180