Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Location but bad experience

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated. Front desk staff needs better training.
Location: Located right next to major department store as well as bus station.
I have stayed at this hotel many times, but this last stay was a disaster. I arrived around 8:00 PM, which isn't too late, but apparently it was too late to get the type of room that was booked? Check-in was terrible and took forever. Four people came and left with the other representative while I was still waiting. They put me in a terrible room. It was so small that the sitting chair didn't even fit in the room. The condition of the room was old. The desk chair squeaked terribly. When I asked to change rooms at the front desk, they were not helpful at all. They basically just stared at me and said nothing. I think part of it was because I booked on expedia. They seem to treat expedia reservations as second class. If that's the case, they shouldn't be on expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Duty Manager , Hotel Management
Dear RJ, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. First of all, we sincerely apologize for our service shortfalls during the stay and I deeply feel responsible for not meeting your expectation with memorable stay experience. As we aim to deliver an exceptional experience during your stay, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal this time. Please rest assured that we treat every reservation equally and do not differentiate by channels. We have shared your feedback with relevant teams to take any necessary actions for enhancement of staff service. We will reinforce internal trainings to further improve our level of service excellence and ensure to provide warm, welcoming and professional service in the future. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Seoul. As we are planning for a future renovation, we hope you could visit us again to feel our new look and facilities. If we may be any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Duty Manager JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

JW Marriott overcharge food and bev concessions

Posted Jan 16, 2017
JW Marriot continually overcharge food and beverage concessions within their hotels globally meaning that we, the customers, get skinned. I'm done with the JW Marriot brand, strategy and blatant greed. Don't bother with his hotel group - plenty of genuine competition out there that won't make you check out feeling like a mug
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, Hotel Management
Dear gnc, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. On the pricing, we are in line with similar hotels in the area and we feel that we offer a good value given our location and extensive facilities. However, we are very sorry if we failed to meet your expectations and we will be reviewing your comments. Once again, thank your for your review and we wish to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quite convenient location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and cleanliness.
Cons: The hotel is showing its age already. The rooms will need to be renovated very very soon.
Location: Right next to a luxury departmen store. There's also underground shopping.
Seoul is an interesting place depending on the seasons you visit. I visit Seoul every year, and this time is my first visiting during the Christmas/Winter season. The hotel is a good location because it's right at a major terminal station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Great hotel. Nice and clean and comfortable. May be a little bit far from some attractions, but close enough to subway to get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by JW Marriott Hotel Seoul , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback! We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us. As you mentioned we are directly connected to three subway lines which can take you almost anywhere in the city. We hope you had a chance to take advantage of our free shuttle bus to Itaewon and Myeongdong when you visit us next time. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With warmest regards, JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect service.

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect service, even ask for rubbish on my hand so they could help me disposed it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

exceptional hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Lastminute
best hotel i have ever stayed. nothing to complain about. nice staffs, nice room, whatever it needs to give you a pleasant trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by JW Marriott Hotel Seoul , Hotel Management
Dear Tien Duong, Thank you for staying with us and considering us the best hotel you experienced. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and we look very much forward to welcoming you back if any of your future trips bring you to Seoul. Thank you again and hope you have a wonderful November. With warmest regards, JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall it's ok..

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Check in time is 4pm. The river view was bit disappointing. Good location. Easy to use public transportation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location and easy access to subway and bus terminal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comport

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly and it seems that everyone who works for the hotel seems to speak fluent English I had no problem with communication