Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016
A little bit far from subway but it's OK, by the way you will see very nice staffs there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alcoholic club

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Rude reception, and some of the staff would not even greet me back. I was told by several other guests that this was their regular place to come to Seoul to get drunk. I couldn't sleep at all on the second night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Massachusetts

Nice affordable hostel

Posted Feb 20, 2016
For the affordable price of Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, this hostel is a decent stay while staying in Hongdae. There are little eateries close by the hostel and to get to the subway and main happening spot in Hongdae, it takes about a 15 minute walk. It was hard to find at first, in a small alleyway, but the area is a quiet one. Service was nice and always willing to help. If you're looking for an affordable stay, this would be a place to consider. Although (as expected of what little you pay) there is no elevator and the bathrooms are kind of old. The walls are kind of thin, so you can hear what's happening in the bathroom too... Overall, an okay experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like disgust

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
I was absolutely disgusted with this place. I was traveling over 3 weeks in Korea and I had stayed in numerous cheap hostels, but this place was by far the worst hostel I have ever been too. The floors have not been swept for months, the ways had water leaks with poor patching, and the bathroom sink leaked all its used water on the floor running right to your feet. The place has a drug house/brothel kind of appearance with how grungy it is. There were lots of mosquitos and I found brown spots on my pillow case. It was so gross that I couldn't stay anymore nights after the first night.
3 out of 5
by Matt

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Not anything special but it was clean and got the job done. Staff was very accomodating!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Free wifi. Great atmosphere. Cons: Difficult to locate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Video Directions

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Kimchee Guesthouse has a walking video of how to get to the guesthouse from the closest subway station. That's what sold me. A lot of guesthouses are hard to find even with a drawn map. This was fool proof.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by carter, Hotel Management
Hello this is kimchee guest house ! thanks for staying here ^^ and we will try work hard and more clean ! thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great atmosphere! helpful staffs

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: staffs
Location: markets
it was a nice stay. david was super nice and he helped me with tours and directions