Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Room needs fresh paint, carpeting, bathroom shower curtain, and towels. The breakfast food offered is of very poor quality. The bananas were over ripe and no other fresh fruit. . The use styrofoam Cups. Last time I'll stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by FDA, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We will be painting our rooms this fall/winter. We add new linen to our regular supply on a weekly or as needed. The flooring will be replaced over the next few years to wood flooring. Our continental breakfast is above the requirements for Choice hotels, sorry you were not pleased with it. We hope you are able to find another hotel to your liking in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has fleas

Posted Aug 17, 2017
They assigned us to a pet room and im hyper allergenic. We do not have a pet. Never once called me before to tell me. I booked in advance. When we left we were covered in fleas. I drove back to inforn the guy at the frnt desk to only be told "expedia assigned tge room not us". Total crap! Will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by FDA, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. I would like to explain when you booked your room, you booked through a 3rd party side who confirmed your room with 2 queen beds that allows pets. We were full so that is likely why that was your only booking option and overlooked the description that it allows pets. When you book with 3rd party sites they will send you a confirmation with the room type. We do not call and confirm. When our guests with pets depart we do a thorough deep clean of the room to prevent any type of flea issues so when a new guest arrives its as if there never was a pet in the room. We checked the room and no fleas were found. We are sorry you were not satisfied but we do strive for that for all our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Moderate hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We didn't spend a lot of time in the room but it was ok. Hard bed though. Clean and decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by FDA, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We strive for top notch customer service with a clean and comfortable room for all our guests. We hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Close to everything

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: An easier way to get my luggage up the stairs.
Location: Loved the Olympic Game Farm and the beauty of Hurricane Ridge. Will be back to check out other opportunities later.
Just be willing to use firm beds. Need a better way to get luggage up the stairs. No protein in breakfast room...but I brought myself hard boiled eggs and cheese to start the day along with one of their nice muffins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by FDA, Hotel Management
Good day Karen, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We look forward to seeing you during your next outing to Sequim.
5 out of 5
by David

Family Reunion

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable and quiet. Right off the main road but almost no traffic at night so very quiet area. Easy access to everything and hotel staff was very friendly. Nothing special about breakfast but nice to be able to grab a little bite before going out the door. Good value for your money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi David! Thank you for leaving a nice comment from your recent visit. At the Econo Lodge we always strive to provide a clean, comfortable and affordable stay to all our guests. Its a pleasure knowing you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia River Gorge, OR

Good value. Friendly, helpful staff!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We come to Sequim the last weekend in June for our annual family reunion. We love to stay here because the staff is so genuinely helpful, friendly and it's close to our event. Good value. The rooms could use some updating but it's clean and quiet just the way we like it. See you again next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by FDA, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We have recently updated our bedding, TV's, wall art, paint and in some rooms the flooring. We will have all the flooring in the rooms done in the future. We appreciate our repeat guests and look forward to seeing you next year!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Needs a major renovation. Rooms smelled like a coyote den.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Good day! I not sure what to take from your comment. Our pet rooms have been renovated and are nice. I wish you would have brought this to the attention of the desk clerk. We would have addressed this right away. We want all our guests to enjoy their time while here whether that be a day or several days. We are sorry your experience wasn't pleasant. We do hope you give us another try the next time your in Sequim.
3 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Wess L

Good basic motel

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good basic motel. Recent remodel. Decent beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again the next time your in Sequim!