Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Perfect weather, information from staff & Park Rangers good,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Sequoia National Park

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Very comfortable stay! Clean and comfortable room.Friendly staff. Excellent location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

In the heart of Sequoia

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Lighting
Location: Sequoia Nat. Park, Trails and lots of BIG TREES!
Very good lodge with a good restaurant for breakfast and dinner - You can choose the type of breakfast $7.95 continental and $12.95 for the full American. The room we found spacious, clean but gloomy low energy lights OK but hard to read by. The pathways from Stewart to main Lodge very dark bring a flashlight but they have a drawer full in reception if you forget. Scenery wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Tom L. , Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing us Janine. We appreciate the feedback about the lighting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Lodge right in the middle of action!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Very comfortable stay! Clean and friendly staff. Had a great meal at the lodge restaurant, too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Tom L. , Hotel Management
Thanks Anonymous, we appreciate your review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 17, 2016
This really narrows down to location. The hotel is close to everything and has a beautiful view, but not necessarily from your room. It's quite expensive for what you get but you will find that everything located in a National Park is double what it should be. The room has a very standard appearance minus central air, we had a fan in our window. It was cool at night so this was enough. Yes the wifi isn't great and its quite a hike to your room if you have luggage but this didnt bother us. My main complaints are the lighting in the rooms (why not up the wattage a bit?), the shower - the shower head was designed to blast you with 3 heavy streams which was almost painful and the water was either scolding hot or cold. Our room could have been more clean. The bathroom had a dirty shower curtain and there was something gross on the wall and trash can. The restaurant was WAY over priced! They definitely take advantage of the fact that there aren't very many other places to get food. This was annoying considering how much it cost to stay here. The 2 times we did splurge we found the food to be just so so. We ate sandwiches in our room most of the time. Aside from a few drawbacks the staff was very friendly and the hotel is in a beautiful location. With a few adjustments it could be great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Lodge im Nationalpark

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: die Lage ist gut
Leider konnte die Lodge unseren Erwartungen nicht entpechen. Zimmer sind klein und nur einfacher Motel Standard, z.b. war die Toilette sofort verstopft. Abends ausser dem Restaurant (Qualität war gut) keinerlei Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Schöne Lodge mitten in der Natur

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Die Lage der Lodge ist ausschlaggebend für eine Buchung. Mitten im Nationalpark gelegen ist sie guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge und Wanderungen. Das Zimmer im Sequoia Gebäude war sehr groß, alles vorhanden, was man braucht. Beim Abendessen musste man etwas auf einen Tisch warten, das Essen war recht teuer, aber hat geschmeckt. Wunder darf man in den Lodges der Nationalparks nie erwarten, uns hat es soweit gefallen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ


Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and seemed to be trying to please despite understaffing and poor conditions
Cons: Wifi, staffing, accessibility of rooms, common area in buildings with rooms, meal time turnaround
Location: Close to many key attractions of Sequoia
This attempt at a plush lodge in Sequoia misses the mark by a wide margin. Wifi is so poor as to be almost non existent--yet the John Muir lodge has quite good wifi. Rooms are a hike! I am not sure why they put the rooms up a steep hill and in a building with zero amenities. No common area, no wifi. The restaurant is so understaffed as to be comical. At dinner if you want a drink at the bar you have to contend with a very long wait because the bar tender is also a waiter. So if you want to eat at a reasonable time, book early and be very patient (and if you have kids, bring snacks). John Muir lodge is overall a much nicer lodging experience with common areas on every floor, a nice lobby, and reasonable wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Tom L. , Hotel Management
Hi Amy, it's true, due to our remote location, our wifi is provided by satellite and is extremely limited, slow and only available in the main lodge. Wuksachi is a great place to be outside, but not good for being online! When the facility was first built, the accommodations were intentionally set back from the main lodge and parking in order to preserve the views and trees as best as possible. We are always happy to assist guests to their rooms with their luggage. As for the restaurant, we agree that we could improve with our service times and are working on amending this. Thank-you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolle Lage im Park

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Zimmer ein wenig abgewohnt aber total okay! Frühstücksbüffet war recht lecker mit viel Auswahl!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value lodge in wonderful setting

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: None noted
Location: In the park so lots of walks nearby.
We stayed here as a family of 4 for 3 nights. We found the hotel exactly as per the details and had a very pleasant stay. There are some reviews that note the wifi is a bit variable but you are in the middle of a national park! However, if that is going to cause you a concern then beware. There is a restaurant at the lodge which is fine and a BBQ runs elsewhere in the park if you want some variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Tom L. , Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Anonymous, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.