Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by edward from earth

Tucked away place to rest.

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
Tucked away in a very small town is a nice little place to rest. There is a cafe down the street to eat that I think almost everyone in town was at. The breakfast was meats, cheese, bread, cereal, and standard stuff. The coffee was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Linda M from Canada

Small Town Charm

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
Our room was very clean and comfortable. Pedro was helpful in providing information about nearby sights and the restaurant down the street. The location is in a small Alentejo town, quaint and charming. The hotel is family run, and warm and inviting. The sitting areas are cosy and the decor is home style. Our breakfast was continental, with fresh fruits and cereals... ample to start the day. We enjoyed our experience here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Charming hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels
Charming hotel. Family owned by very kind and helpful people.
5 out of 5
by Jeff from Australia

An oasis

Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was in a small village and did not have a very impressive exterior but when you went through the front door, it.was amazing. The hotel was beautifully decorated with a very relaxing courtyard pool. The owners were most welcoming and friendly.
4 out of 5
by Hilary from NJ

Personal service

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels
This was a charming place where the owner & her husband took very good care of us. They showed us the room we could choose from. Breakfast was acceptable and plentiful. If I were ever back in this area I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by tadfurtado from Conway, NH

No reason to stay elsewhere in Sourthern Portugal!

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels
We had been all over Portugal and Spain by the time we found the Betica. Without any doubt, it was the most warm, inviting and special place we stayed during our two weeks. The family owners (Victor, Teresa and Pedro) and staff went out of their way to make us welcome without it seeming to be out of their way. The rooms were comfortable, private, quiet and attractive. The breakfast is more than enough to get you on your way for the day whether you plan to day trip somewhere, plan to walk the streets and alleys of Pias or just simply intend to read a book by the pool with the cats. We visited a couple of the wineries in the area and Teressa had kindly made the inquires and plans for us. Since they were going to celebrate a family birthday party in a nearby olive grove, they were again kind enough to invite us to join them for a lively afternoon that could not have felt more genuine and friendly. I honestly can't say enough about my new friends in Portugal and look forward to retuning to the Betica Hotel Rural to see them again.
5 out of 5
by Walter from USA

Very nice hotel and proprietors

Posted May 16, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice and close to good restaurants. The closest town with attractions (Serpa) is 13km from the hotel. Proprietors provided a very good map of Serpa. Good breakfast with local breads and jams. Rates were very reasonable. Pool was nice on a hot day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from New York

STAYING WITH FRIENDS IN PORTUGAL

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: Charming , clean, hotel with the world's nicest most gracious staff who will do anything to make your trip more enjoyable.
Cons: Everything was wonderful. No complaints.
Location: Ideally suited for day trips to Portuguese hill towns. A few hours from Sevilla.
This charming hotel is in a pleasant town off the beaten track. The rooms are clean. Bathrooms modern. Lovely swimming pool.But best of all is the family staff who run the hotel.A son who personally takes you to a nearby restaurant so he can translate the menu for you. A father who accompanies you to an out of the way local fete and tells you about local customs.A surprise offer of a glass of rose while you're sunbathing poolside. In short, there's nothing they will not do to make your stay enjoyable. It went beyond nice accomodations into the realm of wonderful life experience. This is the first review I have ever taken the time to write but I had to because this hotel is so exceptional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Hotel Betica - Serpa (Pias)

Posted Jul 3, 2011 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our one night stay here. The family who own the hotel were extremely welcoming and hospitable. Even drove us to a local cafe / restaurant and helped us to order our meal in the mid afternoon. Charming village. Good internal decor, including some local archeological finds. There is a delightful courtyard area with small pool, loungers and other seating areas - all surrounded by lovely plants. Very tranquil and perfect for reading, snoozing, chatting. Would happily book again and for longer next time - it's a real little gem. Prospective visitors should note that this hotel is in Pias - around 7 miles from Serpa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2011 on Hotels