Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Boris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was a Nice architecture this hotel. Not modern, but really nice look. Spacy rooms, heard the sea from your room. Beautiful village on the beach, perfect. I defiantly come back.
3 out of 5
by franziska

ok for a night or two but don't expect any extras

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel has a great location beautiful views of the garden and ocean. It's ok for a short stay, the rooms are very outdated, not soundproof and smell musky, our AC did not really work. no coffee maker - which appears to be one of the missing items in all of Portugal. There is no service to make your stay special, on the day of the departure the breakfast service keep the doors looked until 7AM, while there were about 10 - 15 people waiting to get coffee before heading to the airport, unbelievable.
5 out of 5
by Darrel

A room with a view.

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
My room was a little bit dated inside but was spacious and comfortable, and had a very nice view of the beach and sea from inside and from the large balcony. Everything was clean and worked correctly. I think that other recently renovated rooms are available if one pays more, but I paid a low price when compared to the rack rate at the desk. My bed was a bit firm for my taste, but some people would prefer that. It was in good condition as was the linen. The pools (indoor and out) were both good but unfortunately the sauna was out of order. The lawns were also nicely maintained but some path areas showed a little lack of attention. There are many places to sit, both inside and out, to enjoy the views and the sunshine. The town and seafront was an easy walk from the hotel once one had navigated the two lifts and two sets of stairs one needs to take to get down to beach level. Parking was available but was nearly full even at the end of September. I dont know what happens in high season. Breakfast was acceptable for such a large hotel but not up the very high standard of some other smaller places I stayed in. All in all I would be very happy to return to this hotel and to Sesimbra itself.
2 out of 5
by Joanne

Would not recommend

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
If you are a fan of the sixties you will love the Hotel. Mass tourism, enormous hotel Loud, get a croom on the higher levels as otherwise traffic and street noise is too noisy. In desperate need of renovation. Breakfast was of very poor quality, pool too small for this hotel. Beach nice and pretty view of it from the room, better to go out of season, nice and empty.. over all 3,5 out of 10. Price rectifies a little
5 out of 5
by Martina

Spectacular view

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is very clean, staff is very helpfull and speak perfect english. The hotel is a little run down, could use furniture renovation, but the view is spectacular so the old furniture didn't even matter. Breakfast buffet was generous. Lot better than anything in US. I would recomend for sure!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This is the 4th or 5th time we have stayed at the Hotel Do Mar. This time the breakfast service was particularly poor. The hot food selection - bacon, eggs, sausages was not kept topped up sufficiently. If there was bacon there was no eggs or vice versa. Some days neither option and on one day we waited almost 40 minutes before the staff replenished. If you tried to ask the restaurant staff for extra they just grunted and pushed past you as they were too busy clearing tables. They really do need to look at the system. Apart from that the hotel is in a great position but is a little dated in some areas. This time we had a room in the west wing which was bigger than the usual rooms in the east wing. Overall facilities are fine and front desk staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view from hotel lobby

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update some rooms
Room was a bit cramped but overall great deal. Lobby view was amazing.
5 out of 5
by Karol

Peaceful serene and beautiful.

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. Very beautiful, serene, and peaceful. We were celebrating our 50th wedding Anniversary. It was very quiet due to being off season. We got around on the bus for side trips. Perfect.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Classic Portuguese hotel overlooking the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Furniture in room could be much more practical/comfortable.
Location: Sesimbra is a beautiful old fishing village with a nice beach boardwalk. Great restaurants, particularly Lobo do Mar!
Constructed in 1963, the hotel has changed little over the years...and that's not a bad thing necessarily. Hotel staff are excellent, premises are very clean and well kept, and the location overlooking the beach and harbour of Sesimbra is fantastic. First visited this hotel in 1980...and things have not changed much since then...like stepping back into the past. On the down side, there are chairs in the room...but they are literally child-size. And don't think about TV too much because the screen size is like a small PC monitor: both quirks of a charming, old-style hotel. And last, the hotel breakfast service is very basic...and don't drink the coffee. All that said, I would certainly stay here again.