Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I loved staying at Agama!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The rooms are charming. The food was excellent. The lodge dogs are fun. Kudu, gemsbok and porcupine made their appearance. Sitting on the roof and watching the sunset reflecting on the mountains, while drinking Pinotage wine: can't be beat!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in a quiet but beautiful place

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay. They gladly accommodated our vegetarian dietary requirements. The pool was great respite from the heat, after a crazy tiring morning in the windy and hot sossusvlei. Chalets conveniently face the sunrise and have viewing decks on top for sun downers. Although it's not luxury accommodation, attention to detail in the facilities and chalets was really good. Highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely spot and absolutely delicious meals!

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
I wasn't sure when I first arrived if this would be a good visit, as the place was empty and very remote. But the room was lovely and, after heading off for the afternoon and returning in time for dinner, wow, I was sold. Dinner was superb, with the chef visiting every table to describe the menu and then stopping by again to check on the meal (which was excellent and plentiful). We wanted to be up and out the following morning to get to the sand dunes so left before breakfast was served, but they sent us off with a bagged breakfast. Usually these are pretty sad affairs, but the bag they provided included both a lovely selection of breakfast items as well as a sandwich and snack bar for lunch! The only issue with this place is that it is still a long way from Sesriem, so you have to be prepared to drive. 45 min to the main gates and then it's another 45 min from the gates to the Sossusvlei shuttle (and then 15 min on the shuttle to the final parking area).
5 out of 5
by alena from australia

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good base to visit Sossusviei

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Hotel had wonderful setting, good facilities, friendly staff and host, and good food. The chef made a special effort to provide vegetarian food.
Location: Very scenic location and good base to visit sossusviei
Enjoyable stay for two nights while making a day visit to the spectacular sossusviei dunes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Electricity comes and goes

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel (room, lobby everything) is very basic and spartan, their electricity supply is unreliable and they don't have any any back-up generator themselves, because of that we had to spend the night without aircon. Food was good though, both the dinner and the packed breakfast.
5 out of 5
by simmonds from uk

Very good overall

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
Initial approach from the road may be a little offputting, but the owners are very helpful, rooms are comfortable with sunset views from the roofs ( accessed by stairways ), and the food is also very good - note you should book dinner as well as b & b, as there is no alternative within miles and you do not want to drive after dark ( that's true anywhere in Namibia - risk of animals on the road , etc )
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Priced Fairly, Near Sossusvlei

Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels
45 minute drive to the gate of Sossusvlei park. Ladies who prepared and cleaned the rooms were wonderful! Such a delight to be in their company. The managers were knowledgable when questions needed to be answered in terms of logistics and traveling in Namibia. Yet, the female manager was a bit aggressive in handling her staff and clients - it put us off in our stay. Despite this, it was an excellent stay due to the other staff members and affordable stay in proximity to the park, unlike other lodges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sarah from london

The place to stare at the stars

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly hosts ,bed on the roof and peaceful place
Location: 50km from the gate to the desert and sesriem canyon and easy access to it.
As soon as we arrived we had a very warm welcome from Monique and John.they are both very knowledgable about the area and the country,john is a guide and explained to us how to get to the gate in time for sunrise. He had checked the opening time and Monique had prepared a very good breakfast box for us. He also suggested to hv a lunch break at the lodge by the gate and use their pool which was a brilliant refreshing idea as it was very hot. They treated us like friends and we had two lovely pm with them ,Monique is a chef and the food was fabulous.sunset on the deck magnificent. We picked that place for the. Ed on the roof and what an experience to watch the stars from our bed drinking some champagne they had kept refrigerated for us,,!!!! Monique also organised two excellent restaurants for us in our next destination and that was a lovely touch.can only highly recommend the place and we will go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie from New York

Can't recommend Agama highly enough!

Posted Nov 20, 2013
We were blown away but our experience at Agama. We had no idea what to expect and as we headed up the 'driveway' to the lodge it was clear we had arrived at a desert oasis. The place is beautiful, the bungalows are extremely comfortable, and the food was great, but what really made our time there was the team behind it. Jon and Monique, the wonderful couple who built the lodge, have put such care in to service that you feel you are a guest in someone's home. The fact that there are only 10 bungalows keeps the intimate feeling of the place. Staying there made our time in Namibia a richer experience.