Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kate

Great campsite near Sossusvlei

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
We thought this was the perfect campsite. It's affordable, very close to the entrance of Sossusvlei (you can see it), and great quality. The individual showers/bathrooms were very convenient and very clean. I read several reviews that it was too close to the main roads, they are right there but the location is somewhat tucked off from the road, it didn't bother either of us. It is very close to the lodge, we walked over for dinner which is beautiful on the patio and a very awesome buffet (make reservations).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017
Dear Kate, Thank you for the excellent rating and review! Glad you enjoyed our private facilities and the dinner at Sossusvlei Lodge! We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surprise

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Hard to rate, as we booked a camp site and received an unexpected upgrade to the luxurious honeymoon suite. Exceptional and breathtaking. can’t even describe how amazing this experience was, with landscape views from our porch we’d never experienced. On the second day, the campsite was great. A perfect African experience, with springbok walking through at night and a beautiful sunset from our site. Would love to do it again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by SOCS, Hotel Management
Dear Dylan, Thanks for the excellent rating! Glad you enjoyed the upgrade, the views and the campsite the next evening! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
The location is perfect, next to the park gates. The feel of the place was excellent. Solar energy powers the shower which was great. Very cheap comparing to hotels nearby. I loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by SOCS, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent rating and review! Glad you enjoyed our camp site and the solar heated shower! Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best camping in Sossulvei

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, access to restaurant/small shop, the POOL
Clean site, private bathrooms, bricked and shaded patio space at each site. Fun clean pool to beat the heat. Easy walk to lodge for great dinner! IMO, if not going to wake up super early and break down top camper to get to Dunes by dawn, no reason to stay at the far inferior (we checked it out!) campsite just inside the gate. Only issue was we had a very early departure back to Windhoek and had been told sandwiches would be ready for purchase when gas station opened at 5:30 but even at 6:15 they were nowhere in sight. Plenty of crackers/snacks available as an alternative breakfast in a pinch, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by SOCS, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent rating and review! Glad to hear you loved the clean sites, the private bathroom, the pool and the short distance for dinner at our Sossusvlei Lodge. Our apologies that the sandwiches wasn't ready at opening - the kitchen were hard at work from early morning to prepare a large amount of breakfast baskets that went out that day hence the sandwiches arriving an hour late. Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

BEST CAMP SITE IN NAMIBIA!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: This could easily be the best camping site in Namibia. We loved the thatched sites with their own bathrooms and 'scullery' area. We decided to just sleep on our mattress on the cement as it was very hot. What a surprise we got when we heard something, switched on the torch and there was a fox standing a mere 2 meters from us. The sites are clean, well maintained and very friendly and helpful. Thank you Willie for making our stay at Sossus Oasis Camp a memorable experience!!!
Cons: Everything was perfect. We loved the thatched camp site which had it's own bathroom and scullery.
Location: We visited the Namib Naukluft Park to see the sunrise over the Dunes. What an experience it was!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by SOCS, Hotel Management
Dear Olga, Thank you for the excellent rating and review! Glad you enjoyed the private facilities and the roaming wildlife. We are looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great camp

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Great camp with Market inside and gás station. Good pool. In front of the Sussevoluen Gate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by SOCS, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent rating! Glad you enjoyed our camp, our location and the pool! Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
5 out of 5
by Rene

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
Onverwacht mooie campsite schoon, netjes en goed onderhouden. Zijn hier twee nachten geweest en kan het buffet van de aan de overkant gelegen lodge alleen maar aanbevelen. Verder is er alles te krijgen in het tankstation winkeltje.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017
Dear Rene, Thank you for the excellent rating and review! Glad you enjoyed our well maintained sites, the stocked shop at the gas station as well as the excellent buffet dinner at our Sossusvlei Lodge! We are looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bad Salzuflen, Germany

Brilliant campsite in the Namibian desert

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: It's comfort, cleanliness, view, the light of the desert, sunrise and sunset
Location: Sossusvlei dunes / Dead Vlei / Dune 45 for sunrise / Sesriem Canyon
The Sossus Oasis Camp was the best campsite on our Namibian trip! You have your own unit with toilet, shower (inclusive moonlight), a "kitchen", clean fire place and a roof. Everything was in a very good condition! Great view on the desert and Sesriem canyon! The staff watched for the unit and its cleanliness every day. The only disadvantages were the two streets next to the campsite and you're outside the park. So, it's not possible to get to Sossusvlei for sunrise or sunset from there. We spent one of our three nights in Sesriem inside the park on the NWR campsite to get into the park for sunrise, but we were glad to come back to the Oasis Camp later! We absolutely recommend this place - we're still missing it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by SOCS, Hotel Management
Dear Kerstin, Thank you for the excellent rating and review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our private facilities and the great views! Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team
4 out of 5
by Jonatan

Oportuno

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Salvo en lo que se refiere al abuso con los bonos wifi, el camping es excelente, bien diseñado y cómodo. Tiene además tienda y gasolinera en un lugar especialmente oportuno.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Dear Jonatan, Thank you for the rating and review. Glad you enjoyed the campsite and convenience of the shop. There is no abuse with the wifi vouchers - We invested a lot of money to have wifi and unfortunately if it is a free for all the quality will be extremely poor, hence having to charge a minimal amount. Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei. Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team