Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

a nice choice for budget travellers

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: amenties
Location: marugame castle is the only attraction there!
the room was very clean and the amenities were quite comprehensive. the room rate couldn't be any more affordable in japan. i didn't have a chance to use the public spa on the 9/f since i arrived some minutes past midnight. maybe it should be open 24/7.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The price is unexpectedly low and quite near the JR station. The rooms are clean and the service is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Not up to my standard

Posted Aug 29, 2016
It was the only hotel with available space near Takamatsu during Obon season, so I had to settle. The staff was very nice and spoke some English which helped a lot. However, I felt the rooms were a bit grimey and no matter how much I ran the AC, I couldn't get the smell of cigarette smoke out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 days stay at Marugame

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was a short stay of 2 nights. Passable for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Great location
Location: Close to castle and central area of Marugame
Excellent location, a short walk to the station, restaurants and castle. Great stay, with good service.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
I picked this hotel while I was looking on hotels.com for a hotel in Okayama - very expensive city at that time - and the site came with this alternative: Marugame! I checked the map and , after reading about the small city on the Shikoku Island, I have decided to go for it. The room rate was very good, the location also: 6-7 minutes walking distance from the train station and 4 minutes to the castle ( worth a visit). The hotel is chic, has Chopin music as background sound, the room is very clean, has all the standard amenities for a three stars hotel in Japan and the TV screen is huge; plus the possibility to go to the spa/bath, if you enjoy this oportunity. The staff: extremely polite, careful and nice. I highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, big rooms, wifi.

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
This APA has it all, location size and importantly Wifi in the rooms. I had a very good stay and the staff were great. Cannot complain at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and good

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stewart from Honolulu, HI

Close to rail station.

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
Comfortable room. Washer and dryer. Located near other local businesses. Close to JR Rail Station.