Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by 4/6/14 from 4/8/14

Pauline Hamilton

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels
Location was good , they changed the name of the hotel without letting us know , wasnt very pleased about that ,I also had to wait 3 hours for someone to help me ,service was poor ,they changed the location and name from sunset on the beach to sunset on the cliff also they dont have jamaican dinner they suck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clarence from Long Island, NY

Our third time. Love the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Very nice staff. Limited food menus. Wait a tad too long for your order. Overall nice experince.
2 out of 5
by Tomara from upstate NY

..on the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was truly the most gracious and accommodating I have ever experienced in travel
Cons: rooms and food
Location: close to marketplace, on the beach, near other resorts
When I checked in I wanted to turn around and leave! It was extremely far from the airport well over and hour drive. The rooms need to be updated. I don't know whose idea it was to put tile in the bottom of the bathtub! The food was just ok. No real Jamaican food offered at this resort. No coffee makers in room. refrigerators are an additional charge.
2 out of 5
by miner55 from sudbury,on

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels
disappointed, second stay in 2 yrs and last stay. contential breakfast was a joke,you could see through small pieces of fruit and cold toast.nothing has been fixed and the floor is softer than the beds. attitude is that its too bad you shouild have known,not our fault
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allen from Kansas City

Small comfortable hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Modernized I little. But the could interrupt the character.
Location: It's close to everything to do.
I was at this hotel January 13th through the 18th 2014. I absolutely loved it. You can't get closer to the beach in Negril. Staff was helpful and always friendly. You had direct access to the owner as she was intimately involved with its daily operations. The food was great and appropriate for Jamaica. It's with in walking distance of downtown shops and party venues. The hotel seem to have something going on every night. I'm an excutive, single and believes in a good time. If you like action in a beautiful setting. Sunset On The Beach Resort is your place. I truly had a great time and will be returning there in January 2015.
1 out of 5
by S. Davis from indianapolis, IN

“Robbed in our sleep!!! Screen windows right next

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels
On December 23rd, 2013 at around 4:00am our room (room #1006), and 4 other rooms, were robbed while we slept. THESE ROOMS ARE NOT SAFE! There are screen windows right next to the doors. The thieves only had to peel back the screen and reach through the wood slats to unlock the doors and undo the security chain. We also think that we may have been gassed since we were light-headed when we awoke, and none of the 12 people that were robbed woke up while the criminals were in our rooms. Police reports were filed, so this account can be verified. Stay somewhere else!!! There are other, more secure options for the same price in Negril.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only good thing here is the beach.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The grounds are very well maintainted and kept. The beach is combed several times daily and foliage provides a very relaxing and comfortable setting.
Cons: All staff needs retraining. Health codes should be monitored especially in the kitchen.
Location: Location of the hotel is fine. This is Negril, Jamaica, which was a remote fishing village. Expect beautiful beaches and some watersprorts.
First day...booked a suite received a two double room. Three people in the room, but only two towels, one wash cloth were provided. Third towel arrived the next day. On arrival asked for Beach towels. Received those 2 days later but only after multiple request. Second day...continental breakfast was provided but with the worst service imaginable. My husband was served bacon that was taken from anther guest's plate. We knew this because it had the wrapper from a container of butter stuck to the bacon. When we showed it to the waitress she apologised but made no attempt to replace. We also were still made to pay for the breakfast that we had ordered. One day I asked the waiter for a napkin and was told they had none so I was given a piece of paper towel. The beach chairs that worked were old and dirty. The rest were broken yet no attempt was made to remove or replace the broken ones. Housekeeping knocked at 9:00. If were not ready to leave the room they did not come back until late after ....like 4:00 pm. So many times we would leave for the beach at 10:30 am return at about 3:30 and the room was still not cleaned. On the first night we arrived we found the shower head broken and it flooded the bathroom, but someone came and fixedf it immediately. However, for the first 2 days there was no water in the sink. The plumber only came back to fix it after we complained several times. On the second day the water went off in the middle of a shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnny from Mississippi

Shocked at first...but ok later.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Quiet and Clean. Good price to visit the island and rest. I may try a room with kitchenette on the next visit.
Cons: Better food and portion for price. Food was bland considering it was to be Jamaican. Update bathrooms and bedding.
Location: I went on a boat ride that left from the Riu and went to Ricks Cafe. It was nice.
Hello: When I first arrived, I was shocked. I was accustomed to staying at all inclusive resorts and there was nothing going on the Friday night I checked in. The desk person was very nice and so were the security guards and bar staff. The yard and beach areas were very pleasant and clean. Staff assured that you were not bothered by locals walking though... After getting over the initial shock, I was ok. The place was quiet, clean, and a good place for getting rest. I stayed 6 nights, so I was looking for a good price. Only complaints: There was no tv remote, the phone would not ring ( do not disturb and staff could not fix), hard to get face towels - but staff would return with clean towels when they were cleaned, and little to do - entertainment. However it was the slow season, I was advised. The food was decent and pricey for the portions. Drinks were very good.
4 out of 5
by Renee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Simone Lyons from Brampton, Canada

Close to all attractions

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels
Based off some of the reviews I wasnt sure what to expect. I was very happy with my stay. The rooms were very clean and accomoodating, the staff were friendly, the grounds was very well-kept and reception was awesome. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. I am very happy wtih my choice.