Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
17% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't normally take the time to write reviews

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Water toys and access to shallow lake entry
Cons: See above - nearly everything. Also, when we arrived they did not have our Expedia reservation (they blamed it on Expedia) so check in took a hour!
This hotel is extremely tired. It is really not a resort at all but a motel situated right beside a CN railway track (and I mean RIGH BESIDE) and a gravel (not sand) beach on the other. Sparrow Lake is lovely and has beautiful sunrises, so that was a positive. Rooms are from the 1960's, our kids ended up with bed bug bites all around their neck and hairlines after the first night. Shabby curtains are held shut with masking tape (not kidding - there were little strips of it all along the window frame). Wooden deck off the room was rotting, the towels are like sand paper and the main dining room is dark and dingy. Add to that the price (no food just accommodations) and we were extremely disappointed. Would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. Now, having said that, our kids didn't mind all of the things I've mentioned above (but we adults certainly did) and actually quite enjoyed the beach and access to all of the water toys. I have to admit that there was tons for the kids to do (playground - nice actually, beach with shallow water entry, sand toys, water trampoline, kayaks, canoes, etc.) so that was actually a very nice feature. Having said that, it will be a dark day in hell before we return to Bayview Wildwood.
2 out of 5
by Benton from Toronto

Below our expectations

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The building is old as well as the room but room is spacious. Need a major upgrade. Beds are OK. Cleaningness is below average. Restaurant opening hour is limited. The most disappointment is that no TV channel for NBA eastern final available. We are forced to drive more than 20 mininutes to Orillia staying in a restaurant to watch this game.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for families

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Only 1.5hrs from Downtown Toronto...perfect when you're travelling with small kids.
We absolutely loved our last minute getaway to Bayview Wildwood Resort and we are going to plan a longer stay for next summer. The day we arrived it was pouring rain but they had all of their outdoor activities rescheduled for indoor entertainment. Plus we used the indoor pool and the games room. Once it stopped raining the camp was back in action with counsellors singing and roasting marshmellows for the kids by the campfire. The outdoor pool was nice and warm and very close to the tidy beach. The room was perfect. A bit dated but so clean and well maintained that you didn't mind. The mini-fridge was perfect for our needs. The balcony faced the lake. We were in the Lakeshore building. A few people mentioned the train and honestly it did not bother us at all. I think they have sound-proof doors to mask the sound. The food was delicious and they had good buffet options for the kids. Overall, we felt lucky that we got the room last minute and were sad we couldn't stay for another night.
4 out of 5
by Joanna from Toronto

The kids loved it

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
I had a great time and would go back again. My kids literally cried when we left. The only complaint I had was that they weren't good about giving you information and you kind of had to know what to ask or figure it out yourself. It was close to the railway tracks but the sound of trains doesn't bother me. People close to the marina were complaining about all night boat parties which could also be a problem if you are a light sleeper (which I'm not).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Monica from Kingston, ON

Romantic and natural setting

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
We are getting married at Bayview Wildwood in Sept. 2014 and we stayed there this past weekend in order to sample their wedding menu and meet with their coordinator. The food was exquisite and the service was perfect. The resort has a perfect mix of family fun and romance set on a pristine lake and surrounded by woods. It is just breathtaking and so much fun! We can't wait to invite our families there for our wedding weekend in the Fall.
1 out of 5
by Brett from Ayton

Dirty and run down

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is extremely close to the railway line, the room was dirty and dated. the coffee maker was missing, the blinds didn't close, the patio door didn't lock. The Hot Tub and pool areas was terrible! I had an early start which meant no breakfast as the restaurant doesn't open until 8:00 am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of Sparrow Lake from the balcony.

Posted May 20, 2014
This hotel is located beside the railway tracks... ! All night it was like you were at a NASCAR race. The food at the only restaurant in the main lodge was awful, sorry, but it was very poor quality. We were up at 5:30am, we were both excused from all the train traffic out the bed room window all night!.
4 out of 5
by Robert Graham from North Bay, ON

Good Resort for the price!

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great stay. The only two drawbacks was the motor on the heater was very nosy and it kept me awake the first night and the coffee machine in the room was needed the sentiment build up removed.