Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location for walking the historical centre.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Relatively small in total room numbers, but provided all the amenities needed for a short weekend city break.
Cons: Nothing major.
Location: The 'Hop-on-Hop Off' bus is very helpful and worth the 1.5 hours tour just to understand where you might like to walk to and spend more time.
The staff were all very courteous, helpful and welcoming. We stayed for 3 nights having driven in from Portugal, and chose to have the car valet parked for security and piece of mind in the knowledge that we would favour walking around the Historical Centre. The reception & concierge staff provided us with all the information required to get us out and about immediately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Colón as your home in Seville. We appreciate your wonderful review at Expedia.com and are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and visit to our nice city. Thank you also for your kind opinion about our staff. We all hope to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal should we be of any assistance. Warm regards, Jacopo Mossio RedGlove Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Excellent location; very friendly and helpful staff
We loved the atmosphere and location. The Flamenco performances in the bar were very enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for having chosen Gran Meliá Colón for your recent stay in Seville, as well as for your encouraging words at Exoedua. We highly appreciate it, but most of all, the fact that you enjoyed the experience and had such a wonderful time with us. This is really our aim and most important reward and it fills us with pride to receive such nice reviews like yours. We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Jacopo Mossio RedGlove Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice luxury experience in the centre of Seville.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Not really
Location: Well it's in the centre of Seville. All attractions ans sites are easily walkable to.
Beautiful clean hotel with lovely and friendly staff. The breakfast is superb. Could even have bubbly if you wanted it. Very comfortable room with plenty of soft towels and toiletries. Sitting in the hot tub on top of the roof looking out over the city after a days walking around is a treat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Please let us say how grateful we are for having chosen the Gran Meliá Colón Hotel on your visit to Seville, as well as for your extremely nice review at Expedia. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience and thank you, on behalf of the whole team, as your satisfaction is our aim purpose and reward. We remain at your disposal and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Jacopo Mossio RedGlove Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in walking distance to the city center.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The rooms were nice and the quirky decor in the public spaces was fun and interesting. The staff was helpful with any questions or requests we had.
Cons: All good.
Location: We had a nice walk to the main city center to see cultural/historical attractions. We walked to various shopping areas and we walked to different typ
The staff was very accommodating in this nicely redone hotel in a great location. We would recommend walking round the area of the hotel to find local interesting restaurants as opposed to more tourist types of establishments. It was an easy walk to lots of different things to do and see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón hotel in Seville, as well as for the time you have dedicated to share your good experience at Expedia. We are deeply grateful for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to know you felt that welcomed and you enjoyed your room as well as your walks around the Hotel. We will be more than happy to welcome you back on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you. Warm regards, Jacopo Mossio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A bit too relaxed...

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Right in the heart of the old district, perfect for tourists and close to main roads for those with a car.
While all the staff are SUPER FRIENDLY the hotel is a bit sleepy when it comes to service. One morning (7am) it took 30 minutes for the valet to get my car. I literally fell asleep waiting for room service. Im not one of those time crazy guests who cant relax BTW. But even I thought - too slow. Not enough people on the check in desk for enough hours of the day. The free breakfast is good and extensive... but OMG what is the coffee made from? Some sort of catering concentrate I imagine. BLEURGH. The in house restaurant was pretty good BTW. The rooms are really lovely and fresh. Linen good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Colón hotel for your recent visit to Seville. We deeply regret the inconveniences during your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies. We are sorry you had to wait for your car and your room-service and have informed each department and person in charge in order to improve the mentioned aspect of our service. I remain at your entire disposal and will be very pleased to welcome you back and ensure that you have a perfect experience. Sincerely yours, Jacopo Mossio RedGlove Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel. Fabulous location.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Gorgeous rooms with clarins complimentary toiletries. Staff really helpful, friendly and polite. Would definitely recommend and stay here next time I go to Seville.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear client, Thank you to be our guests on your last visit to Seville. On behalf of the whole team, we feel sincerely grateful and highly appreciate your nice post at Expedia concerning your experience at Gran Meliá Colón. We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jacopo Mossio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Superior hotel, well located

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The tapas at in the restaurant were delicious, best food of the holiday.
Cons: Shower and bath were a little difficult to get in and out of. Breakfast was only OK. I would have expected more choice and better quality fruit.
Location: Good central location but not much choice of good alternative restaurants close by
Generally very good experience but the hotel is expensive so there were one or two minor criticisms, see below.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear client, Thank you to be our guests recently in Seville. We highly appreciate your positive feedback concerning your experience with us and sincerely regret the breakfast was not as you expected. We will do all our best to improve the mentioned aspects and are glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant and our wonderful city. We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to serving you again. Best regards, Jacopo Mossio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Perfect location for city centre

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Alcazar spectacular and Plaza Espana
Cons: For such a large hotel the 10 beds at the rooftop are inadequate however spectacular view from the hot tub if you can get in it.
Location: Loads of shops and great tapas bars around. Close to bullring and all old town attractions
Nice modern hotel. Excellent staff. Ideal location
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your nice feedback of your experience at Gran Meliá Colón. We specially appreciate your good opinion of our staff and feel very happy that you liked our wonderful city. We look forward to welcoming you back in Seville in the future and you can take more advantage of our Yhi Wellness Terrace. Best regards, Jacopo Mossio Red Glove Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The so-called romance room was claustrophobic, dark and rather unromantic
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all let us say how sorry we are to know that our Romantic room was not to your taste and we would like to apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Supreme Romantic in particular are more intimate and quiet than other rooms (because of the interior orientation) and have a spectacular round bathtub, but please be sure that we had given another room more adapted to your preferences if we had known. Sorry again. We hope you give us the chance to recover your trust in the future and remain at your entire disposal. Best regards, Jacopo Mossio RedGlove Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The rooms were nice other than the location of our room. The breakfast and the location of the hotel.
Cons: The reception staff should have accommodated our request to change our room.
Location: Visit historic sites such as the Alcazar and cathedral.
The hotel's location is excellent close to all the spots to visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very nice. Our room however had the view of the church walls and the church bells rang every hour during the day. We asked to change our room but they wanted to sell us upgrades instead. Overall the hotel is very nice and had it not been for our room situation I would have rated it a 5. Other than the staff at the reception the rest of the staff were very friendly and the hote room facilities and size was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Jacopo Mossio, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón. We highly appreciate your nice opinion of our hotel and staff and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit of Seville. Please let me assure you that according to our policy, we had changed your room as long as we have had another available of the same category. I am so sorry for the noise of the bells and would like to apologize on behalf of Reception team for the inconveniences as our aim objetive is our guests leave us with a wonderful memory of their stay. We remain at your entire disposal. Best regards, Jacopo Mossio RedGlove Service Manager